We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A change from bland hotels”
Review of Melrose House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Melrose House
Ranked #94 of 557 London B&B and Inns
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A change from bland hotels”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We had a good stay at Melrose House recently. As a house rather than a purpose built hotel the whole is full of character. Friendly and helpful family members make the stay a pleasurable experience. The room we stayed in was clean and bright with all we could want. Information including maps was provided. The only tip if in room 4 is mind your head as the ceiling slopes. No problem if careful and adds to the feeling of individuality. The breakfast was very good.Wide choice and hot food cooked when ordered.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BobCam48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    42
    16
    6
    4
See reviews for
30
50
12
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Used to be in the serviced accommodation business and know that Customer Care should be paramount. Amazingly sullen service here (apart from Wendy who met us on arrival in a hall filled with dirty washing though). Breakfast service is obviously not a pleasure! Saw 2 rooms in the garden annexe. Plus point they open to the garden. Negative points: TV ABOVE sofa so impossible to watch from anything other than bed. No real surface areas available to place anything on and a sarcastic note informs you that the sofa is only for people! Better to take it out and put a small table and a couple of chairs in. Bathroom very basic (shower only) and horrible manhole cover though under a rubber mat. Sink is a hand sink and not adequate for washing. Rooms are not serviced daily apart from pulling the quilt up. No bins emptied etc. Guests from abroad, and there were plenty, including a couple who spoke no English, would have benefited greatly from a simple map copied for guests explaining how to get to the station. Since that would come under Customer Care though it doesn't seem likely to happen. Breakfast good though be prepared to be in the wrong with the breakfast cook if you dare request two of you order and are served together. Thoroughly disappointing for £65 per night thru booking.com

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melrosehouse, Owner at Melrose House, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Whilst we accept and even welcome criticism, and act upon rational and well thought out points made, we cannot accept fabrication of the truth. The notice in the room referring to the large leather sofa is requesting that guests do not put their luggage on it because they might damage the sofa, it says nothing about people use only. There is also a cupboard next to the sofa for the drinks tray. The guest will be pleased to hear that our future plans for the garden annexe is to enlarge the double and twin rooms but not the already very large family room.

Our property is being updated and refurbished all the time. The remarks about breakfast made in the other reviews reflects on the totally unnecessary remarks made in this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed in the new room 6 (the former dining room). Very clean, comfortable, and most importantly quiet room looking through the conservatory. The bed was comfortable. Breakfasts were cooked to order and were huge and delicious - we weren't hungry until dinner. I was worried about the commute into central London based on some of the other reviews, but it wasn't bad at all - approximately 20-25 minutes from the door of the B&B to Victoria station.
Frances recommended the Moon and Stars pub which served up great food at unbelievably low prices.
Very nice stay and highly recommended - Thanks Frances and Calvin.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I've tried to book here in the past [at short notice] and was unlucky because there were no available rooms. This year I spent several days here whilst visiting family in London and was impressed by the warmth and helpfulness of the owners; the great range of breakfast menu with something for every taste; clean comfortable room and facilities and shall definitely stay again. Its difficult to find reasonably priced places to stay that are not totally anonymous. This is a little gem that's well run and makes a stay a pleasurable event. The large breakfast kitchen is well organised for self-service hot and cold food and beverages - and a cooked breakfast is made to order if requested.
The only problem may be in finding a free room if not booked in advance.

Room Tip: They seem to have room sizes and types to suit an extensive range from singles, doubles and family r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank red c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gliwice, Poland
Level Contributor
258 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

we got a twin room close to the breakfast room & overlooking a charming garden. The room was OK - 2 comfortable beds with clean linen. The bathroom was a slight disappointment as it was very small with a shower that had no curtain/door, hence everything was immediately wet. But the room was clean. There is also a very small TV set. We did not spend much time in the room, so it was OK. The place was undergoing refurbishment when we were there but the owner apologised for the inconvenience and disorder. Breakfast was tasty with a good choice of food to choose from, including English breakfast made as required (open kitchen). Melrose House is in Zone 4, but commuting is easy and simple - National Rail train straight from Penge East to Victoria in just 10-15 mins. You can also walk to New Beckengham (?) to Lewisham and then get to Greenwich to visit Cutty Sark or the Royal Observatory. We got very good directions from the owner! The area appears to be safe and quiet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franeczka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Many thanks to Frances and staff for all your help and hospitality. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and will recommend to anyone looking for clean, affordable, charming, relaxing, comfortable and close to London accommodation.
The rooms are so beautiful, the surroundings peaceful and the breakfast delightful. Very close to bus routes and train stations.
I wish I could have stayed longer. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 10 which is very private away from the main house - lovely. Room 3 in the house has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank xoMissLeexo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta Junction, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I've read some of the negative reviews and really think that people expect too much out of this lovely B&B. It is not a 5 star hotel after all. My teenaged daughter and myself stayed at this charming home for 3 nights and loved it! We coincided with an Italian group of medical people who made it all the more charming for me, I got to practice my rudimentary Italian! Since we are not hot breakfast eaters, we were fine with what was on the counter, a nice assortment of fruit, yogurts, scones, etc. as well as beverages. We simply loved our room which opened out into the garden, and must be truly beautiful when everything is in bloom. We travelled from Alaska in November so it was still mild weather for us, my daughter loved the goldfish, the heated towel racks and the spacious showers with good water pressure and plenty of hot water. Since we live in the Alaska outback and have no running water, this is truly a luxury we appreciated!
I found Francis, Vic and Laraine warm and welcoming. They even chatted with both of us when the Italian group had left for the day...it was a comfortable atmosphere. Francis shared about the renovations, which I had not noticed since there was no banging or noise as other reviewers stated. Our room had plenty of space in it and contrary to other reviews, our cups and trash were emptied. I did not expect linens or towels to be changed daily...for an extended stay...we stayed 3 nights.
Hats off to anybody who works in the catering and hostel business and can still manage a welcoming attitude...I noticed that Frances did the cooking herself and offered us a hot breakfast if we wanted one which we declined.
We particularly liked the privacy of being able to come and go through the back gate with our own key. Since my daughter wanted to get in as much sightseeing as possible we were not particularly interested in staying at the B&B beyond just using it as a comfortable place to sleep.
True it took a bit longer than the 20' to get to Victoria Station but was quite adequate for us.
All in all a pleasant experience which I hope can be repeated.
Griselda & Ani Buongiorne, Dry Creek Alaska USA

Room Tip: The room in the back, I think #9 was very nice, comfortable and had an awesome sofa and shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GRIBUONGIORNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
2.0 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Beckenham
2.1 mi away
The Bromley Court Hotel
12.7 mi away
Bennys B and B
Bennys B and B
#108 of 557 in London
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Goodwood Hotel
Goodwood Hotel
#4 of 4 in Beckenham
85 reviews
14.5 mi away
Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast
11.1 mi away
Charlotte Guest House
Charlotte Guest House
#17 of 557 in London
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melrose House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melrose House

Property: Melrose House
Address: 89 Lennard Road | Penge, London SE20 7LY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 557 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melrose House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian house in quiet area of South London, within easy reach of the centre by train (15 minutes), and a short walk to the station. A pleasant area to return to after the noise of the city centre. All rooms are decorated to a high standard and have ensuite or private bathrooms, and a full english breakfast is included in the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Melrose House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melrose House Hotel London
Melrose House London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing