We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable hotel, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn London - Edgware Road
Ranked #688 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
324 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel, good value”
Reviewed May 7, 2008

Stayed one night. The hotel is located very close to the underground.
Very clean + quiet hotel, stayed in a double room used as a single.
The room and the bathroom was an ok size. There was a 27'' flat screen TV and A/C. Breakfast was continential, usual toast,cereals etc

The surrounding area has lots of eating places etc. Would stay here again

  • Liked — clean + location
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matrix1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    207
    137
    58
    46
See reviews for
92
183
43
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2008

We booked this hotel to be close to our evening destination. Edgware Road is scruffy and unimpressive, but once through the hotel door we had no criticisms. We left early without trying the (included) continental breakfast, but our room was clean, modern, with air conditioning (not needed in London in January!) and everything worked. Definitely not a romantic experience but functional, effective and good value.

It is about 7 minutes walk from Edgware Road tube station.

  • Liked — Location, clean, modern
  • Disliked — No soul (though front desk staff were pleasant)
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Gogoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2008

Stayed here 2 nights, before returning to Canada after 2 weeks in the UK. Small, budget hotel, but perfectly adequate and quite comfortable. Despite fronting Edgware road, the hotel was very quiet inside.

Paid 85 GBP for a room for 3, with small private bathroom, booked through LateRooms.Com, way below the rate posted at the front desk. I was ill during my visit, but the front desk was helpful in directing us to a pharmacy, who in turn arranged a doctor to visit. The hotel staff followed up to check all was OK.

The hotel was clean and tidy, and the breakfast buffet consisted of the usual mix of croissants, toast, fruit, yogurts etc. - perfectly fine. There is an excellent Persian(Iranian) restaurant almost next door, the Kandoo. Very reasonably priced for London, and delicious nan bread is cooked to order in a stone oven at the front. Not sure it has a liquor licence, but other web sites suggest you can take your own wine etc. There were certainly diners drinking wine.

The restaurant is in a predominantly middle eastern area, and busy, but very safe, and with an interesting cosmopolitan atmosphere. Edgware Road tube station is a 3 or 4 minute walk, and it's a little bit further to walk directly to Marble Arch.

The hotel arranged a cab to Heathrow at a cost of 45GBP. For 3 people this was about the same price as the Heathrow Express (train) from Paddington station, but much more convenient.

My rating reflects the price and quality expectations for a budget hotel in London.

  • Liked — Location, price
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redscouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2008

On the whole, an OK hotel. Edware Road tube station (bakerloo line) was very near, and so conviniently located. The area Edgware Road is in is an 'ethnic' area, but we always felt safe there. The shops were good; there are many locally owned shops, a texaco garage, and a tesco metro.

Check-in was very good, as we arrived at 11.20 am, and they let us into our room straight away, and it was very quick. The room was very spacious (for central london). Thee bathroom was very clean and modern, the double bed was very big and comfy, but as we had a triple room, the third 'bed', was apalling, and just about as comfy as the floor! However, I still enjoyed my stay at the comfort inn.

For a continental breakfast, it was excellent. There was a lift there, which was useful. There is a luggage room where they let you keep your bags.

Overall, it was very good value, and would reccomend going here if you want a good location at a low price.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Uncomfortable third bed
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janey22y2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2007

It's OK as long as your expectations are realistic. London is a horrendously expensive place. If you are looking for a reasonable B&B then consider it. If you want 'full service', responsive staff, amenities, and 'facilities', then go somewhere else.

We'd stay there again if the price was right. Beware that the prices quoted on some websites excluded VAT. At 17.5% that makes a huge difference, so make sure you are looking at the right numbers.

Their own website indicated that Wi-Fi was included, but they wanted extra money for it when we arrived. Even if you paid (IIRC it was £2.50 for 30 minutes!) the signal coverage was patchy. Fear not - there are plenty of places like Starbucks etc. within reasonable (but not immediate) reach.

TV reception was poor - we couldn't get the full range of terrestrial channels (e.g. no BBC1, ITV1 hence no decent weather forecasts). The Asian lad on the front desk declared that nothing could be done about it. Best to leave it switched off & read a newspaper or book. There were no radio channels at all, so if you want to keep up with 'The Archers', take a portable.

This place offers reasonable value for money and a good location for getting around on public transport. The 414 bus from Marble Arch means you're only a few minutes away from Oxford Street and Hyde park. You could even walk it in 15-20 minutes (we did). Edgware Road tube station (Bakerloo, District & Circle lines) is a 5-10 minute walk - probably about the same as by bus by the time you've waited & it's negotiated traffic etc..

The area it is in doesn't seem to have many native English people there, but if you want halal or Lebanese food then there is a good choice of eateries. Located on the corner of Edgware Road and Frampton Street, there is a Pizza hut on the corner for a quick bite if you arrive late and can cope with heartburn in the wee small hours.

The lift, rooms and bathrooms are small. If you are fat, don't stay there - you'll probably get stuck somewhere! But they are clean, reasonably comfortable and quiet (we were in 410 at the back).

The 'continental' breakfast was a nice surprise. The breakfast room was clean and well looked after. Open between 0700 and 1000, we used it both at 0700 and 0930 during our stay & it made no difference as to availability or cleanliness. A good range of branded cereals, hard boiled eggs, English Breakfast tea bags, coffee, juice, Yeo Valley yoghurts, toast & marmalade. Also sweet sticky things like tiny Danish, mini muffins & other stuff to remind the septics of how good things are at home. There were a few complimentary copies of the Daily Telegraph available, so if nothing else you have a decent crossword to do in the absence of a TV at night.

The only complaint we had (in addition to Wi-Fi charge & no TV) was that the electric kettle wouldn't work. I talked to the lad on the front desk about it, only to be told in heavily accented, non-native, English that I must have been misusing it in some way. <sigh>. As my dear old dad used to say, "never argue with an idiot". Just wedge the on-off switch into the 'on' position using one of the small (dry) towels from the bathroom and watch it carefully until it boils. In this way it is still possible to start your day with a cup of decent tea and so all will be well with the world.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Absence of reliable & free internet access.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank DevonDozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2007

Advertised as walking distance ffrom Paddington, it took 25 mins and the area is really dodgy so wouldn't want to do it alone at night. Took 15 minutes to check in as staff were non-existent, ended up called in my mobile! Also the room was filthy and really noisy, and smelt of cigarettes even thought I asked for non-smoking. Report form from previous occupant was still in room, making me wonder if it had been cleaned at all. At breakfast the glasses had lipstick on and milk was sour, so went to a cafe down the road instead. It may be cheapp but you still expect a basic level of hygeine. I would never recommend this hotel, or stay there again.

  • Liked — Not much
  • Disliked — Dirty
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Katrina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2007

When we arrived I was shocked at how small and horrible the outside of the hotel looked.It was just a tiny door.And when we got inside it wasnt much better.The reception is cramped and wouldnt fit many people. The receptionist on was also not very pleasant.When we got to out room it was extremely small in comparison to comfort inn smithfield in Dublin. But It was fine for the price paid.One gripe was that the hotel hadnt got an ironing board.They were all in use which I found weird at a hotel.The view from the hotel isnt good at all.A block of flats facing you.
Another problem was that 1 receptionist in particular didnt have a clue how to get to placesin London.I was told the wrong number bus to get to leicester Square.
The hotel is about 7-10 mins walk from a tube station.Then a ten min bus journey to Oxford St.

  • Liked — The value
  • Disliked — immediate area,Reception,distance from clubs and pubs
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank darraghke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Danubius Hotel Regents Park
#281 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Comfort Inn Hyde Park
#501 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Falcon Hotel
#658 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Travelodge London Central Marylebone
Marylebone
Americana Hotel
Americana Hotel
#691 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Olympic House Hotel
#814 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn London - Edgware Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn London - Edgware Road

Property: Comfort Inn London - Edgware Road
Address: 450 Edgware Road, London W2 1EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #688 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn London - Edgware Road 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn London Edgware Road is situated in London's West End, a hub of everything that makes central London unique and is a favoured starting point from which to tour London. Visit Earls Court, Harrods, Piccadilly, Marylebone, and Paddington, and you'll also be only a stone's throw away from Heathrow Express, marble arch, Hyde Park Corner, Regent's Park, Hotels Near Oxford Street, Lord's Cricket Ground, Madame Tussauds, and Baker Street. This being London's West End, theatre offerings are robust. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Comfort Inn London - Edgware Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Edgware Road Hotel London
Comfort Inn London - Edgware Road England
London Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing