We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
YMCA Indian Student Hostel
Ranked #141 of 896 Specialty Lodging in London
Reviewed December 23, 2008

I was only in town for 3 nights on a stopover from italy, and i've been to London in the past, but this was my first time staying at the YMCA Indian Student Hostel. It was central enough to the activities i was interested in partaking in while i was there, very convenient to Warren Street Tube, and having both breakfast and dinner included was kind on the wallet. I had a single ensuite room and the showers were hot and the bed was comfortable. There were some stains on the carpet and the carpet in addition could use a good hoovering as well. The meals were tasty and the room was warm. They initially gave me a basement room which i quickly objected to as there is no elevator to the basement and i had a suitcase and a carry on to take down a flight of steps. They accommodated me by moving me to a 2nd floor room instead so i could use the elevator and they made it seem as it was no problem either which i appreciated. The staff was friendly and informative. I would return again for a short stay.

Stayed: November 2008
4  Thank IamSoGoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
There are newer reviews for YMCA Indian Student Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 109 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2008

YMCA INDIAN STUDENT HOSTEL
41 Fitzroy Square ; London WIT 6AQ
Phone: 020-7387-0411
www.indianymca.org
reservations@indianymca.org

I stayed for 3 nights Sept 11-14, 2008. I paid 25 British pound per night and it included breakfast and dinner. I shared a room with an Indian student resident there, and the bathroom was in the hallway right accross from our room. The room had a phone and Sink.

Positives:
-Location, about 5 min walk from Warreen Street and about 15 min walk to the British Museum.
-Price at about $51 per day with Breakfast+ Dinner, is a great value
-OK clean, every day a lady will come into our room and vacuum
-I had 2 dinners there and I liked it, and 2 breakfast. It was small portions but adequate if you bought a fruit or something else to balance/add to your meal.

Neutral:
-The common bathroom was clean, but one door for the shower didnt close, so there was only 1 shower and 2 toilets...and there were probably 6 ladies in the whole basement floor. If there were more, then it will be a problem.

Negatives:
-They charge 1 British Pound per bag to leave in their storage area after Check out
-The BED was HORRIBLE. That is probably the only reason whey I wouldn't return, but I dont know if it was only my bed and by the time I got to my room, I was SO tired I could sleep with rocks under me!

*Again since my bed was horrible, I might not return, but due to price, and location I might overlook that detail!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank panedu50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2008

Our stay at Indian YMCA, Fitzroy Square , was excellent.
The location is near the Warren Street metro station and commuting in London to the major tourist spots was no hassle at all.
Our room was on the fifth floor and the complimentary breakfast and dinner was good. It did cater more to the Indian palate but I was amazed to see the varied residents enjoying the food as we filled our trays with the food served at the canteen.
Breakfast was a mix of continental and Indian cuisine, complete with coffee and tea. There was bread, jam along with an Indian dish for breakfast. Dinner was served between 7.30 to 8.30, rice/chapati with a bowl of dal , vegetables and a chicken/fish curry.
It was a pleasant experience meeting people at the dinner / breakfast table.
The London Oyster Pass that we had picked up at Victoria, saved us a lot of time and we could explore the city well within the limited time frame we had on hand.
The hotel has an excellent arrangement of booking a taxi to the Heathrow airport at a nominal rate.
We had a large , spacious room with clean towels changed daily and the beds neatly made up greeted us as we returned tired from our day's outing.
A Sainsbury's and Tesco are located nearby .
We would love to stay in this hotel , the next time we are in London.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank AditiDubai_U_A_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2008

This was a great hotel for the price. 65 punds for one night in private room with bathroom attached including dinner and breakfast. Loved the food...it was so yummy. The rooms where basic but clean and large which is very good for london. It was a 1min walk from the underground at a very central station. Overall it was very good value for money

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank simone211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2006

We stayed in an ensuite room.It was small but clean.Breakfast and dinner are included which makes this a bargain place to stay.Breakfast includes one Indian dish and then the usual suspects.Dinner is Indian food which we enjoyed.We would definately stay here again.

Stayed: March 2006
10  Thank buhryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank Catrin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LunaBirn51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Cumberland
The Cumberland
#430 of 1,072 in London
6,159 reviews
Fitzrovia
LSE Carr-Saunders Hall
LSE Carr-Saunders Hall
#69 of 896 in London
251 reviews
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#20 of 896 in London
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YMCA Indian Student Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YMCA Indian Student Hostel

Address: 41 Fitzroy Square, London W1T 6AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 896 Specialty Lodging in London
Number of rooms: 120
Also Known As:
Ymca Indian Student Hotel London
YMCA Indian Student Hostel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing