We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not As It Used To Be”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
YMCA Indian Student Hostel
Ranked #155 of 923 Specialty Lodging in London
Reviewed March 4, 2012

This was our 4th stay at the IYMCA. On our 3rd stay we felt that the food was not as good as previously. On our last stay the quality and quantity had deteriorated greatly. The meals are what made the place a bargain so I don't think we will stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank buhryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 112 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2011

A great location at a reasonable cost. This is not a standard hotel but has more of a hostel environment. The first floor rooms are very small with only basic necessities. The upper floor rooms are spacious. Unfortunately, inspite of advance booking, the good rooms were all booked and so we had to settle for the small one, where movements were restricted. More suitable for Indians travelling to UK on a budget.
The location is excellent and that is the reaason for my four start rating, Underground tube is short walking distance away and so is Madame Tussauds and Oxford Street. The surroundings of the YMCA is peaceful, green with a small park near the front. Food is inclusive, however, the service reminds one that it is a hostel....service with a frown. Food in most days was palatable and reminds of home.
Overall, value for money...great for Indians because of the food and environment...not recommended for others.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Amit C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

It is cost effective place especially for all Indians who visit London. As assumed by everyone, its not meant only for students, however, families for tourist visits, working population also stays there. It saves a lot of money as Breakfast and dinner are inclusive of the room rent.
Since, this is located in the central London, almost all the tourist locations are easily connected.
Food is average, however , someone who craves for indian food on a daily basis, this would be the good place to be.
Rooms are clean, washrooms/bath rooms are also kept very clean and tidy. Common bathrooms for ladies are very clean and tiday as well.
The only thing that would be a little annoying would be the beds in the rooms are horrible, especially if ytou are going to stay for more than a week. Though they appear to be good initially, after 3-4 days, your back will start aching soon. Secondly, if you have loads of luggage with you, please dont expect anyone to help you there to pick your luggage till the room.( guess as its not a hotel) had a horrible time picking up luggage !!
Overall good for long term or short term trips ( and if you could manage to get ur folding bed and they allow you to do so.)All other things are decent and worth the stay.

Room Tip: Single ladies with a common bathroom for single ladies
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
6  Thank ExploringFeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

It is located in central london with a short walk to warren street tube station. They served very tasty indian breakfast and dinner. I believe the food is catered from local restaurant. It is a nice place for travelling alone or with family. We had a deluxe room with private bath, clean sheets and room was adequate, looked more like a dormitary room. I met few guests during mealtimes and they were very friendly and decent. If you prefer a hot indian meal in the morning and night and are looking for a safe place to sleep at night then this place would suit you perfectly.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 56003Lovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

I have stayied in this hotel for two nights. The first one in double en-suite room on the 5th floor which was very tidy and quite nice. The second night in a single room on the 1st floor as far as I remember, as the double room was already booked. The single room was not cheap as it was Saturday and to be fair giving it for free would not be a complement, as the room was old with scraffy furniture, not particulary clean, not nice. However the issue was that I could not get any sleep as the guests from rooms nearby were walking up and down to use the bathroom and kept on having laud conversations around 1:30am. When calling reception = engaged. Had to get down in my pijamas as the man was on the private call. He kindly told the guests to keep quiet, but they did not seem to understand that some people need some silence to sleep...
Of course it's just my personal bad luck and I do not wish it to any other guest, however in general if I dare to summarise my experience; the lift was broken (so on my feet with the suitcase up to the 5th floor) the breakfast quite poor; untasty, the hotel too noisy, the service OK. If it's cheap it's fine, but I paid over £120 for two nights...so I made the effort to share my experience in here.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
1  Thank Margarita22_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

This is a Indiant student hostel and not a hotel. But this is the best option for an Indian. It is atral London and 3 mins walk from Warren Street uderground station. The rooms are very nice and you have option of coomon bath or attach bath. They provide you Indian breakfast and dinner. The cost is absolutely very very reasonable and I will recommend this to everybody if you are an Indian. Once again this is not an hotel and you will not get facilities like room service. There is a cloak room where you can keep your luggage.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DipanjanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2010

Although very old fashioned with no frills - it is a clean and very safe place to stay.
The restaurant serves south Indian cuisine, which for an Indian is helpful.

The only negative point is that it was difficult to book initially as their website is not protected so it is difficult to book through a credit card, while that is the only way to book it.
We therefore had to call them and arrange payment.

Over all it was a good experience.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roymaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Mayfair
Millennium Hotel London Mayfair
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London Kensington Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YMCA Indian Student Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YMCA Indian Student Hostel

Address: 41 Fitzroy Square, London W1T 6AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 923 Specialty Lodging in London
Number of rooms: 120
Also Known As:
Ymca Indian Student Hotel London
YMCA Indian Student Hostel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing