We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and good location”
Review of Brook Green Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brook Green Hotel
Ranked #319 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2010

We celebrated a 40th birthday and manage to get rooms at the hotel as well as area at the bar for the party. We had a fantastic time. The hotel is clean, close to Hammersmith with tube line to LHR and Westfield shopping centre in Sheperds bush. Basically a GREAT hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leif-Erik J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 338 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights in July whilst in London to see a couple of shows. The hotel has a very convenient location, approximately a 5 minute walk from the Hammersmith Broadway tube station and right next to a large Tesco. It's a lovely old pub with bags of history but which has been refurbished to a high standard with comfortable, neutral fixtures and fittings.

We stayed in a lovely room on the 2nd floor. It was plenty large enough with a very comfortable bed and all the usual amenities, plus very effective air-con. The only down side was the shower, which was luke warm at best, cold at worst, and didn't have very much pressure. This could have been down to the time of day we were using it though. The staff were very helpful and polite (quickly bringing a hairdryer without fuss and with apologies when I found there wasn't one in our room) and made the stay comfortable and easy.

Breakfast was well cooked and extensive, with cereal, toast, croissants, fruit juices, teas & coffees, followed by a choice of hot dishes. Between us we sampled the full english which was nice if a little small, and the Eggs Benedict which was simply delicious. We didn't eat there in the evening but the menu looked interesting.

The pub has a nice selection of real ales on tap, and a lovely outside area where one can while away a few hours sheltered from the London bustle. Some people have mentioned siren noise, as there's both a police station and fire station nearby. While I can't deny this existed, due to fairly effective double-glazing it was no worse than you would find staying in any large city. It certainly wasn't enough to keep us awake at night, although we were admittedly fairly well lubricated each night ;-)

Would recommend and would definitely stay again if we needed to be in that part of London.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sparklybeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

We were part of a wedding party booked into the hotel on the Friday. We all arrived at the hotel early hoping to check in before 2.00pm if our rooms were ready. The ceremony started at 4pm nearby. What ensued was a catalogue of disasters which caused stress to everyone before the wedding including the bride and groom. The bride arrived to get changed (having booked a room for the previous night so that she could get in early). This room was not available and after some discussions she was given another room to use - this one had a shower that did not work. When staff were asked to resolve this they said they were too busy - the bride was left with no shower facilities.Two of our party were booked into a twin room when they had been booked as single rooms - it took some time to sort this out. There was total confusion about which rooms were booked for our party and every time we tried to resolve it the confusion semed to grow! We were promised that we would be in our rooms just before 2.00pm which we accepted (even though we had hoped to be in earlier). At 2.20pm we were no further forward and becoming very worried as we had to be in the car to get to the wedding at 3.00pm. The groom at this time still had no room. The staff were still totally confused about the rooms and we asked that they just give us all rooms to use to change - we would sort out the details later. At 2.30 the cleaners were still cleaning some of the rooms. All of this made what should have been a very restful time prior to the wedding very rushed and chaotic. We hardly had time to change!

I feel that it was real shame that a hotel which provided us with good food and a good nights sleep in a comfortable room should have made such a mess of what should have been a simple process. The groom had made several calls to the hotel to confirm the bookings and explain the situation regarding how many rooms were required and that it would be tight if we could only get in at 2.00pm. No effort was made at all to assist members of the wedding party in getting into their rooms on time.

The staff were pleasant enough but they seemed to hide behind their rehearsed "customer care" role rather than being effective and helpful.

I would not advise any large party to book into this hotel - organisation is not their forte.

Discontented mother of the groom

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patr2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

Not being a lover of many of the hotels in central London (far far too overpriced for mediocre standards) and needing only to stay 1 night for a gig nearby, I happened upon the Brook Green through a combination of LateRooms and TripAdvisor. Having seen the favourable reviews and seeing as the price of £105 for a double room was more than reasonable, I booked my wife and I a room there.

First impressions of the Brook Green were favourable. The pub itself (as the rooms are above the pub) is nice and the atmosphere relaxed. Initially sceptical of the security of a "hotel above a bar", I was glad to see a small door which was keycard activated keeping us from the random strangers at the bar below! Contrary to the other reviews on here, I didn't find the stairs at all steep or hard to navigate, they were...well... just stairs! We had plenty of bags to carry up them to Room 7, but it wasn't as precarious an affair as I'd imagined.

The room itself was a decent size but lacked any real charm. The bed was a double and adequate, if a little soft and the bathroom was a decent size as well. There were plenty of clean towels but removing them revealed paint coming away from the walls. It certainly felt to us similar to a Travelodge standard room, which wasn't all bad.

The location of the hotel is great. Just a five minute walk to Hammersmith Tube Station(s) and right off the A4 if you're driving in. If you do drive here (and it's not advised, but we were on the last leg of a driving holiday to take in a gig), then parking, as expected, is a problem. The Tesco behind the pub is now camera monitored so you are only allowed 3 hours before you get fined around £75. We parked there initially before scouting out other parking areas. There is a small alley between Tescos and the Brook Green but when we checked this out, we caught a young lad with a hammer in his hand looking into car windows! Not great... We eventually parked over the road for £2.40 an hour between 8-6. You have been warned!

Finally, the room we were in was very noisy due to the street below. It's one of the main arteries out of Hammersmith and as such, is pretty busy night and day. The windows were original sash ones with additional double glazing units behind them but the road was so noisy, we were left thinking we'd left the window open! The air-con (it was a rainy cold day) didn't work either, so we were left quite cold in the room too.

Overall, the Brook Green met our needs but was average at best. The service in the pub was good and the breakfast good too, it was really the quality of the room, the parking issues and the noise that let it down somewhat. If I need to stay over for another night, I'd probably not stay at the Brook Green and look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Strepsils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2010

This hotel is in a great location - only a very short walk from the Hammersmith Tube Station (very easy to get to from Kings Cross Station). The hotel is part of a pub - main pub on the ground floor and rooms above it. We were given a room on the top (4th) floor - room 15 - and it was a fair old trog up the stairs to get to it. The room was small but well decorated and had all the expected facilities (TV - Tea/Coffee etc). The bathroom was fine, only a shower unit - no bath - and had a nice selection of complementary toiletries. Bed very comfy. The room had secondary double glazing but you do still get a bit of traffic noise from the Shepherds Bush road outside. The shower in the room was useless - no pressure whatsoever and the water only trickled out. Although reception said they'd get someone to look at it, I suspect they knew about it already - needless to say it wasn't sorted !

Disappointed that our first breakfast was only continental when we expected a full English - apparently the chef was running late - however they did take £10 off our total bill. The breakfast on the second morning was fine though.

All in all it was a good place to stay and I would recommend it and probably stay again if we need to go to London. Little niggles aside it wasn't bad at all.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VZ50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2010

My husband and I were travelling down to London for one night in order to visit the Lyric Theatre Hammersmith. I saw the Brook Green listed on Laterooms for £85 b&b and looked it up on Tripadvisor, expecting the worst - however the glowing reviews persuaded me to book.

Bearing in mind some of the other bed and breakfasts nearby were a similar price but with a shared bathroom, I really wasn't expecting much. However we were overjoyed to find a nice-sized room with a lovely, comfy double bed, flat screen tv, and attractive dark wood furniture that all matched. The design of the headboard was continued through the large mirror over the desk/dressing table - the dressing table was situated directly opposite the large windows making it perfectly lit for applying makeup (something that even 5* hotels rarely get right).

The floor to ceiling curtains covering the oversized-windows were of a beautful, expensive looking striped fabric and really gave the room a more homely feel than found in the drab curtains of your standard Travelodge etc.

The rooms have hot and cold aircon - we blasted the cooling jets on overnight as the room was really warm, that isn't a criticism though - much better than lying freezing cold in bed!

Nice kettle and cups with a selection of tea, coffee, hot chocolate and a packet of digestive biscuits.

Nice sized bathroom with toilet, sink, bath with shower over and the lovely dark wood theme was continued with a lovely deep shelf to arrange my multitude of lotions and potions upon! There was a small rack containing complimentary soap, shampoo, shower gel etc and everything was spotlessly clean and new.

Breakfast was of a good standard in the lovely dining area of the bar downstairs. There was a range of cereals, danish pastries and croissants laid out buffet-style, with a jug of fresh orange juice.
The cooked breakfast menu had standard full-English, plus kippers, smoked salmon and scrambled egg (and more that I can't remember!). My husband had the full english and everything was perfectly cooked, not greasy at all and used good quality ingredients.

The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and really could not be faulted in any way. Plus there is free wifi in the rooms which my husband used to check emails on his iPod Touch - worked a treat!

The hotel is right next to a large Tesco and only a five minute walk from Hammersmith tube station and the Lyric Theatre. Getting to Hammersmith from Euston station was a doddle. Out of Euston main exit, four minute walk to Euston Square tube station, straight onto the Hammersmith and City line and there in no time at all.

Overall we were very impressed with the Brook Green and felt it represented exceptional value for money - we are definitely keeping it in mind for any future visits we may make to the capital.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaLico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2010

Stayed for one night early January. Booked online a few weeks before, paid £80 for double with breakfast.

Easy to find, 5 minute walk from Hammersmith tube, right next to a Tesco. Lovely old building and the staff were friendly and polite and check in was easy.

Room (4) was nice and clean, not a large room but perfectly adequate. Well equipped with hair-dryer, iron and board, trouser press, kettle and toiletries. It was at the front of the hotel on the main road, didnt bother me but it is noisy. The noise wasn't helped by a sash window that would not close. Staff tried but failed to close, but they left extra duvets in case we were cold.

The room itself wasnt actually cold but the bar/dining room area was freezing the whole time we were there. Our meals went cold quickly but it was during the very cold snap. Breakfast was included and was ok, nothing special. Full English plus cereals, toast juice etc Dinner was nice, not bad prices for London, but again nothing special. Drinks at the bar quite pricey for shots with splash of mixer.

It is a lovely building with nice original features and beats hands down the often soulless hotel chain rooms. It was ideal for us to stay and go to the Apollo which is about 7 - 8 minutes walk away. Hammersmith is on many tube lines to it was easily accessible, 10 minutes from Paddington.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Star Hotel B&B
#115 of 1,076 in London
420 reviews
St Paul's Hotel
#68 of 1,076 in London
526 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
LUMA Concept Hotel Hammersmith London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hammersmith / Fulham
Holiday Inn Express London - Hammersmith
Hammersmith / Fulham
Adria Hotel
Adria Hotel
#261 of 1,076 in London
725 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Best Western Plus Seraphine Hammersmith Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Green Hotel

Address: 170 Shepherds Bush Road | Hammersmith, London W6 7PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#107 Business Hotel in London
#147 Romantic Hotel in London
#212 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: $152 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brook Green Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At heart we're a friendly local pub, boasting fantastic cask ales and the best in British food. Upstairs are 17 stylish Boutique bedrooms. Above all, we offer friendly, personal and unpretentious service, whether you're just in for a quiet pint, planning an intimate dinner, a stop-over for a business trip or staying for a leisurely weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Brook Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook Green Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing