We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Base for North London”
Review of City Inn Express

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Inn Express
Ranked #982 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I stay here about 3 times per year (twice this week). It's a great base from which to visit my clients in Hackney, Dalston and Clapton. I have always received good and friendly service from the staff. This year it's obvious that a program of renovation is underway, with fresh paint and new bed mattresses. The showeroom/w's are en-suite, but tiny.

Will continue to use City Inn Express.

Room Tip: Room only, though continental breakfast is offered at extra cost. There's a great Cafe just aro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 186 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

if you want to find the hotel in marestreet you will fail.
its in an back yard of the side street.
i was a bit shocked when i arrived there.
the room is not in a good state.
everything is dirty
and the bath was horrible dirty- dirt and mould .
probably you'll find some bogies on the wall.
i tried to stay as less as possible in this room.
the bed was really good.
i was happy about that.

we where allowed to check out at 12 o clock.
and the last sentence (instead of i hope you enjoyed the stay)
was: usually checkout is at 11am.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank membertoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

we stayed in september 13
this is a buget 1 star hotel the price is great for a hotel in london
the sheets are crisp and white and i thought every thing was nice and clean what more can you asked for for the price
2 faults the curtains need fixing back on pole as they are a bit higgdly piggly but i can live with that
i would stay in twin room as they are a bit bigger
paid £2 each for buffet breakfast you cannot get a cup of coffee for that price
all in all you pay for what you get if you want the Ritz pay for it
would stay again if in that part of London

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights as we were attending a wedding in Hackney and wanted something reasonable. The person who greeted us was very friendly and even took one of our cases up to our room. We couldnt have picked a better place as the wedding was at the town hall which was within walking distance.The only fault found was that you can hear the people in other rooms very clearly, not sure if it because the walls are not well insulated or the people in the room were very noisy ( hardly had any sleep) otherwise this is well worth the money , also paid a bit extra for the continental breakfast which again was worth the money Thank you

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maggie7955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cityinnexp, General Manager at City Inn Express, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your comments regarding the City Inn Express London on Tripadvisor.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed most the hotel facilities and found our staff friendly.

Thank you once again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon it was a pleasure having you stay at our establishment.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I have to agree with the other reviews with the "poor" rating. The service exists, but is still a bit under par. To get to the hotel you have to walk through a not very appealing - in fact a bit scary - alley. In the room there was a dirty/dusty bed and a small bathroom. We ended up trying to stay as little in the room as possible, and when we had to we tried to step as few steps as possible. There's no AC, so the room is too hot during summer and I was sceptical to open the window. All in all, we made it through, but it's no pleseant stay. What you pay is what you get, applies to this hotel also.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjornops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cityinnexp, Owner at City Inn Express, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

we are sorry but we have no record of this person staying at hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

We had a horrible experience at a hostel, and we decided to stay here. A freind of us already stayed here. We arrived and explained our story, really helpfull and understanding Staff. Nice room, and comfortable beds. We stayed here for 2 nights, overall good value for the money you spend. Location was perfect, close to bus stop, good neighbourhood and in 20 minutes in the Centre.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauulin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cityinnexp, Front Office Manager at City Inn Express, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your comments regarding the City Inn Express London on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel facilities and found our staff friendly they were more than obliged to make your stay a better experience.

.Thank you once again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon it was a pleasure having you stay at our establishment.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I have stayed in the City Inn Express many times when in the area on business, and to be honest I would say that it 'does what it says on the tin'. This place is well located, clean and has a small amount of on-site parking. The large downstairs lounge complete with big-screen TV is a warm and hospitable chill-out zone of an evening for those who wish to venture from their rooms to relax in a larger environment, and the staff and owners are always ultra helpful should you need anything..from some cutlery and crockery to eat food that you have brought in from outside, or additional provisions for your room. Yes the rooms are basic, but the ones I have stayed in have always been clean, heated and 'adequate', representing value for money at what are 'budget' rates. Would have no problem recommending the City Inn to anyone, and I can't speak highly enough of the staff....they are good people.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank staveros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cityinnexp, Front Office Manager at City Inn Express, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your comments regarding the City Inn Express London on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel facilities and found our staff friendly.

Thank you once again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Its always a pleasure having you stay at our establishment.

Please dont forget to take advantage of returning guest promo code.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
Travelodge London Hackney Hotel
East End / East London
Kip Hotel
Kip Hotel
#599 of 1,076 in London
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#747 of 1,076 in London
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Inn Express

Address: 144-A Mare Street | Hackney, London E8 3SG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Victoria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #982 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: $69 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Inn Express 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Inn Express London Fields is a budget hotel located in East London near Hackney, Bethnal Green, Old Street, and Shoreditch. If you’re looking for cheap hotels in London, with affordable quality accomodation in a unique section of London, this hotel is the right choice for you. The rooms are neutrally decorated with a feel of calm and are designed to meet your demands in order to allow you a peaceful night sleep.For the business traveler, City Inn Express is with in easy access to Financial and Business districts such as The City of London, London Liverpool Street, Canary Wharf, London Bridge, Fleet Street, Old Street and the Excel London. City inn Express is less than 5 minutes walk from London Fields station, a 15 minutes walk from Bethnal Green tube. With a bus stop directly outside the hotel, it offers easy access to all London's business districts.For the London explorer , London’s main areas of interest lie to the East of the City, and the City Inn Express Hotel is at the center of it all, with something for everyone. From trendy bars, restaurants and some of the world’s best known clubs in nearby Old Street, to the shopping districts of the West End, Oxford Street, Old Spitafields, Brick Lane and Borough Markets all a short hop away, makes this hotel a great starting point in order to explore London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your City Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Inn Express Hotel London
City Hotel Express
City Hotel London
City Inn Express London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing