We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY AND GREAT LOCATION” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Inn Express

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
City Inn Express
Ranked #897 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Olton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY AND GREAT LOCATION”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights as we were attending a wedding in Hackney and wanted something reasonable. The person who greeted us was very friendly and even took one of our cases up to our room. We couldnt have picked a better place as the wedding was at the town hall which was within walking distance.The only fault found was that you can hear the people in other rooms very clearly, not sure if it because the walls are not well insulated or the people in the room were very noisy ( hardly had any sleep) otherwise this is well worth the money , also paid a bit extra for the continental breakfast which again was worth the money Thank you

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie7955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cityinnexp, General Manager at City Inn Express, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your comments regarding the City Inn Express London on Tripadvisor.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed most the hotel facilities and found our staff friendly.

Thank you once again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon it was a pleasure having you stay at our establishment.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    48
    41
    18
    53
See reviews for
30
32
18
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aalborg, Denmark
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

I have to agree with the other reviews with the "poor" rating. The service exists, but is still a bit under par. To get to the hotel you have to walk through a not very appealing - in fact a bit scary - alley. In the room there was a dirty/dusty bed and a small bathroom. We ended up trying to stay as little in the room as possible, and when we had to we tried to step as few steps as possible. There's no AC, so the room is too hot during summer and I was sceptical to open the window. All in all, we made it through, but it's no pleseant stay. What you pay is what you get, applies to this hotel also.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bjornops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cityinnexp, Owner at City Inn Express, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
we are sorry but we have no record of this person staying at hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

We had a horrible experience at a hostel, and we decided to stay here. A freind of us already stayed here. We arrived and explained our story, really helpfull and understanding Staff. Nice room, and comfortable beds. We stayed here for 2 nights, overall good value for the money you spend. Location was perfect, close to bus stop, good neighbourhood and in 20 minutes in the Centre.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauulin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cityinnexp, Front Office Manager at City Inn Express, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your comments regarding the City Inn Express London on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel facilities and found our staff friendly they were more than obliged to make your stay a better experience.

.Thank you once again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon it was a pleasure having you stay at our establishment.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

I have stayed in the City Inn Express many times when in the area on business, and to be honest I would say that it 'does what it says on the tin'. This place is well located, clean and has a small amount of on-site parking. The large downstairs lounge complete with big-screen TV is a warm and hospitable chill-out zone of an evening for those who wish to venture from their rooms to relax in a larger environment, and the staff and owners are always ultra helpful should you need anything..from some cutlery and crockery to eat food that you have brought in from outside, or additional provisions for your room. Yes the rooms are basic, but the ones I have stayed in have always been clean, heated and 'adequate', representing value for money at what are 'budget' rates. Would have no problem recommending the City Inn to anyone, and I can't speak highly enough of the staff....they are good people.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank staveros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cityinnexp, Front Office Manager at City Inn Express, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your comments regarding the City Inn Express London on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel facilities and found our staff friendly.

Thank you once again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Its always a pleasure having you stay at our establishment.

Please dont forget to take advantage of returning guest promo code.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Me and my partner stayed here recently, we travelled up to London to see a show so wanted somewhere cheap and basic to stay the night. The hotel was clean, however the noise levels were unacceptable. We knew there would be some noise due to the hotel being directly next to a petrol station but the main issues were with the room itself. The shower was more like a leaking tap, very weak but warm. The extractor fan in the bathroom turned off and on every 2 minutes and was extremely loud, to the point we could hear the fan in the room opposite ours, There was no switch / plug to turn this off. The room was very hot, the windows offered little relief. Whenever a car went by the curtain pole shook and woke us up. I would avoid if you can, unless your a VERY heavy sleeper. After a night of no sleep we left at 7am and skipped breakfast, So unable to comment on the food. A rubbish end to what was a fantastic evening

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlalouise1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cityinnexp, Guest Relations Manager at City Inn Express, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your comments regarding the City Inn Express London on Tripadvisor. We are sorry to hear that your stay was not as good as it could have been . Your points have been noted and will be addressed.


Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clapham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Although difficult to find, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the City Inn Express. It is excellent value for money. The room was clean and the marble staircase so spotless you could eat your dinner off it. The staff were great, and went out of their way to lend me a mobile phone charger as I had forgotten mine.

We had the £4 breakfast, which was egg, toast, jam and tea. It did the job and filled us up - no complaints here.

My only comment would be that the raidator valve was broken so we couldn't turn the radiator off, but other than that, the room was excellent.

I would stay here again and recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cityinnexp, Manager at City Inn Express, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your comments regarding the City Inn Express London on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel facilities and found our staff friendly. Thank you once again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon it was a pleasure having you stay at our establishment.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

I traveled to and stayed in London for about 4 weeks in Aug 13, I stayed in this hotel in a double bed room during my visit. Staff are friendly, nice and welcoming. Staff guided me on traveling the city, provided me umbrella when it was raining outside. Rooms were clean and well heated. Bathroom/shower was clean. Clean towels and some toiletries were provided every day. Garbage bags were replaced everyday.

Satellite TV and PC-Internet in common area. Free WIFI reached my room on the second floor.

Location/Neighborhood may not be a tourist place in London but I did not have to walk long distances to bus stops and Bethnal Green train station is near from this place.

Being a vegetarian I did not really eat the breakfast they provided, but there are a plenty of restaurants in nearby area and if you are a vegetarian or vegan there is Gallery Cafe run by St Margarets House Settlement on Old Ford Road which is near by.

Only thing that bothered me was the noise of some pump in the night..

All in all it is a clean and good budget hotel. I would recommend this place if you are looking for hotel at reasonable price in East London.

Room Tip: probably rooms on 2nd floor. or ground floor if you have prob. with stairs as there's no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrasadM85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cityinnexp, General Manager at City Inn Express, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your comments regarding the City Inn Express London on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel facilities and found our staff friendly. Thank you once again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon it was a pleasure having you stay at our establishment.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
CityStay Hotel
#941 of 1,087 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#739 of 1,087 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Viking Hotel
#857 of 1,087 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Victor Hotel London Victoria
Victor Hotel London Victoria
#507 of 1,087 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
East End / East London
Kip Hotel
Kip Hotel
#573 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Inn Express

Property: City Inn Express
Address: 144-A Mare Street | Hackney, London E8 3SG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Victoria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #897 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Inn Express 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Inn Express London Fields is a budget hotel located in East London near Hackney, Bethnal Green, Old Street, and Shoreditch. If you’re looking for cheap hotels in London, with affordable quality accomodation in a unique section of London, this hotel is the right choice for you. The rooms are neutrally decorated with a feel of calm and are designed to meet your demands in order to allow you a peaceful night sleep.For the business traveler, City Inn Express is with in easy access to Financial and Business districts such as The City of London, London Liverpool Street, Canary Wharf, London Bridge, Fleet Street, Old Street and the Excel London. City inn Express is less than 5 minutes walk from London Fields station, a 15 minutes walk from Bethnal Green tube. With a bus stop directly outside the hotel, it offers easy access to all London's business districts.For the London explorer , London’s main areas of interest lie to the East of the City, and the City Inn Express Hotel is at the center of it all, with something for everyone. From trendy bars, restaurants and some of the world’s best known clubs in nearby Old Street, to the shopping districts of the West End, Oxford Street, Old Spitafields, Brick Lane and Borough Markets all a short hop away, makes this hotel a great starting point in order to explore London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your City Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Inn Express Hotel London
City Hotel Express
City Hotel London
City Inn Express London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing