We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and Cheerful”
Review of City Inn Express

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Inn Express
Ranked #982 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Me and my sister stayed two nights at this hotel back in the summer for a festival. Slightly hard to find, if you follow the sat nav on your phone you will get lost! We has to ask a couple of people to find the place. it is very hidden and tucked away. worth looking up the route first before you set off. once we got there and checked in the receptionist was helpful and friendly. our room was very small and had a double bed in. as we weren't spending much time in the room and was only sleeping in there we didn't mind. bathroom/shower is tiny, but it does the job. make sure you remember to take soap. we had clean towels both days which was great. there was a TV and a fan which was also handy. overall this hotel is ideal for a weekend away, don't expect too much though.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ella h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cityinnexp, Front Office Manager at City Inn Express, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your comments regarding the City Inn Express London on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel facilities and found our staff friendly. Thank you once again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon it was a pleasure having you stay at our establishment.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 186 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

I really did. He accosted me twice as I walked up and down the street outside looking at the half-broken sign hanging on the side of a derelict-looking building.
The room was fine given my low expectations.
Sleep was difficult to come by die to constant yelling on the forecourt of the petrol station in front of the hotel - I think it was the same tramp but was not willing to risk my skin to find out.
I didn't hang around in the morning. Booked a taxi and legged it

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n4139279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cityinnexp, Manager at City Inn Express, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your comments regarding the City Inn Express London on Tripadvisor. We are sorry you found it difficult in locating the hotel, as we are located in a conservation area we are restricted in the signs we can display. however on our website we have a detailed note in regards to location and entrance. As in regards to fuel station i would disagree with your comments in regards to shouting this is very unlikely as the forcourt does not allow any loitering on its forecourt. Its good to hear your expections of rooms were met.

many thanks

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel was pleasant, neat and clean. Although down a dark alley way in central London, it was ok. Not much fuss, we found this hotel on late rooms. Don't expect much from previous London experiences, but this hotel was clean and for the price the room wasn't so bad. Not too small, like the ones in Hong Kong and not too large like the Hiltons (Not that I stayed in one with my money)
The staff are pretty nice and bring you free cups of teas in the communal areas.

Room Tip: ask for the rooms on top if they are empty
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cityinnexp, Manager at City Inn Express, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your comments regarding the City Inn Express London on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel facilities and found our staff friendly. Thank you once again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

A friend and I stayed at the weekend and we're pleasantly surprised. Ok so the room was fairly small and the double bed was actually a 3/4 but it was clean and tidy. It's really close to the bus stop and there's a shop near by. The staff were really friendly, and there was minimal judgement when we arrived after our checkout time having stayed out all night. We even checked out an hour later than we should have with no extra charge. It's not fancy but if you're after a cheap room for the night it's ideal.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinkflower03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cityinnexp, Guest Relations Manager at City Inn Express, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

As you may be aware there is a discount for returning guests, you can take advantage of this by booking on www.cityinnexpresshotel.com and entering promo code.

Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Excellent budget hotel in a Hackney, the staff are very friendly and accommodating, rooms are clean, tidy, functional and the common ways are allow plenty of light for easy visibility. Located closely to the bus stop and local tube station Bethnal Green to get to the City and Central London. Would visit again, excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marsh613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cityinnexp, Manager at City Inn Express, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

As you may be aware there is a discount for returning guests, you can take advantage of this by booking on www.cityinnexpresshotel.com and entering promo code.

Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We were expecting worse; the guys/staff were nice, bedding was clean, the bathroom was clean. The floors are great in the common areas. If you are not needy and know you won't be in your room much, saving your money is worth it, you'll need it in London. They have a computer & wifi in the common area.
We were concerned for the neighborhood at first but its not that bad; it was a Saturday night when we came in, so many folks were out and about.
Its close to a bus stop and a train station is about a block.
There are many little food shops to grab good stuff at the end of your day.

Room Tip: There is no elevator & floor 1 is up 1 flight of stairs, so if you can't do stairs, don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bree B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cityinnexp, General Manager at City Inn Express, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

As you may be aware there is a discount for returning guests, you can take advantage of this by booking on www.cityinnexpresshotel.com and entering promo code.

Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

For a budget hotel the City Inn Express is a great choice, especially if you prefer to stay in Hackney or East London. The room as well as the bathroom was clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. You could hear some of the noise from the streets if you opened the windows but in general it didn't bother me. Wifi on the lounge and signal in some, not all, rooms. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paranoiapuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cityinnexp, Public Relations Manager at City Inn Express, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

As you may be aware there is a discount for returning guests, you can take advantage of this by booking on www.cityinnexpresshotel.com and entering promo code.

Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
Travelodge London Hackney Hotel
East End / East London
Kip Hotel
Kip Hotel
#598 of 1,076 in London
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#746 of 1,076 in London
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Inn Express

Address: 144-A Mare Street | Hackney, London E8 3SG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Victoria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #982 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: $69 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Inn Express 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Inn Express London Fields is a budget hotel located in East London near Hackney, Bethnal Green, Old Street, and Shoreditch. If you’re looking for cheap hotels in London, with affordable quality accomodation in a unique section of London, this hotel is the right choice for you. The rooms are neutrally decorated with a feel of calm and are designed to meet your demands in order to allow you a peaceful night sleep.For the business traveler, City Inn Express is with in easy access to Financial and Business districts such as The City of London, London Liverpool Street, Canary Wharf, London Bridge, Fleet Street, Old Street and the Excel London. City inn Express is less than 5 minutes walk from London Fields station, a 15 minutes walk from Bethnal Green tube. With a bus stop directly outside the hotel, it offers easy access to all London's business districts.For the London explorer , London’s main areas of interest lie to the East of the City, and the City Inn Express Hotel is at the center of it all, with something for everyone. From trendy bars, restaurants and some of the world’s best known clubs in nearby Old Street, to the shopping districts of the West End, Oxford Street, Old Spitafields, Brick Lane and Borough Markets all a short hop away, makes this hotel a great starting point in order to explore London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your City Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Inn Express Hotel London
City Hotel Express
City Hotel London
City Inn Express London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing