We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its a Budget Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of City Inn Express

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Inn Express
Ranked #900 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Boise, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
130 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Its a Budget Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We were expecting worse; the guys/staff were nice, bedding was clean, the bathroom was clean. The floors are great in the common areas. If you are not needy and know you won't be in your room much, saving your money is worth it, you'll need it in London. They have a computer & wifi in the common area.
We were concerned for the neighborhood at first but its not that bad; it was a Saturday night when we came in, so many folks were out and about.
Its close to a bus stop and a train station is about a block.
There are many little food shops to grab good stuff at the end of your day.

Room Tip: There is no elevator & floor 1 is up 1 flight of stairs, so if you can't do stairs, don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bree B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cityinnexp, General Manager at City Inn Express, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

As you may be aware there is a discount for returning guests, you can take advantage of this by booking on www.cityinnexpresshotel.com and entering promo code.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    49
    42
    18
    54
See reviews for
32
32
18
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

For a budget hotel the City Inn Express is a great choice, especially if you prefer to stay in Hackney or East London. The room as well as the bathroom was clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. You could hear some of the noise from the streets if you opened the windows but in general it didn't bother me. Wifi on the lounge and signal in some, not all, rooms. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paranoiapuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cityinnexp, Public Relations Manager at City Inn Express, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

As you may be aware there is a discount for returning guests, you can take advantage of this by booking on www.cityinnexpresshotel.com and entering promo code.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed here over the weekend and was totally disgusted. It is absolutely filthy, we would have been better off not bothering and sharing a taxi home - at least it would have been clean. Dirty bathroom floors, dirty toilet brush, dirty bed bases, can you see we are following a pattern here - it is DIRTY! We left avoiding the breakfast, we would have probably had bad stomachs.

Okay, it is a budget hotel but that is no excuse for the lack of hygiene. Hopefully it will be closed down soon. *shudder*

Room Tip: Avoid this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bigfella9852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

I don't understand what people are complaining about.

Me and a group of friends have stayed here a few time!

Ok it's not the Ritz!! Its a 2 star budget hotel! Your paying for a budget room and service!

Three of us stayed in a triple room paid 79 pounds. Three star hotels within a mile radius of this hotel were priced double this.

The room was clean, hot water in the shower only niggle was water pressure was a bit low at times.

Fresh towels every day. ( have stayed in holiday inn express and they change them every second day)

Tea and coffee making facilities in room.

24 hour reception staff were polite and helpful, booked taxis for us at a discounted price.

Overall happy with hotel

Would stay again.


If your looking for a clean budget hotel I would recommend this place, however if you want 5 star rooms stay at the ritz and and pay the price!

Room Tip: Book early always to save money they have a hotel website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack1248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cityinnexp, Guest Relations Manager at City Inn Express, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest

Firstly many thanks for taking time out to leave feedback.

It good to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thought we was value for money.

We hope to see again in the near future.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

I have stayed in all sorts of places around the country and this is one of the worst. Dirty, unpleasant staff - could not wait to get out. My room was where you would expect to be housed if you turned up at the DSS with nowhere to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cityinnexp, Guest Relations Manager at City Inn Express, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
I was sorry to learn that your stay on this occasion fell short of your expectations and I apologise for any discomfort or inconvenience caused.

However your comments are unfairly made.

We welcome all feedback that we receive from our guests and will endeavour to use such feedback constructively.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Avoid this hotel at all costs! After eventually finding the hotel up a dirty, seedy back alley, next door to an NHS drop in centre, we were 'greeted' by the male receptionist and asked for our names and payment. No friendly chat or have a good stay, etc. The rooms were small and absolutely filthy!!! The dust and dirt and cobwebs must have been gathering for weeks if not months. There were stains on the duvet cover, the carpet was dirty, the curtains didn't fit and were hanging off. The shower room was so dirty we got cleaning -products that had been left in a bucket on the landing and cleaned it ourselves!!
We had to leave our keys at reception every time we went out and the staff barely spoke. We weren't asked if we needed any help with luggage although the hotel advertises a porter service. We had to ask for tea bags (which was earl grey!) had no teaspoon and only 3 pillows on a double bed.
"Cooked breakfast" comprised of cereals in tubs on the side, no bowls or milk, a glass of orange juice, cup of tea or coffee, cold toast with butter and jam, processed cheese slices and 2 fried eggs which were overcooked and smelly!! No bacon or sausages (possibly a religious thing as the hotel is run by Muslims??!!) there was Indian/Arabic music blaring from a computer while we were eating. If I could give a zero rating on everything, I would! Overall, a dreadful experience and wouldn't stay there again even if it was free!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madeleine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cityinnexp, Guest Relations Manager at City Inn Express, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at City Inn Express.

I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies

At City Inn Express, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us.

However I find some of your comments unfair and made with Prejudice, Yes we are located through a walkway as mentioned on our website. You unfairly state it as being dirty and seedy, which is untrue it is clean and well lit not sure what you mean by seedy maybe you have experience of seedy environments.

We only offer a continental breakfast as advertised. We do not advertise that we serve a english breakfast.

London is multicultural and we receive guests from all over the world and show and treat them with the up most respect. However you seem to have racial issues which are shown in your comments and the way you treated staff at the hotel.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

My boyfriend and me stayed in this hotel several times. Rooms are cleaned and tidy. Members of the staff are always friendly and helpful. Near the hotel there are a lot of pubs bars and restaurants. I reccomend it to families or friends who want to spend a weekend in London because it's a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aryan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cityinnexp, Guest Relations Manager at City Inn Express, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to City Inn Express Hotel .

Your comments have been passed on to the staff

I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay

We hope to see you in the near future.

Thank- You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
CityStay Hotel
#948 of 1,088 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#727 of 1,088 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Viking Hotel
#862 of 1,088 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Forest View Hotel
#807 of 1,088 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
East End / East London
Kip Hotel
Kip Hotel
#594 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Inn Express

Property: City Inn Express
Address: 144-A Mare Street | Hackney, London E8 3SG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Victoria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #900 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Inn Express 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Inn Express London Fields is a budget hotel located in East London near Hackney, Bethnal Green, Old Street, and Shoreditch. If you’re looking for cheap hotels in London, with affordable quality accomodation in a unique section of London, this hotel is the right choice for you. The rooms are neutrally decorated with a feel of calm and are designed to meet your demands in order to allow you a peaceful night sleep.For the business traveler, City Inn Express is with in easy access to Financial and Business districts such as The City of London, London Liverpool Street, Canary Wharf, London Bridge, Fleet Street, Old Street and the Excel London. City inn Express is less than 5 minutes walk from London Fields station, a 15 minutes walk from Bethnal Green tube. With a bus stop directly outside the hotel, it offers easy access to all London's business districts.For the London explorer , London’s main areas of interest lie to the East of the City, and the City Inn Express Hotel is at the center of it all, with something for everyone. From trendy bars, restaurants and some of the world’s best known clubs in nearby Old Street, to the shopping districts of the West End, Oxford Street, Old Spitafields, Brick Lane and Borough Markets all a short hop away, makes this hotel a great starting point in order to explore London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Inn Express Hotel London
City Hotel Express
City Hotel London
City Inn Express London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing