We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocking!!!”
Review of City Inn Express

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Inn Express
Ranked #965 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Eastbourne, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Shocking!!!”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Avoid this hotel at all costs! After eventually finding the hotel up a dirty, seedy back alley, next door to an NHS drop in centre, we were 'greeted' by the male receptionist and asked for our names and payment. No friendly chat or have a good stay, etc. The rooms were small and absolutely filthy!!! The dust and dirt and cobwebs must have been gathering for weeks if not months. There were stains on the duvet cover, the carpet was dirty, the curtains didn't fit and were hanging off. The shower room was so dirty we got cleaning -products that had been left in a bucket on the landing and cleaned it ourselves!!
We had to leave our keys at reception every time we went out and the staff barely spoke. We weren't asked if we needed any help with luggage although the hotel advertises a porter service. We had to ask for tea bags (which was earl grey!) had no teaspoon and only 3 pillows on a double bed.
"Cooked breakfast" comprised of cereals in tubs on the side, no bowls or milk, a glass of orange juice, cup of tea or coffee, cold toast with butter and jam, processed cheese slices and 2 fried eggs which were overcooked and smelly!! No bacon or sausages (possibly a religious thing as the hotel is run by Muslims??!!) there was Indian/Arabic music blaring from a computer while we were eating. If I could give a zero rating on everything, I would! Overall, a dreadful experience and wouldn't stay there again even if it was free!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madeleine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cityinnexp, Guest Relations Manager at City Inn Express, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at City Inn Express.

I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies

At City Inn Express, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us.

However I find some of your comments unfair and made with Prejudice, Yes we are located through a walkway as mentioned on our website. You unfairly state it as being dirty and seedy, which is untrue it is clean and well lit not sure what you mean by seedy maybe you have experience of seedy environments.

We only offer a continental breakfast as advertised. We do not advertise that we serve a english breakfast.

London is multicultural and we receive guests from all over the world and show and treat them with the up most respect. However you seem to have racial issues which are shown in your comments and the way you treated staff at the hotel.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    50
    43
    18
    62
See reviews for
35
34
19
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2013

My boyfriend and me stayed in this hotel several times. Rooms are cleaned and tidy. Members of the staff are always friendly and helpful. Near the hotel there are a lot of pubs bars and restaurants. I reccomend it to families or friends who want to spend a weekend in London because it's a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aryan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cityinnexp, Guest Relations Manager at City Inn Express, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to City Inn Express Hotel .

Your comments have been passed on to the staff

I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay

We hope to see you in the near future.

Thank- You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarbes, France
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Good points:
The room was good for the price and clean
Toilet and shower in the room
A lot of buses to go to the city centre

Bad points:
Sound of a pump. You hear the sound of this pump starting/stopping and it's very annoying.
Bathroom small and bad pressure in the shower

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xabi237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cityinnexp, Guest Relations Manager at City Inn Express, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to City Inn Express Hotel .

I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay, we have taken notice your negative points and will be looking into how they can be resolved.

We hope to see you in the near future.

Thank- You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is not a hotel you want to stay in.

First, I got there and my room was on the third floor, I asked if there was an elevator and the guy working at the front desk just told : "No, there are stairs, climb it". Okay ...

The room was fine, a bit small, the bed weren't comfortable, and the blankets too short.

The second day we asked for another blanket and an extra pillow, we were told that there were no vacancy in the hotel so every blanket was taken. First time in my life that I heard that in a hotel. Unprofessional.

During our trip, nobody came to clean the room nor the bathroom, they didn't even change the sheets.

The third day, we had a friend over for 2 hours in our room, little did I know it wasn't allowed. When I got downstairs the guy at the front desk dared to scream at me, saying that it was illegal to have a guest and threatened me. It was beyond unprofessional to attack me and yell at me.

I do not recommend to anyone this hotel, it is not worth the money and the people over there are rude, unprofessional and not nice. Save your money and find something better in London.

Room Tip: Run away and don't even bother look at this mess.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed here for work, and it was absolutely fine. Clean enough and in a good location close to shops and bars, and some parks nearby for running. There were a few damaged items in the room such as the showerhead and lumpy mattress, but all-in-all it wasn't so bad.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cityinnexp, Public Relations Manager at City Inn Express, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I stayed in this hotel as it was close to family. I understood it was a budget hotel so I expected basic but hygienic facilities. On arrival my room was on the third floor so I had to haul my luggage up the three flights of stairs as there was no elevator or was I offered any assistance. The room was filthy, it had never seen a duster or Hoover. The bathroom was tiny, the previous guest's soap and hair was left in the shower and also their waste was left in the toilet. I asked to be moved to another room and was moved to a second floor room which was slightly cleaner but not much better, soap left in the shower, un hoovered, bed clothes old, bed broken on one side and no extra blanekts even though it was snowing out. I didn't feel adventurous enough to try the food. It was a horrible place that should be shut down by a health inspector.

Room Tip: It seems the higher you go the dirtier it was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed in this hotel last night and was going to write a favourable review as though this place is most definitely a 'budget' hotel with absolutely no frills, our room was clean and tidy, with clean towels and bedding (though with an old and very tired bed and mattress) and the staff initially, friendly. Having read prior reviews that mentioned the hotel's policy of charging an extra fee for payments made by credit or debit card, I brought cash to pay for the room. When I checked out, I was about to pay, only to be told that my online booking had already been paid from my debit card and a 3.5% commission charge added to my bill. I asked to settle the bill in cash, minus the commission charge only to be told that was not possible as I'd made an online 'non-refundable' booking and that their 'booking information' makes it clear that card payments incur a surcharge. Well, my emailed receipt was for the room rate only and though it mentioned that a surcharge would be made for card payments, at no point was it made clear that there was NO option to pay in cash and avoid the surcharge. So basically, the room rate was actually the stated amount PLUS an essentially mandatory surcharge. Though this surcharge was only a few Pounds, I feel that to add this cost as a matter of course, with no option to avoid it, but not include it on the bill and then attempt to pass it off as a separate prior-notified payment is completely and utterly dishonest and possibly illegal under trading standards legislation. Though for only a small sum, I felt completely ripped off. Judging by their reaction, the staff obviously have this argument regularly with disgruntled patrons and have been instructed to be totally inflexible on the matter. If you choose to book a room here, be aware that you will almost certainly have a surcharge added to your quoted room rate, which is almost impossible to avoid.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MDog77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cityinnexp, General Manager at City Inn Express, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and leaving feedback.

Please note you booked a non refundable room, the charging policies are clearly stated at the time of booking.

You chose to book this room type, you can avoid these charges by booking a standard policy room type.

Thank- You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
Travelodge London Hackney Hotel
East End / East London
Kip Hotel
Kip Hotel
#595 of 1,069 in London
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#728 of 1,069 in London
455 reviews
Viking Hotel
#819 of 1,069 in London
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Inn Express

Property: City Inn Express
Address: 144-A Mare Street | Hackney, London E8 3SG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Victoria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #965 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Inn Express 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Inn Express London Fields is a budget hotel located in East London near Hackney, Bethnal Green, Old Street, and Shoreditch. If you’re looking for cheap hotels in London, with affordable quality accomodation in a unique section of London, this hotel is the right choice for you. The rooms are neutrally decorated with a feel of calm and are designed to meet your demands in order to allow you a peaceful night sleep.For the business traveler, City Inn Express is with in easy access to Financial and Business districts such as The City of London, London Liverpool Street, Canary Wharf, London Bridge, Fleet Street, Old Street and the Excel London. City inn Express is less than 5 minutes walk from London Fields station, a 15 minutes walk from Bethnal Green tube. With a bus stop directly outside the hotel, it offers easy access to all London's business districts.For the London explorer , London’s main areas of interest lie to the East of the City, and the City Inn Express Hotel is at the center of it all, with something for everyone. From trendy bars, restaurants and some of the world’s best known clubs in nearby Old Street, to the shopping districts of the West End, Oxford Street, Old Spitafields, Brick Lane and Borough Markets all a short hop away, makes this hotel a great starting point in order to explore London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your City Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Inn Express Hotel London
City Hotel Express
City Hotel London
City Inn Express London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing