We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“About what you would expect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chelsea Guest House
Ranked #313 of 1,088 Hotels in London
northants
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“About what you would expect”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

The staff were the plus point and I guess I would use it again if I was down that way. We selected it as we were doing the London to Brighton bike ride. It is a gr8 location for this. Rooms are warm in the summer and so the windows have to be open which means city noise through the night - take ear plugs.
It was clean and the rooms are basic but nice. Bathroom was also ok.
Only point I would make is that they charge you to park there £20 PV, but they do not tell you this till you get there.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are warm in the summer, take ear plugs and open the windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank andy7979us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea Guest H... L, Reception at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Andy7979us,
Thanks you so much for your review.

All the team thank you for your lovely comments about our hard work. We are always proud of our job when our customers leave the Guest House happy and willing to come back in the future.

We are on track to refurbish more of our rooms, and we do hope we will have the chance to show you our latest improvements.

Cleanliness is our top priority, along with outstanding customer service, and we work hard to keep it at a high standard. So, thank you so much for appreciating our efforts.

I’ m sorry to read of your disappointment about the parking. We do have several parking spots available on request and we are always very keen to inform our guests about the charge of £20, which we believe, is extremely reasonable for parking in London. That is why we ask our guests to book the parking space in advance by contacting the hotel directly. We do hope this is not a deterrent for your next stay with us.

Thanks once again for your review and we hope to see you again.

Sofia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    407
    167
    59
    23
See reviews for
150
264
127
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
1,033 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 582 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

I stayed at this Guest House for 4 nights in April 2014 and paid about US $285.00. The front desk personnel were all very friendly and helpful to me, particularly when I asked questions about buses and London Tube (my first 4 days in London).

Bus Services - five minutes away from the Guest House is the stop for Bus # 87 that goes to Vauxhall Tube Station and Westminster where most tourist attractions are located.

Restaurant - McDonald Restaurant is located next to it.

DON'T LIKE:

BED SHEETS - other than the small orange sheet/spread (?), there are no other sheets (flat and fitted ones) and blankets provided to me.

ROOM - very narrow and small. Does not appear to be clean.

MIRROR - located at high level, I would need a stool to see my face (I'm 5 ft 5 inches tall).

LIGHTING - very dim.

My London Sweat Shirt - I emailed them to let them know that I forgot my new sweat shirt in the bathroom and would get it back when I return to London in 2 weeks. I could not get anyone to tell me what happened to my sweat shirt when I inquired about it again.

With more experience traveling in London, I would definitely NOT STAY again in this hotel due to reasons listed above.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LolaGo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea Guest H... L, Customer Service at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Lolago1,
Thank you so much for sharing your opinion with us.
It was lovely to talk with you while you were at the Chelsea Guest House. Our reception team is not just fully trained to provide all the information our guests need to enjoy this beautiful capital, but it is also very happy to do it! This is our job and we are passionate about it. It is very nice that you have noticed it and written about it. So, thank you again.
As you underlined, the location of the guest house is amazing to reach the city centre with a short bus ride or by tube, and the nearby area offers lots of nice restaurants, for all tastes and pockets. Our reception team are always ready to best address our guests to the restaurant to suit all tastes.
I am sorry to read you did not find some things to your likings. With regards to the bed linings, we would have been happy to provide you with an extra sheet or cover, though the fitted one with the cover for the duvet is the typical English bedding style and, of course it is changed for every new customer and every 2 days for long stays. At check-in we always ask our guests to return to the reception if there is anything that they need and I am sorry you did not take advantage of this during your stay, as we could have amended this issue.
The light bulbs we use in the guest house are energy efficient, as we want to improve our green footprint on the earth, therefore they do tend to be slower at brightening up, but we believe that the majority of our guest will be happy that we are trying to go green.
About the other issues you experienced, I can ensure that your message will be passed to the managers that will take a look into them, to check that our cleanliness standards will be kept high.
Our building team is already hard at work to renovate our rooms and to ensure we are keeping up with our main focus for our guests, whilst ensuring not to disturb our guests’ stay. Most of our rooms have been already refurbished and modernized.
And let me apologize for your shirt. Although the housekeeping team clean all our rooms deeply every day, and we have a lost property procedure, unfortunately it has not been found. It appears a communication fault has occurred and that is why you have not received any information about it. This should never happen, and we will make sure it will not happen again. The managers have already looked into this matter to make sure any other fault of this kind will not occur again.
Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and for your review. We do hope you might re-consider our Hotel in future light of this information, and in that case we would be pleased to listen to your requests and find the best solution for you.
Kindest Regards
Sofia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Staffs.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

I stayed here with several friends for two nights while we enjoyed a weekend in London. The rooms are spread across two Georgian buildings next door to each other. My first impression was the lack of space in and around the rooms and the pretty straightforward state of them overall - don't expect fancy touches or even tea/coffee facilities for instance.

The rooms are small with just enough room for two single beds and a small bedside chest cabinet. There was a decent flatscreen tv on the wall which was good. The bathroom was very small indeed, not much room to move about and a bit difficult to dry off after a shower. The beds were basic, duvet and pillow left a bit to be desired. There were comfortable enough though.

A couple of maintenance issues while I was there - the curtain rail was almost falling apart and I had to be very careful when drawing ot opening them. Also on the first morning the lights in the bedroom and bathroom failed. I reported this to reception who were pleasant enough and said they would get it fixed. When i returned to the room a few hours later the bedroom light worked but not the bathroom - this made it very difficult to use the bathroom as there was no natural light.

Overall it was reasonably priced (for London) and was in an ok location but I would have expected a bit more in terms of basic quality.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea Guest H... L, Customer Service at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Matt C,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write on you recent stay at The Chelsea Guest House.
We consider ourselves as a good value accommodation, which offers the comforts our guests may need during their stay, located in a well-connected area, with buses and tube going straight to the city centre with a short ride. As I mentioned, we offer basic standards rooms, single, double or twin, triple and family and then we also offer premium rooms, provided with brand new furniture, royally approved beds, tea and coffee making facilities, toiletries and more space than the standards.
Also, since we take our guests’ comments in high regard and use them to make important inputs to improve our services, we are currently undergoing some renovations to the guest house. It would be lovely if you came back to visit us again and gave us the chance to impress you with one of our newly renovated rooms.
Thank you once again for your comment.
Best Regards
Sofia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Stayed here in March to celebrate my daughter's 16th birthday in London. Budget room booked and so no tea/coffee making facilites which was a bit disappointing however everything else was excellent. Booked in late evening and was greeted by a friendly receptionist. Having mentioned when booking it was my daughter's birthday a lovely surprise was had when she went to her room to find 'swan towels', a box of chocolates and a birthday card from the staff. The following mornings found even more friendly receptionists. The rooms we had were at the front of the hotel but they were really quiet and no noise was heard from the McDonald's next door. Excellent bus routes down to the tube station. This not a top brand place to stay but the staff are certainly second to none and if you want to save money on accommodation and use it only as a base it is ideally situated and I would definitely use again

Room Tip: If staying in the budget rooms make sure you have your drinks with you as have no tea making facilit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 67Splodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea Guest H... L, Customer Service at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear 67splodge,
A big thank from the reception team for your glowing review.
At the Chelsea Guest House we love to make feel our guests special, whether they are here for a special occasion, like you and your daughter, or simply to discover the city or on their business trip. We constantly try to keep our guest needs and requests our priority.
We feel very proud when we find out, through such positive feedback like yours, that we are doing a good job. So, many thanks once again, we all feel inspired to continue our efforts.
The Guest House, is very well-connected to the city centre by bus, tube and overground and it is also very close to the amazing area of Clapham.
We believe we cater for many people, with different budgets and needs looking for accommodation in London that is why we offer different kinds of rooms: from the basic Standards rooms to the Premium rooms that offer more luxurious surroundings, royally approved beds, toiletries and tea and coffee making facilities.
We hope that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay in London and we do hope you will come to visit us again and experience one of our Premium rooms.
Warm Regards
Sofia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed in this hotel because we had a very early start on a working Wednesday morning. Warm welcome and very clean modern room. It was next to entrance so a bit noisy. The hotel has no restaurant but room had tea/coffee making facilities. Thedre is a McDonalds next door and other eating options nearby.

Room Tip: Maybe find a at back on higher floor. This hotel has no restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reelvideoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea Guest H... L, Customer Service at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Reelvideoman.
We really appreciated your comment!
From what I have read, I believe you stayed in one of our newly refurbished rooms, which are provided with tea and coffee making facilities, hypnos beds and are newly modernized. We are so pleased to see you appreciated this, as we have been working hard to complete these rooms.
Our team is always ready and keen to provide a warm welcome to all of our guests, as they deserve, and to offer a clean, comfortable and friendly environment, as well as being able to offer recommendations to local restaurants, bars and cafes.
We look forward to welcome you again to the guest house, and on your next visit, give us a quick call and we can ensure a room is booked for you towards the back of our building, which some of our guests find much quieter.
Many Thanks
Sofia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

I used this hotel as a convenient one night stop-off between a dinner in Battersea and an appointment next morning nearby, deciding to spend £79 for a basic room with an ensuite rather than £250 for a bigger and better known hotel. All I was doing was sleeping there for 6 or 7 hours. The staff were very helpful, the room was pretty basic, but as expected. There were tea and coffee facilities and the small bathroom had been refurbished to a good standard. Drawbacks were street noise and tired linen. It had been washed but probably for the 300th time so didn't really look very clean. All in all, worth it to have the £170 I saved to spend on something else. The breakfast voucher, at £5, is a good buy to use at the Savoy café 50 yards away, provided you like a full English in a greasy spoon.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rh1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea Guest H... L, Manager at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear rh1312,

Thank you for taking the time out from your schedule to write a review about your stay with us.

We are truly honored that you chose to stay with us, rather than a £250 a night know brand hotel, we believe we can offer the same level of customer service, and our guests can leave just as happy with, like you mention, having saved over £170 and having that money in their back pockets.

We believe in honesty and integrity, we advertise exactly what we offer, low cost rooms in an excellent locations, with the highest standards of cleanliness and 5 star service offered by our employees to aid those guests that need information, directions or even just a smiling friendly face at the end of a busy working day.

We really appreciate your lovely comments, and they have been passed throughout the team. If you are in the area again, please do not hesitate to contact us, and we can help you with any requirements you may have.

Many Thanks,

Danielle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Great location as I was completing a YMCA Exercise to Music course down the road.
Value for money considering we are in London.
Superb staff - so helpful and friendly.
Traffic noise as expected for this busy road.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Aqua-vox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea Guest H... L, Customer Service at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Aqua-Vox,
We are always so pleased to read such lovely comments from our guests.
All the Chelsea Guest House team thank you! A great and efficient customer service is a must for us, and we try always to give our best to ensure we give each and every one of our guests an enjoyable stay in a welcoming environment.
We would really love to welcome you once again and to listen to your request. I am sure that, if you contact us directly, we can allocate you in a more quite room.
Kindest Regards
Sofia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Church Street Hotel
#459 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Adria Hotel
Adria Hotel
#226 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Pelican London Hotel and Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Point A Hotel, London Canary Wharf
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Guest House

Property: Chelsea Guest House
Address: 372 Wandsworth Road, London SW8 4TE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#75 Best Value Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelsea Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Chelsea Guest House. Chelsea Guest House is conveniently located close to Central London and closer still to the famous and bustling Clapham where you can enjoy the selection of stylish independent boutiques, bars and restaurants on offer to suit every taste and budget. After your long day's sightseeing, a trip to the theatre, shopping or perhaps a visit to the vibrant night-life on offer in London, come back and relax in our warm and friendly guest house where your comfortable bed and well appointed room awaits. Our staff ensure excellent all round hospitality and service. Chelsea is hotel accommodation near to London's finest theatres of the West End, Brixton Academy for music concerts and shopping of the Kings Road and Kensington High Street.So enjoy the convenient location, special comfort and incredible value of the Chelsea Guest House. Contact us directly for special seasonal packages and offers! We look forward to seeing you soon.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chelsea Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Guest House Hotel London
Chelsea Hotel London
Chelsea Guest House London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing