We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room in Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chelsea Guest House
Ranked #322 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Room in Good Location”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I found this place on Tripadvisor and decided to stay here due to the good reviews. We paid extra for a bigger double room, which was comfortable and clean (recently renovated with nice bathroom). We probably could have stayed in a smaller double as we were not there very much.

There were building works going on but it had little impact on our stay. No noise problems from this - just the cleaners sometimes starting too early in the morning! The staff were super friendly and helpful which is always a plus. I was disappointed that the internet did not work in our room (on the second floor). We caught the bus into the City - the stops were right out the front - very convenient. There is also a good variety of places to eat, drink and shop in the Clapham area - easy walking distances from the Guest House.

Room Tip: There is no A/C so you need to have a window open for fresh air. We had a room facing the rear rathe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea Guest H... L, Guest Relations Manager at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear FirieBenno,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an extensive review, we are glad to see that our guests have so many great things to say about their stay.
At Chelsea Guest House, we’ve been working hard to improve the rooms and extend our services, so we are happy that you appreciate our efforts. Of course, none of that is of use without our staff doing their best to make guests feel welcomed, so ask someone at reception for the best places in the area and we will guarantee you a great time. If not, we’re glad you used all the transport facilities that provide easy access to the city centre.
We’re sorry to hear that the heat was over-bearing at times, so perhaps we will see you again in the winter season. Until then, all the best from Chelsea Guest House!

Best regards,
Paul
Customer Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    428
    174
    62
    23
See reviews for
157
278
131
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We were working in Lambeth for 4 days & stayed at the Chelsea Guest House, 1st impressions were excellent. In reception we noticed Building Works, so it was Obvious that the Guest House was undergoing major renovations. Our room was not much bigger than a cupboard, the double bed only just fitted & the decor & furniture dated. On saying that the room was immaculately Clean as were the bedding & towels. The bed was one of the most comfortable beds I've slept in. I'm sure if the renovations continue this will be one of the best places to stay in the area. We would definately go again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolAHinchcliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea Guest H... L, Guest Relations Manager at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Carol,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your stay at Chelsea Guest House, we hope your stay in London was satisfactory.
We take great pride in offering the highest standard of cleanliness and comfort so we are happy that you appreciated this, and even more so that you managed to get a good rest as a result of this. We have been indeed working to improve the rooms, and we will hopefully soon have even more comfortable beds, matched by a brand new décor.
As a guest house that regularly hosts professionals working in London, we hope that we've convinced you to come again and look forward to hearing from you on your next visit to London!

Best regards,
Paul
Customer Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Always book at Chelsea Guest house Lucas is so helpful as well as the other staff always made to feel welcome every time we have stayed.
its a perfect location for the events we like to go to and the price is great.
rooms are clean and beds comfortable location is close to victory bus station as well as others plenty of local shops brilliant if you run out of things.

Room Tip: we have stayed in the family room and other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxi087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea Guest H... L, Manager at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Maxi087,

Thank you for taking the time to review our guest house and your kind words.

We are pleased that you are a returning guest to Chelsea Guest House and have been able to enjoy our great affordable prices, clean rooms and comfortable beds. We also agree we are in a great location for the sights of London, we are also close to many great event hosting establishments such as Brixton o2 academy, Battersea power station and Clapham Common home of the SW4 Festival.

We will kindly pass the message of thanks on to Lukas and the rest of the team.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review!

We hope we will see you again soon when you attend another event in the city.

Until then, all the best.

Kind Regards,

Danielle Mort
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2013

It's such a long time I've been spending my holidays at the Chelsea Guest House that even my son has grown up with the idea of always going back there.
Very tidy, clean and friendly place, at the Chelsea Guest House everyone smiles and helps.
Prices are simply the best bet in town at an enviable distance from Big Ben!
Lately I've suggested staying at the Chelsea Guest House to my nephew and his friends, all eighteen,
Well, it was great for them too!
Don't waste your time comparing prices and distances, believe me there is no comparison between Chelsea Guest House and other hotels!

Room Tip: They are all perfect rooms, I've tried nearly all floors and types.. The best ones might be the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea Guest H... L, Manager at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Susanna,

As soon as we read your review and the name, we knew instantly it was from yourself. We are so pleased that you took the time to review our guest house, and even more pleased to be able to accommodate you and your family year after year.

We are so humbled to be a part of your families tradition of staying at the Chelsea Guest House, and also that your extended family are also using us for their visits to the capital! I am pleased that your nephew and his friends have also enjoyed staying with us and hope they will also return to us again soon.

There really isn't much that I can add to your kind words and honest review, except that we look forward to continue to be able to provide clean, comfortable, relaxing and affordable accommodation to you and your family.

Until we see you again,

All the best to you and your family,

Danielle Mort
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I was looking for an affordable place to stay for a few days, in proximity to the city and public transport. For my budget I didn't expect extravagance, but was happy to have found a clean place with shower inside the room and free internet, almost like the one pictured on the booking site. The staff was very friendly and helpful with advice or small favours (wake up knocking, hangers, daily cleaning and change of towels). I was pleased they gave me a room on the more quiet back of the house. With walls and windows being somewhat less than ideally insulated some noise of the neighbour room and the street / Mc Donalds Drive-In was hearable but not a big deal though. I got the impression that they are constantly improving the place.

The location is very practical also for night owls, as there is buses all night long, stopping literally just before the guesthouse. Security seemed to be fine, with separte keys for room and main entrance and 24 hours reception desk.

I loved the place and will consider it again for my next stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea Guest H... L, Manager at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear David G,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at the guest house.

We believe that our guests are looking for 3 main things when choosing accommodation for their visit to London: (1) Price (2) Comfort & Cleanliness (3) Location, we truly believe we can fit into all these options with our affordable prices, clean, comfortable and relaxing rooms and also being just a short 15 minute bus ride to Westminster, Big Ben and Trafalger Square just a little further on.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the guest house, and are looking to return. You are correct with your statement, we are continually improving the guest house so we can offer an even better service to our guests. We truly listen to all our guest comments and feedback and use this to ensure we are providing our guests the best we can give.

We are looking forward to your return visit to Chelsea Guest House and the wonderful city of London.

Until then, all the best to you.


Kindest Regards,

Danielle Mort
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2013

During my trip to London, I spent five days at Chelsea Guest House with my family. We were very happy with this Estate. It offers a perfect service and his staff is very kind, especially Danielle, she was very patient explaining us all directions and many other things about London. I've no complaints and I would not consider to go to an other hotel in London, instead, me and my brother will be back in October!
Marco

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco1989459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea Guest H... L, Manager at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Marco1989456,

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding Chelsea Guest House.

I am extremely please to read that you found our staff helpful and calling our service 'perfect' is very rewarding for us to read.
We want to ensure all our guests know everything they need to know before setting off from the guest house to travel around the city and see the many wonderful attractions and history that London has to offer for every one.
With the guest house being located just a short 15 minute bus ride from the majority of these attractions, our guest house is perfectly located to come back too after a long day in the busy city to relax and unwind before heading out to the local Clapham High Street for many bars and restaurants to spend the evening.

I am pleased to see you will be returning to the guest house in October, and we are looking forward to accommodating you once more, and continue to impress you with our rooms and service.

Kindest Regards,

Danielle Mort
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The room we stayed in was very basic, dated and stunk of cigarette smoke, probably why the windows and doors were jammed open.
The staff were very good, except whoever decided it would be a good idea to hoover at 8 in the morning!
it's in an excellent location and has plenty of shops nearby, with Mcdonalds literally on the doorstep, if that's your thing!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Readingfc88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea Guest H... L, Operations Manager at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Readingfc88,

We'd like to thank you for giving us your thoughts on your stay at Chelsea Guest House. We are sorry to hear that you had to smell tobacco, we have a strict no-smoking policy throughout the hotel and we strongly enforce it. Though you mention the room was dated, we are currently undergoing renovation works within the guest house to improve rooms and the guest experience, and we are doing so thanks to feedback, such as yours, from previous guests.
As you mentioned we also believe we are located in an excellent location for a short bus ride into the centre of the city, lots of shops and cafés close by and a relaxing environment for when the busy traveller returns from a long day of sightseeing.
We hope that you enjoyed your stay in London and do hope you will come back to visit us and experience our new changes.

Best regards,
Danielle
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Hammersmith / Fulham
Adria Hotel
Adria Hotel
#258 of 1,068 in London
705 reviews
Church Street Hotel
#513 of 1,068 in London
419 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Pelican London Hotel and Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Kip Hotel
Kip Hotel
#598 of 1,068 in London
154 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Point A Hotel, London Canary Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Guest House

Property: Chelsea Guest House
Address: 372 Wandsworth Road, London SW8 4TE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#78 Best Value Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelsea Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Chelsea Guest House. Chelsea Guest House is conveniently located close to Central London and closer still to the famous and bustling Clapham where you can enjoy the selection of stylish independent boutiques, bars and restaurants on offer to suit every taste and budget. After your long day's sightseeing, a trip to the theatre, shopping or perhaps a visit to the vibrant night-life on offer in London, come back and relax in our warm and friendly guest house where your comfortable bed and well appointed room awaits. Our staff ensure excellent all round hospitality and service. Chelsea is hotel accommodation near to London's finest theatres of the West End, Brixton Academy for music concerts and shopping of the Kings Road and Kensington High Street.So enjoy the convenient location, special comfort and incredible value of the Chelsea Guest House. Contact us directly for special seasonal packages and offers! We look forward to seeing you soon.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chelsea Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Guest House Hotel London
Chelsea Hotel London
Chelsea Guest House London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing