We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chelsea Guest House
Ranked #334 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This hotel was tired and delapidated;the furnishings were old and shoddy and the carpets heavily stained. There were no toiletries in the bathroom or tea/coffee making facilities in the bedroom. I don't know when the website photographs were taken and if, indeed, they were taken in this hotel. The owners have a sense of humour charging the money they charge!

Room Tip: Don't book here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maggiemac58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea Guest H... L, Guest Relations Manager at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear MaggieMac58,
We are sorry to hear that you were unsatisfied with our services. We believe that we offer very good quality and well priced rooms for London. Having said that, we have taken note of the points you raised. Perhaps our premium rooms would better suit your needs. Newly built, the rooms offer tea and coffee making facilities, more accessories in the rooms (toiletries, hair dryer and welcome tray) and also benefit from modern furniture and Hypnos beds.
Thank you for taking the time to give us your thoughts and we hope that we will have the chance to impress you another time when you visit London.
Best regards,
Paul
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,044)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

740 - 746 of 1,044 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is a good place to stay if all you need is a comfortable bed at night. The building appears to be in the process of renovation, but it is very clean and safe. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful.

We knew this going in, but be advised that this hotel does not offer breakfast. I also felt that there were not many good dining options in the vicinity of the hotel.

Also be advised that you need to bring your own shower gel and shampoo/conditioner. Hand soap (from a dispenser) was available in our bathroom.

Overall, I had a very pleasant stay at this hotel, but if you require more amenities, then you may wish to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lottenore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea Guest H... L, Guest Relations Manager at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear Lottenore,
Thank you for your review, we seek to offer an affordable, accessible, clean and comfortable travel option for our guests and from your comments it is clear that we are moving in the right direction.
As there is always work to be done, we hope that our technical team did not inconvenience you during you stay. We’re sorry that you were not fully updated with the wealth of restaurants a mere 5 minute bus journey or 20 minute walk from the Guest House. Clapham Common and its wealth of cafes, bars and restaurants is located only a short distance from our front door. Our breakfast vouchers can also be used at 3 neighbouring cafes within a 2 minute walk of the Guest House. We will speak to our staff and make sure they are thorough in helping clients with directions and this sort of information at check-in in future. Also, in the customer information file, we have included a specific section on local restaurants and bars which are convenient for our clients to dine in.
We are happy you managed to enjoy our Guest House and hope that we will see you again on your next visit to the UK.
Best regards,
Paul
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Basic hotel, room was loft conversion and small so hitting your head on the ceiling was a bit of a problem. Only stayed one night and was okay, staff were helpful and not too far from centre of London with train station close by. Thought it was a bit pricey for what it was, but no real problems and clean.

Room Tip: Try to avoid top rooms where we stayed. Ceiling was a bit of an annoyance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariaxxx-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea Guest H... L, Guest Relations Manager at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear Maria,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Chelsea Guest House. Our services cater to clients that are looking for a good price on a well-linked location and a clean room so we hope our Guest House suited your needs. This is the first review which mentioned issues caused by a guest’s height and so, frankly, I think that this is an area which has, to date eluded us in our evaluation of room assignments. Thank you for flagging this issue to us!
In future, given notice at the time of booking we can ensure that we accommodate our taller clients in our rooms with higher ceilings (which are ample in our 45 room Guest House) to ensure that they are absolutely comfortable during their stay.
We do wish that you will stay with us again and allow us to demonstrate that we have taken your comments into account and reacted accordingly.

Best regards,
Paul
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I recently spent a week at this guest house and found it to be everything it advertised.
My room was clean and relatively quiet considering the hotel is on a very busy road. It was convenient to everything. Lots of restaurants and shops in the area.
The bus was right next door and the Tube was a 5 minute bus ride!
As well, as a woman traveling alone, I was impressed with the security. There are cameras in all the hallways and they are monitored by the most helpful staff I have ever encountered at any hotel I have stayed in all my 60 years!
If you want fancy this is not the place. If you want practical, convenient and affordable this is the best!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea Guest H... L, Guest Relations Manager at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear Heather,
Thank you for the lovely words of praise, your opinions keep us in touch with our customers and we are glad that you enjoyed your time at the Guest House.
We try to offer excellent service and comfort to our guests and a review like this one from an experienced traveller like yourself tells us we are doing a great job, which is always great to hear for management and the staff who work so hard to ensure guest satisfaction. It’s also great to hear you found our proximate location to both transport facilities and local amnesties to be convenient.
Whenever you are back in London and looking for a good place to stay, let us know and we’ll be happy to see you again.
Best regards,
Paul
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had an overnight stay in a delixe double room and were pleasently suprised. Beautiful room newly refurbished comfortable bed very clean small but adequate ensuite Although next to the main road with the windows shut we weren't bothered by traffic noise at all.Would definately recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Double deluxe on third floor are newly refurbished and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea Guest H... L, Guest Relations Manager at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear Andrea,
We are happy that you took the time to review your experience at Chelsea Guest House. As one of the first people to try our new premium rooms, we’re excited to receive such great feedback.
We’ve also put effort into giving the rooms a modern feel so we hope you appreciated the decor. We have tried to respond to what our guests wanted most in terms of convenience with the tea and coffee facilities, ionic hairdryers plus complimentary soaps, shampoo and shower gel. We feel that the addition of these facilities offer enhancement to our guests’ experiences while maintaining our competitive low prices. Be sure to come back again soon and thank you for spreading the word about our Guest House!
Best regards,
Paul
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The room was very basic but you get what you pay for. It's a great location to get the bus into the city centre, probably a 10-15 minute bus ride!

The rooms were very basic as said but they were clean and secure and the guy on reception was very nice. The bathroom/Shower was clean which is always important!

Tea making facilities would have been nice but apart from that, I enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Musgrove1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea Guest H... L, Guest Relations Manager at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear Musgrove1991,
All of us here at Chelsea Guest House work hard to keep high standards of quality for our guests. Our staff’s main goal is to keep customers happy, so we hope you enjoyed your time with us.
As we offer excellent prices for being located so close to the heart of London, many clients have great regard for the simple and comfortable rooms that we offer. We are however constantly improving our services, with premium rooms now offering tea and coffee making facilities, and many more improvements to come.
Finally, we’re grateful that you took the time to give us your thoughts and hope to see you again soon!
Best regards,
Paul
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed here for four nights in September 2012 and were very pleased with the place. The staff is very friendly and helpful and location good. You can jump to either bus number 77 or 87 right outside the hotel and they will take you to the closest tube station in just 5-10 minutes. In some ways the hotel seemed more like a hostel e.g. there was no blow dryer or shower gel/shampoo and the decoration was very humble. I'm not sure how old the building was or is it just how it's built but you can hear people speaking and moving outside your room very well and that woke us up a few times in the early mornings. So for those who need silence to be able to sleep, this is something I'd like to mention. But still I would warmly recommend this place! Our room and especially the toilet was cleaned very well and it seemed they have done some kind of reparations recently.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lottis83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea Guest H... L, Guest Relations Manager at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear Lottis83,
We’d like to thank you for the great review;, your feedback is very important to us.
. We are happy to see that our location was right for your needs and that the staff was helpful. You are right to point out that we’ve done some work on the hotel, all towards improving the comfort of our guests. This means that our systems are more reliable and our new rooms come with all the features you mentioned. We are sorry to hear that you had trouble sleeping, but I’m sure we would be able to find you a more quiet room for your return. Until then, we are happy to hear from our esteemed customers and share our ideas on Chelsea Guest House.
Best regards,
Paul
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
Kip Hotel
Kip Hotel
#602 of 1,077 in London
179 reviews
Notting Hill
Kensington Gardens Hotel
Kensington Gardens Hotel
#402 of 1,077 in London
314 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Adria Hotel
Adria Hotel
#262 of 1,077 in London
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
Premier Inn London Clapham Hotel
Church Street Hotel
#532 of 1,077 in London
440 reviews
Star Hotel B&B
#113 of 1,077 in London
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Guest House

Address: 372 Wandsworth Road, London SW8 4TE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#81 Best Value Hotel in London
Price Range: $69 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelsea Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Chelsea Guest House. Chelsea Guest House is conveniently located close to Central London and closer still to the famous and bustling Clapham where you can enjoy the selection of stylish independent boutiques, bars and restaurants on offer to suit every taste and budget. After your long day's sightseeing, a trip to the theatre, shopping or perhaps a visit to the vibrant night-life on offer in London, come back and relax in our warm and friendly guest house where your comfortable bed and well appointed room awaits. Our staff ensure excellent all round hospitality and service. Chelsea is hotel accommodation near to London's finest theatres of the West End, Brixton Academy for music concerts and shopping of the Kings Road and Kensington High Street.So enjoy the convenient location, special comfort and incredible value of the Chelsea Guest House. Contact us directly for special seasonal packages and offers! We look forward to seeing you soon.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chelsea Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Guest House Hotel London
Chelsea Hotel London
Chelsea Guest House London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing