We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smart, a little soulless but it's still being built!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Ranked #326 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
wiltshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Smart, a little soulless but it's still being built!”
Reviewed February 10, 2010

The hotel was`easy to find as it is located next to St Paul's. We were met by concierge, who were polite and helpful. Check-in was easy and we were upgraded to an 'executive' room as it was our first stay at that hotel.

The entrance, bar and lounge area were in a large glass atrium. It looked impressive but generally gave the communal areas a soulless feel. It was even stranger at night when the bar was a bizarre mix of suited, business conference types and leisure travelers.
Our room was a ground floor one that looked out on to the stylish atrium. Unfortunately that meant that the occupants of the atrium could also look back at us if we had the lights on and the curtains open.......or the builders could.
Builders? yes builders. They are still building the hotel. Not hordes of men in day-glow jackets, but enough to drill holes, bang things with hammers and saw up bits of wood , almost continuously between the hours of 8am and 6pm.
Our double room had one bedside table, one chair and one bathrobe, luckily for us the one bed it had was a double. Other niggles would be that housekeeping wasn't done until 4pm and tea/coffee supplies weren't correctly replenished. We could also hear the lift rumbling, when were were 2 bedrooms away from it!
In summary, we paid £100 pn, room only ( booked with last minute), there is no way we would want to pay more. It may be 5 star hotel but feels like a 5 star conference center, with little thought going into the lay out of rooms and facilities. Even I had to direct a 'lost guest' that wandering the corridor as I was leaving our room.
I'm sure there are better deals out there.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie-mog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,821
    1,404
    544
    222
    138
See reviews for
494
1,761
157
1,048
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (776)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2010

Nice new hotel - always booked through lastminute. Have stayed >10 times since oipened. Staff still not up to the 5* quality, but great new high quality hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndependentT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2010

booked this hotel through last minute for half rate.Full rate overpriced. While the bedrooms are excellent with spacious and ultra modern bathrooms, the hotel itself is very clinical and lacks warmth and atmosphere. This, I feel, is due to the staff, who seem so involved with their own agenda they forget that their first priority is to the customer. After a delay finding our reservation we were informed we could not have a room until 2pm (despite emailing previously for a possible early check-in, as we were setting out at 5am, which wasn't even acknowledged). We were then left standing there with no recomendations or suggestions as to what we might do in the meantime being our first time in the city. A complimentary coffee offered in most 5 stars would have been a start. Instead the reception staff were dismissive and unfriendly and left us dissapointed. Also the next evening after sitting for half an hour in the lounge "where are the staff!" we decided to get room service. - However I found it difficult in general to choose a hotel in london the reviews being so extreme, but this hotel was clean and modern, had good transport links and was ideal for a short break. Try the authentic french cafe next door

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eleanorIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2010

It's a shame I have to write this review, because this is a very nice, modern and spacious hotel in a great location. I made a booking through expedia where I was given a total figure that I would need to pay at the hotel. When checking in I was told that I would need to pay that figure plus VAT (another 17.5%) plus an additional charge for paying via a maestro/debit card.
I book lots of hotels and have never had to pay more than the quoted rate. There was no ambiguity in the pricing and this is a very clear cut case of me being overcharged. The staff refused to accept my quoted price, despite being presented with my confirmation email. They suggested I contacted expedia after my stay (I did and they correctly told me it was the hotel who was at fault, not them)
When I emailed the hotel after my stay to try and rectify things I was again fobbed off - it would have been a lot easier to refund the incorrect charge rather than stubbornly try to argue that it was justified.
The additional charge for paying via a debit card was small, but ludicrous. Again, I have never heard of this.
FInally, several of my friends who were staying in the same hotel had long waits to check in due to mix ups. I understand it is a new hotel but these kind of mishaps put me off staying again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmwdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peak District
1 review
Reviewed February 7, 2010

I took my mother to London as part of her 90th birthday celebrations which I mentioned on the booking form. At reception the manager personally welcomed us and accompanied us to our room. We used the brand new swimming pool in the morning and had a tour of the beauty suite which was very impressive. As we were going to enjoy a celebration lunch and didn't want to eat too much we found the local 'Simply Food' catered for our breakfast needs. Hotel very central, adjacent to St Pauls, milennium bridge and Tate Modern.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isobelPeakDistrict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2010

Stayed at the Grange St. Pauls for a night for my partners 30th birthday, we booked through lastminute.com and only paid £89 for the night so were already pretty pleased.
From first entering the hotel I was happy, everything was clean and spacious, bellboys on hand straight away to take your bags and show you to reception. Lady at reception was very effiecient, couldn't find our booking straight away because it was so last minute but found it quickly.
The rooms are beautiful. They are kitted out to such a high standard, I could live in the bathroom, the shower is bliss! Bed a bit hard for me but thats personal preference. Comfy sofa in the room and flat screen with lots of channels.
Had a quick drink in one of the bars and yes it was expensive, about a tenner for a beer and a glass of wine but you are in a 5* hotel and you're in London Bridge so you'd be hard pushed to find much cheaper anyway.
Didn't eat in the hotel but the breakfast area looked lovely. Also didn't use the spa and pool but its definately on my list of things to try next time.
All in all a lovely trip and will be keeping an eye out on lastminute for such good rates again but would probably stretch to pay full price anyway. Loved it!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rawlinsonmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for four nights in January 2010. The hotel gives a great first impression, with the tall light tower, high ceilings, lots of glass, etc. The room was quite impressive as well: large size, excellent bathroom (especially the shower and toiletries). The closet was a bit a bit awkward.

Free internet was nice, although the signal wasn’t strong in the room (getting reception for mobile phones was also a challenge). After a few calls to the front desk (communication challenge #1), I was able to get an Ethernet cable – which I was informed would require me to pay a 20 GBP deposit that would be refunded if I brought the cable with me when I checked out. Hmm. Good thing I remembered the bring the cable with me when I checked out – even though I was a bit underslept after waking up to a 4am fire alarm for which I was unable to get an explanation (communication challenge #2).

Still, I had a pretty good experience at the Grange St. Paul’s. The rates were incredibly overpriced (205 GBP plus VAT), but if a discounted weekend rate were available, I’d probably stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sinaasappelsap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Grange City Hotel
Grange City Hotel
#339 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,722 reviews
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#214 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,543 reviews
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel St. Paul's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Crowne Plaza London - The City
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Bloomsbury
Grange Holborn Hotel
Grange Holborn Hotel
#403 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange St. Paul's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange St. Paul's Hotel

Property: Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Address: 10 Godliman Street, London EC4V 5AJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#61 Spa Hotel in London
#170 Romantic Hotel in London
#223 Business Hotel in London
#236 Luxury Hotel in London
#267 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grange St. Paul's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a sophisticated blend of contemporary style and modern flair, the stunning Grange St. Paul’s Hotel sets new standards for luxury and elegance. Perfectly located in the heart of the City’s financial district yet just moments from the myriad delights of London’s renowned West End, the Grange St. Paul’s provides a perfect venue for any visit to the capital. Deluxe bedrooms and suites provide the ultimate in understated elegance and luxury, whilst a spectacular glass Atrium holds an unrivalled selection of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grange St. Paul's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange St Pauls Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing