We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Ranked #319 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great for families”
Reviewed December 21, 2009

We paid the full price for this hotel and still saw it as a good deal! We travel with our 3 young children and our nanny in tow so getting suitable accommodation is sometimes a problem. The rooms were lovely and adequately housed us. I was not aware of the availability of interconnecting rooms when i made my booking but this request was accommodated at very late notice and with stunning efficiency.

We had a slight teething problem with our car when we first checked in as we were sent to a car park that had a height restriction, my husband then had to blindly navigate central London after a 5hr drive desperately searching for a suitable car park. I complained about this to the concierge who swiftly took care of the room service we had to order as we were stuck in waiting for my husband to come back and our included breakfast was upgraded as no extra price.

We really enjoyed the trip and would have no hesitation in returning here with the whole family and nanny!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twinmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,798
    1,385
    536
    216
    135
See reviews for
485
1,738
155
1,033
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (768)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2009

This is a fine hotel in an excellent position overlooking St Paul's Cathedral and available through the Last Minute mystery hotels deal at a superb €90 per night.
The rooms are on the small side but very well appointed and the staff are very professional.
However, the hotel suffers from a serious design flaw - the front doors ( large,glass and sliding ) lead directly into the main bar area and atrium and at night in December with the doors being open more often than they are closed the hotel is cold and I mean seriously freezing.
It is frankly ridiculous to have to sit in a heavy overcoat having a drink at the bar and the fact that there were few people sat in the bar or in the other atrium bar would indicate there is problem.
Which is a shame because in almost every other respect this is a very good hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wahaay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2009

Booked on lastminute.com as a Top Secret Location and had St.Paul's taking up the whole view of my window. Hotel only open 5 months. Rooftop at night stunning view of St. Paul's and The Globe Theatre. I had the best time. Staff are polite and learning their craft at a new hotel. Business Centre perfect for my quick printing needs. Internet in room worked perfect every time. Rooms were large and able to have a small wine and cheese party for four ( staff brought up the glasses and plates and knives I needed). Bathroom was perfect the glass shower and four shower heads were divine. I will live with that view of St Paul's in my head for many a year. I am already planning on bringing my Mother next time as the buses are just around the corner and Tate Modern 5 minutes away. I look forward to when all the services are up and running like the Spa. It is modern and all brand new. The bar maid could use a little info about wine and know the menu a bit more and yet time and practice will take care of that. What a grand hotel with an elevator ride that was a treat every time.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Canadianlondoner50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2009

Got a great bargin on last min. com as a secret hotel. The staff were great, had fantastic service the whole weekend. rooms were gorgeous, clean and the shower was powerfull (loved the molton brown in the bathroom). Great location a stones throw from st Pauls. Would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bettydavis3101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2009

Booked this hotel for several overseas clients in a business capacity. Dealing with the reservation staff was a complete nightmare to the point that we have been told as a firm never to do repeat business with them. If they are going to locate themselves in the City then they need to welcome business customers they must appreciate that constant changes will take place and if you are running a 5 star hotel you need to accommodate your guests. Making changes to bookings was difficult, lack of English was a major problem and a serious lack of communication, instructions were not passed on to other people at the hotel. Some of reservation team were extremely rude, also never replied to calls or e-mails and after we complained they did not see fit to take anything off the bills or offer any apology or explanation, total headache dealing with this hotel, never again. If you are going to run a 5 star hotel you need to get competent experienced staff who are trained and know how to deal with business customers, cheap foreign labour is not the answer.

Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank tadgh1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2009

Got a great bargain on Lastminute.com £99.00 top secret hotel, the normal price for our room would have been over £200. The Hotel is stunning, modern, stylish and room was great. Marble bathroom with Molton Brown toiletries. Shower really powerful.
Air conditioning worked a treat. Great mini bar.
St Pauls Cathedral 50 meters away. Great Location!
No car park, but parked about 5 min walk away £2.50 an hour. but £2.50 from 18:00 to 0800 is not too bad.
Would recommend to anyone coming to London. Brilliant!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jelly72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2009

Stayed here with three friends for a night in October - excellent value,booked through lastminute.com. Couldn't fault the rooms, which were luxurious and spotless, with wonderful bathroom full of goodies and a really good shower. Ran into all sorts of issues with public areas, however.

We returned from an evening at the theatre to have a nightcap in the bar. The seats must be the most uncomfortable in London. We know, because we sat on them for almost half an hour before a waiter came to even take an order. One came to clear the table - but "wasn't allowed" to take an order. We went to the bar.... the barman said he would send someone, but couldn't take the order himself... Finally our order came. Mine was meant to be hot chocolate, but it was stone cold. We drank up and went to bed.

The next morning our friends went out and my husband and I headed for breakfast. On the way we had to navigate around black bin bags full of rubbish which were strategically positioned in various doorways, and saw several festering remains of in-room meals which appeared to have been on the floor all night. When we arrived in the restaurant, we were shown to a table which had clearly just been vacated by someone else. The jam and marmalade pots (half full) were sitting on a plate on which someone had spilt sugar, and the butter dish was balanced on top of them. The tablecloth was covered in crumbs, but no-one seemed to notice or care. We flagged down a harrassed young waitress and asked her to clear it up - she said we weren't one of her tables, but to her credit she did what we asked and smiled too!

After about ten minutes a waiter arrived and we ordered tea and coffee - a further ten minutes elapsed before it arrived. I poured my tea and it was undrinkable - a foul taste of something like washing up liquid. I asked for a fresh pot and it was the same, at which point I gave up.

We ordered a full English breakfast without having seen a menu - a big mistake as it turned out that the cost for this was over £30 a head!! If it had been spectacularly good I might not have minded, but it again took ages to arrive and was stone cold when it did - furthermore I do NOT want my breakfast baked beans served (also cold) in a dinky little pot on the side!! By this time we had both lost our appetites so settled for (cold) toast and marmalade and headed to reception to check out and argue the toss over the cost of the breakfast. As it happened they were so inefficient that by mistake they charged us for a continental breakfast, which wasn't cheap either, but we settled for that just to get out of the place.

In summary, we might consider taking a room at this hotel again (if the price was right, as last time) as the room facilities and location were very good, but we would NEVER again eat or drink there... we ended up feeling very sorry for the staff, as they were mainly young and pleasant, but had been given no training at all and seemed to have to cope with procedures which made it impossible for them to do a good job. We also noticed that the restaurant staff had to struggle with large trays of plates and cups through heavy glass doors to the kitchen which they had to try and push open somehow - it seems the hotel was designed by someone who had no idea what it would be like for those who had to work in it!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vibart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Grange City Hotel
Grange City Hotel
#340 of 1,088 in London
2,680 reviews
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#214 of 1,088 in London
3,504 reviews
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel St. Paul's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Crowne Plaza London - The City
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Bloomsbury
Grange Holborn Hotel
Grange Holborn Hotel
#390 of 1,088 in London
2,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange St. Paul's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange St. Paul's Hotel

Property: Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Address: 10 Godliman Street, London EC4V 5AJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#60 Spa Hotel in London
#170 Romantic Hotel in London
#223 Business Hotel in London
#232 Luxury Hotel in London
#267 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grange St. Paul's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a sophisticated blend of contemporary style and modern flair, the stunning Grange St. Paul’s Hotel sets new standards for luxury and elegance. Perfectly located in the heart of the City’s financial district yet just moments from the myriad delights of London’s renowned West End, the Grange St. Paul’s provides a perfect venue for any visit to the capital. Deluxe bedrooms and suites provide the ultimate in understated elegance and luxury, whilst a spectacular glass Atrium holds an unrivalled selection of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grange St. Paul's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange St Pauls Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing