We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grange St. Paul's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Ranked #321 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Stayed 14th March 2014 for 1 night. When we arrived the wait to check in was too long. The hotel was clean & very busy. The room was nice but the view out of the window was a busy office & unless we drew the curtains it was not private enough & too close to the building opposite which is offices above cafe rouge. The bed was comfy & bathroom facilities very nice. There is the usual of choice for breakfast, the food tasted average. We had food in the bar also which was nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank So L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,779
    1,368
    528
    215
    134
See reviews for
479
1,714
153
1,023
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (767)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
92 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Unfortunately this hotel hasn't really improved since my previous visits. It's just a big hotel in the middle of London with staff who do the job but don't add value to the guest.

During my last stay, which was split due to a trip to Europe I stayed in two different rooms. The first in the new wing over the road was a bit better the second room to me was poor. The wifi is overtly expensive and spotty, my second room had virtually no reception in the room despite there being a repeater outside the room, there was no mobile phone coverage in the room and the room had an unpleasant odor.

I was also surprised how busy the gym was, don't expect to get on a machine between 0700 and 0830, sleep in.

I asked the staff to post three letters all with stamps, none arrived, this was probably the most annoying as they were payments for accounts that went overdue. Surely if a guest asks for a letter to be posted it should be considered posted??

Unfortunately I have to go back again shortly and I am not really looking forward to it, over priced, average staff, expensive poor wifi and depending on the room no mobile reception.

Rooms themselves are generally nice, beds comfortable and bathroom facilities clean.

Room Tip: If you need mobile reception then ask for an outside room, if you need internet make sure they give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pugwash73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

A lot has been said that I don't want to repeat because on the whole it's pretty spot on so here's a few comments to give my point of view.

This hotel isn't a great hotel, it's good and in some areas it's excellent but certain things bring it right down.

For an old building they've somehow managed to rip the soul out of it, at first it looks flash and spacious but then it starts to feel cold, corporate and basically lacking any charm or warmth.

Service is pretty good on the whole but as other have said, you might hit language problems which is crazy when your in your own country!

The previous comment about it being full of drunken city boys was 100% right for one night of our three nights stay, it felt uncomfortable walking into our own hotel.

Our other issue was with the concierge, a guy who seemed unwilling to do anything to help unless it was for something big, presumably so he would get a tip.
He sat there doing nothing but said he couldn't help us when we asked if he could organise us a mini bus for our large group.
The doorman was excellent and helped us most days but rushed off his feet so we had to go hunting for one on the streets in the end.

The only other thing that slightly bugged me was the price of drinks at the bar, it was extortionate and although you expect it to be high in London wouldn't it be nice to feel as though your not being ripped off for a change?

Good location, nice rooms and all that but the points above will be the things I remember the most about this hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Obzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a 2 night break. Very impressed! Wonderful warm welcome on reception and from the concierge. Hotel room was spotless and spacious overlooking the main atrium. The room was up to date and stylish and very comfortable. Spa facilities were lovely, nice relaxing jacuzzi and a good sized pool. We had lunch in the hotel which was delicious and the breakfast offered a good selection. Only draw back was the breakfast seating was so closely packed together it was difficult to negotiate your way to the buffet. All in all, exceptional, I would stay here again in a flash and would recommend to anyone wanting a comfortable, relaxed stay in the city.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Foodie1976heaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

I stayed here with my wife in September for two nights on the end of a longer trip that took us to other parts of England. The location directly across from St. Paul's and adjacent to the Millenium Bridge was perfect for getting around on either side of the Thames. The hotel itself is very nice, with a larger room than I expected to find in London, including a bathroom that had both a soaking tub and a very spacious stand up shower. The pool facilities at the hotel included a large lap pool as well as a dry sauna, a steam room, and a whirlpool tub. The staff were extremely helpful. Overall, the experience was of staying at a hotel that I would have expected to cost several times more than what we paid. We were extremely satisfied.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

I stayed at the Grange St. Paul's for 1 night during the week, without using too much of the hotel's facilities, unfortunately.

The hotel is stylish and modern, the bar area cool, the location great.

The staff is friendly and helpful, check-in and check-out was quick and easy. I did not have time to have breakfast, but it looked great!

The room was nice, clean and spacious enough, the bathroom contained a tub and shower, just the amenities could have been nicer (they were from their own brand/no name).

All in all an expensive hotel (unless you get a good deal!), but perfect for a business trip when you need to be staying in The City close to the businesses there.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank supergirl_munich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stayed for a few nights on a London getaway with the other half. Ended up booking in for a couple of additional nights as we were enjoying our city break so much, and chose to continue staying at Grange St. Paul's instead of trying a new hotel.

Our room was clean, well fitted, quiet and comfortable; I couldn't fault it. We had a room high up overlooking the central area. The location of the hotel is excellent, right between St. Paul's and the river. We ate at the hotel restaurant once and it was okay, but when there's such a variety of really great restaurants in close proximity I can see why they stick to relatively standard fare - I imagine most diners wanting something a bit special wouldn't be eating in the hotel anyway.

Spa facilities were enjoyed by the other half (she went for a massage). Staff on the whole seemed amenable and the price was acceptable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank radiatingeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Grange City Hotel
Grange City Hotel
#345 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,644 reviews
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#211 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,458 reviews
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel St. Paul's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Crowne Plaza London - The City
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Bloomsbury
Grange Holborn Hotel
Grange Holborn Hotel
#388 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange St. Paul's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange St. Paul's Hotel

Property: Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Address: 10 Godliman Street, London EC4V 5AJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#59 Spa Hotel in London
#170 Romantic Hotel in London
#223 Business Hotel in London
#231 Luxury Hotel in London
#267 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grange St. Paul's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a sophisticated blend of contemporary style and modern flair, the stunning Grange St. Paul’s Hotel sets new standards for luxury and elegance. Perfectly located in the heart of the City’s financial district yet just moments from the myriad delights of London’s renowned West End, the Grange St. Paul’s provides a perfect venue for any visit to the capital. Deluxe bedrooms and suites provide the ultimate in understated elegance and luxury, whilst a spectacular glass Atrium holds an unrivalled selection of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Grange St. Paul's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange St Pauls Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing