We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware Sneaky Hotel VAT Sting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Ranked #322 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Beware Sneaky Hotel VAT Sting”
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Avoid.
Booked hotel, told rate was £305 for the night.
Email confirmation confirmed rate, at top of confirmation:
Room rate per night: 14 May 2011 305 GBP.
Yet on arrival, immediately told the rate is £366 INCLUDING VAT.
Never mentioned before, this extra charge is buried in confirmation email, deliberately away from the main details in bold.
It's a cheap, underhand sting.

Other negatives: room service orders mucked up, no requested Sunday paper delivered, just TWO bathroom towels in room when a family of FOUR is staying, stained tablecloth at breakfast, poor continental breakfast choice.

Most rooms look inwards at atrium style interior, so everyone can see into your room, plus walkways outside your window, too.

Curtains have to be drawn all the time, so no natural light. Beds and pillows hard.

Also, first hotel I've stayed in in England where none of the staff I came across were English.

Mentioned VAT extra added to the quoted price at reception and they couldn't have cared less.

Advice: stay somewhere else.

Not worth the money.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank benbLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,869
    1,439
    556
    227
    139
See reviews for
512
1,792
160
1,080
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (787)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2011

We have stayed now at a few of the Grange hotels and have generally found them welcoming, comfortable and value for money. This hotel is however exceptional for several reasons. The location is absolutely fantastic being pretty much as close to St Paul's as you could get with easy access into the centre and to the South Bank. The initial impact of the hotel is impressive with the glass fronted lifts. We paid for a double room with continental breakfast and got an superb deal. Our room had two double beds and was clean, quiet, warm and comfortable. We upgraded to English breakfast and had as good a breakfast as I've tasted at any hotel. The staff in the main were welcoming and helpful. If there was one criticism it was that the breakfast service was a little slow and staff were sometimes forgetful. We would like to say a special thank you to the operations manager, Benjamin Pires, who put himself out to correct our booking when we had mistakenly booked the wrong date. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone either on holiday or on business.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rael_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2011

1. We actually found the cheapest rate on the hotel website vs hotel.com etc - I can't remember exactly, think it was 110 pounds plus taxes which brought it up to about 140 pounds per night (?)
2. Skip option for breakfast upgrade - the continental breakfast is great. Our price included the continental breakfast and we wondered if we should upgrade to 'buffet' but don't bother - the continental is a buffet is plenty- hard boiled eggs, breads & pastries, cheeses, fruit, cereal, yogurts, juice, coffee tea etc the 'hot extras' you would pay more for are just a few things and not worth it
3. if no breakfast comes with it, there is nice inexpensive bistro next door
4. room very nice and clean - and just a little more expensive than rundown looking b&bs we were looking at near Victoria's station
5. location great for a quick visit - right next door to St Pauls, right at a stop for the on & off tour buses which is the way to go to get around London if you are learning and exploring it
6. there are also narrow alley streets with neighborhood pubs behind hotel
7. If you are a family there are several inexpensive but nice places to eat next door besides the bistro, a popular pizza place etc

Room Tip: found best rate on hotel website
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wendywendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

The Grange is modern, efficient and very comfortable and, we feel, it offers excellent value for money. It’s a great place to stay in a central London location.

Front of House service is truly excellent. The only thing we might fault is that aspects of room service were not as prompt or responsive as we might have expected. The room electronics, particularly the operation of the electrical “do not disturb” sign, were neither well explained nor that easy to use. But these are very small criticisms only. Overall, it’s a great place. We’d stay there again and recommend it to friends. Superb.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Larkins_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Stayed one night at the Grange St. Pauls with my daughter as part of a birthday treat for her. The hotel is modern, bright and airy. The foyer/ reception is impressive and beautifully designed. A lot of glass and chrome with a central glass enclosed elevator.
Reception staff bright and attentive.
Rooms modern and tastefully decorated. Comfortable beds. flat screen television. Usual tea/coffee making facilities. Everything as expected, although we unfotunately didnt have a room with a view of St. Pauls- which would have been a bonus.
Bathroom very clean and modern. One item worthy of note was the shower which had multiple jets at different heights! Very relaxing after a long day in the city. Room also had a separate bath.
Breakfast (included in our deal) was officially continental although that included freshly made omelettes and pancakes along with the usual toasts, rolls, pastries meats cheeses, cereals, yoghurts and fruit. A full english was available at a supplement.
The upstairs dining area was pleasant and although modern -had a very calm and relaxing traditional atmosphere.
Had chance to sample the leisure facilities before leaving as we requested a later checkout at reception( which was no trouble at all).
Staff at leisure club very helpful and friendly. You will need a pound coin for lockers which the fitness club cannot help with- so go prepared or change at guest sevices.
Good pool, small gym-sauna-steam room and aroma room and a very deep jacuzzi.
Word of warning- be careful as you enter the jacuzzi as it is deeper than standard with ledges that you cant see- so do use the ladder! All clean and stylish decor.
Left luggage facility available after checkout. Receptionist had remembered that it had been my daughters birthday and that we had planned to see The Wizard of Oz and she asked how it had all gone which I thought was commendable.
Overall -excellent modern hotel in a wonderful location. From St Pauls tube station you can reach anywhere in cental London really easily. Modern, stylish but relaxed and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnno1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

I loved my stay here, it was comfortable, cosy and clean! The hotel has everything you need, down to little bath robes and super comfy beds! It has a gym with a pool also so can get up for a little swim before breakfast. Really nice. Staff are lovely too.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lolipop177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

I Stayed at Grange St. Pauls Hotel for 1 night and thought it was a lovely hotel. All the staff were very friendly and if you like modern looking hotels then you'll love it here. The rooms were roomy and some nice touches - chocolates on arrival, iPod dock, floor to ceiling windows with good views, lovely big bathrooms and connectors to plug your 'stuff' into the TV! Unfortunately I didn't get chance to use the roof top bar or any of the health club - im sure it was equally as good though! I would highly recommend a stay here, you can also get some good rates on lastminutes "Secret Hotels".

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor to make the most of the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Djsban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel St. Paul's
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#226 of 1,069 in London
3,623 reviews
City of London
Grange City Hotel
Grange City Hotel
#345 of 1,069 in London
2,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Crowne Plaza London The City
Bloomsbury
Grange Holborn Hotel
Grange Holborn Hotel
#410 of 1,069 in London
2,130 reviews
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange St. Paul's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange St. Paul's Hotel

Property: Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Address: 10 Godliman Street, London EC4V 5AJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#61 Spa Hotel in London
#170 Romantic Hotel in London
#223 Business Hotel in London
#232 Luxury Hotel in London
#267 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grange St. Paul's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a sophisticated blend of contemporary style and modern flair, the stunning Grange St. Paul’s Hotel sets new standards for luxury and elegance. Perfectly located in the heart of the City’s financial district yet just moments from the myriad delights of London’s renowned West End, the Grange St. Paul’s provides a perfect venue for any visit to the capital. Deluxe bedrooms and suites provide the ultimate in understated elegance and luxury, whilst a spectacular glass Atrium holds an unrivalled selection of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grange St. Paul's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange St Pauls Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing