We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memories”
Review of The Cartoon Museum

The Cartoon Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.91*
and up
London Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Entry to Over 60 Attractions
Ranked #348 of 1,631 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Cartoon Museum is a small museum which shows a selection of original cartoon and comic art, and a very small amount of animation, mostly by British artists, from the 1750s to the present day. There are three galleries including one showing a changing temporary exhibition showing about 230 works which are densely hung. Please note the museum is totally self-funded, receiving NO money from government or local government. To enable as many people as possible to visit, reductions are available for students, concessions and it's totally free to under-18s, Art Fund members and Friends of the Museum. We are closed on Mondays but OPen BANK HOLIDAY MONDAYS. Closed over Christmas/New Year.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Memories”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

No need for a long visit, interesting reviews of cartoons and comics throughout the ages. Also depicts how advances in technology, global issues affect cartoons and comics. Brings back memories for all ages.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kevin1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    88
    30
    15
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Spitting image exhibition”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Really disappointed by the exhibition and the limited amount of actual puppets on actual display. The exhibition itself was very small and there were plenty of caricature drawings on display and yes it provided a little insight into the show’s backstory. HOWEVER for a program who's premier attraction was the caricatured puppets there were a mere 3 or so full size puppets and 1 or 2 heads behind glass and a handful of characters cluttered together behind glass in one irrelevant scene!

The exhibition advertised it's self for visitors to get an up-close look at the grotesque ‘characters’ themselves and a unique chance to see many of the puppets. Granted many of them were auctioned off some years ago...but really this felt like a half hearted attempt at an exhibition and myself and friend who left feeling that we could have spent our £14 joint entry fee elsewhere and got more value for money.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 123k8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartoonmuseum, Public Relations Manager at The Cartoon Museum, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
We are sad to hear that you were disappointed by the Spitting Image exhibition. The show came about after extensive research over many months with creators, writers, puppet makers, caricaturists and puppeteers and aimed to show how all the elements came together. On display there are 5 full puppets, as the vast majority of the puppets survive only as heads. This is because they were auctioned off as heads after the TV show ended. Unfortunately, many of the puppets were significantly deteriorated and not in good enough condition to display.

We are a completely self-funded charity, receiving no public or government funding, and therefore the admission fee and support of our Friends allows us to put on 3-4 exhibitions a year and a series of events and other activities. We hope your experience won't put you off returning to see another exhibition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iwade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

I first heard about this museum on Radio 2 and decided my boys would enjoy it. It is very small but currently has a Spitting Image exhibition which my eldest son and I really enjoyed. We had fun posing in front of the wobbly mirror and the boys liked taking time out in the busy city to do some drawing. My youngest was very happy to pick up a free graphic novel called "dreams of a low carbon future".... Pretty diverse for such a small museum. The shop is great both my boys found books they had to buy and I couldn't resist a mug! Children under 18 visit for free and students only pay £3 so we thought it was a bargain but at £7 for an adults regular ticket I would of considered that pricey. The man working in the shop/taking admission fees was very helpful and friendly and being right next door to Pizza Express and two minutes walk from the British Museum gave us very easy option for a perfect day out!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joolz1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Quiurky”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Small, nice museum which is a little off the beaten track. Has exhibitions which change regularly. Costs £5 to see an exhibit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bluebell047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A great find for a cartoon fan.”
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

A little hidden gem. Delightful and helpful staff. Great workshops for children in the holidays. Interesting exhibits dating from 17th century to 21st century. Loved the old comics, Bunty, Beano, Private Eye and all the Spitting Images models. Lots to see and a great shop.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank susan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cartoon Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Cartoon Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing