We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cartoon Museum.”
Review of The Cartoon Museum

The Cartoon Museum
Ranked #372 of 1,816 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Cartoon Museum is a small museum which shows a selection of original cartoon and comic art, and a very small amount of animation, mostly by British artists, from the 1750s to the present day. There are three galleries including one showing a changing temporary exhibition showing about 230 works which are densely hung. Please note the museum is totally self-funded, receiving NO money from government or local government. To enable as many people as possible to visit, reductions are available for students, concessions and it's totally free to under-18s, Art Fund members and Friends of the Museum. We are closed on Mondays but OPen BANK HOLIDAY MONDAYS. Closed over Christmas/New Year.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Although small, there's plenty to see for anyone interested in cartoon and caricature. Hopefully, the museum will expand over time; we certainly need a venue like this to capture the rich history of a sometimes neglected form of art.
On the down side, possibly a little bit too much "Spitting Image", and a coffee machine would be welcome, but otherwise I enjoyed my visit.

1  Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartoonmuseum, Public Relations Manager at The Cartoon Museum, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Hi Michael,

We are so glad you enjoyed the visit! And yes, like you, we would like the museum to expand and have some great future plans on how the organisation can grow. However, there are limitations - it is a small building and our collection and library is ever growing! And, we unfortunately don't own the building making it very difficult to provide the facilities that we think our visitor should have like a cafe or disabled access to the first floor. However, we will continue to provide the best service we can, and comments like yours are really valuable - so thank you!

We hope to see you here again soon.

All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"political cartoons"
in 16 reviews
"comic art"
in 8 reviews
"private eye"
in 5 reviews
"comic book"
in 5 reviews
"current exhibition"
in 6 reviews
"permanent display"
in 3 reviews
"laugh out loud"
in 3 reviews
"just round the corner"
in 3 reviews
"special exhibition"
in 4 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 6 reviews
"interesting place"
in 4 reviews
"gift shop"
in 6 reviews
"half term"
in 3 reviews
"free entry"
in 3 reviews
"beano"
in 25 reviews
"drawing"
in 25 reviews
"collection"
in 26 reviews
Filter

160 - 164 of 238 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Small, cramped, was more like a exhibition. boring would never go again even if you paid me!!!! it just seems like one type era and need more types of cartoons.
It's mainly based on spitting image which is a puppet show not a cartoon show

Thank John-moore-1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartoonmuseum, Public Relations Manager at The Cartoon Museum, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Hi John,

We are sorry you didn't enjoy your visit to our little museum. The Spitting Image exhibition uses one of our 3 gallery spaces. The other two tell the history of cartooning from the 18th century to the present day and the history of comics which began in the 1870s so covers a large number of years and we have artworks to show the developments - did you get to see these two spaces? We are small, and our collection is growing, so we try to change the artworks regularly.

The temporary exhibitions aim to focus in on particular aspects of cartooning. Satire and caricature are important elements of the artform and are used to great effect in the TV puppet show Spitting Image. The creators of the programme are also the cartoonists Peter Fluck and Roger Law, so have a particular connection with cartooning which is why we chose to put on this show.

All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Been here several times and the exhibitions are usually pretty good if it is something you are interested in. Spitting Image has a few puppets but the photos and texts are fascinating - a time capsule of political history in the 80's. There is a video running of some of the shows. Note this is uncensored so bear that in mind with children.
The rest of the exhibitions are fairly routine. There is a well stocked shop and area to practice drawing cartoons.
Toilet inside.
Small but worth a visit. Charge is to the museum, not just the special exhibitions.

Thank Teacake_Taster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartoonmuseum, Public Relations Manager at The Cartoon Museum, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Hi there,

We are thrilled that you have visited several times! Thank you very much. And thanks for your comments - they have been noted!

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I wasn't all that keen to come here but my 10 year old son had read about it somewhere and was clamouring to go so we squeezed it in after a full day in London. It was really very good - I thoroughly enjoyed the Spitting image exhibition and learning about the history of cartoons. It was quite a nostalgic experience. I wish we had had more time to look at everything. The cost is now £7 for adults, free for children. My son enjoyed doing a quiz/trail and drawing his own cartoons. The only downside was that it was very busy while we were there and because it's small it made it difficult to see everything.

Thank Foosbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartoonmuseum, Public Relations Manager at The Cartoon Museum, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Hi there,

Thanks for your comment - really kind of you! You are right - we are small and that can be difficult when we are busy, and it means that we cannot show as much as we would like. However, we have plans for the future so stay tuned!

All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2014

This was our first visit to this museum, primarily interested in the history of cartoons and to our delight, we visited when the Spitting Image exhibition was on. This is a fascinating exhibition and there are some of the "puppets" on display (Thatcher greets you with her icy stare) and the Queen and Diana are also there (well, the puppets are). The Queen's eyes seem to follow you around. There are great sketches and just so much to see. They also run Spitting Image programmes on a loop - very entertaining. Had forgotten just how good those programmes were and, just how much we miss them (and just think of the material they could use if they were still going today) - we really need Spitting Image to return to our screens.

It is a very small museum and you probably would need to have an interest in the history of satirical/political cartoons - it might also be useful to check the website to see what exhibition is on. It was nice to see some original comic strips on the upper level.

We will definitely visit this museum again - hopefully there will be some more of Bell and Rowson on display on our next visit!

1  Thank Nomadictravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cartoon Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Cartoon Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing