We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favourites...”
Review of The Cartoon Museum

The Cartoon Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$77.29*
and up
London Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Entry to Over 60 Attractions
Ranked #350 of 1,656 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Cartoon Museum is a small museum which shows a selection of original cartoon and comic art, and a very small amount of animation, mostly by British artists, from the 1750s to the present day. There are three galleries including one showing a changing temporary exhibition showing about 230 works which are densely hung. Please note the museum is totally self-funded, receiving NO money from government or local government. To enable as many people as possible to visit, reductions are available for students, concessions and it's totally free to under-18s, Art Fund members and Friends of the Museum. We are closed on Mondays but OPen BANK HOLIDAY MONDAYS. Closed over Christmas/New Year.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One of my favourites...”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Part of the joy of London is the many small museums that can be found - from the Sir John Soane collection in Lincoln's Inn to the William Morris Gallery out in Walthamstow - small enough to be enjoyed in a single visit and with an individual perspective on their subject - if you really enjoy cartoons and the people who create them you will enjoy this museum notwithstanding some of the other reviews which appear here. It is not a museum of children's cartoons, although the greats have their place, it is a British cartoon museum and is in Britain where cartoons originated - so don't expect Superhero's in profusion. You will laugh if you take the time to actually read and look at the cartoons. I suspect you will enjoy it even more if you are aware of the history of cartoons as the upper gallery just doesn't have enough space to provide more than a glance at the rich history of this quite British subject. I will freely admit to having just become a friend of the gallery and for the first time today went into the area reserved for children's courses (because there were no children there today) - clearly the children's courses produce some very good work. Yes there are volunteers who are asked to ask how you heard of the museum, and will provide further assistance if you need it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulinderwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    91
    30
    15
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Not as good as it sounds”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I was a little disappointed with the cartoon museum and I expected to enjoy it a lot more. There is a small fee to pay for adults but its completely free for under 18’s. There is a sign in the museum which is pretty much a plea for people to make donations, but surely the museum is losing out on money by not charging under 18’s for entry…..after all the majority of people who enjoy cartoons are under 18. There was a member of staff walking round on the ground floor who I found rather irritating, and his presence made me feel uncomfortable as he was just lurking and kept trying to talk to everyone but I could see others were trying to blank him out too. The museum had two floors and there really isn’t much to see besides a gallery of cartoons and a bunch of Beano magazines on the top floor.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RorysReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Fun for "Beano" fans”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

If your children are fans of The Beano then this is a friendly and relaxed haven. Many back copies of British comics are available to read, including the now-defunct "Dandy". The display upstairs shows the history of British comics and artists. You can see how Dennis the Menace has changed over the years as various artists have drawn him. Children go free and adults at GBP5.50. It's a small museum though, and they sometimes have exhibitions on the ground floor. At the time of writing they have a Ralph Steadman exhibition of his life and work - that's pretty interesting if you like his work. They have luggage lockers for customers, which might be useful if you want to visit the British Museum next door, and a disabled toilet.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank VikingMen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hmmm Yorkshire lasses and art....”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I think we were expecting something different, i.e. more like the cartoon picture of the queen that advertises this place but found the art work quiet dark and depressing... However I will admit we aren't the arty types.

Not sure of the cost as it was covered by the London pass and to be honest I wouldn't have been paid to go in. We wouldn't go again but worth visiting if you are in the area and you have the pass and need to waste 30 mins

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good half-hour diversion”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is a small gallery of less than 300 square metres: a couple of rooms across a couple of levels. Upstairs showcases their permanent exhibition while downstairs changes a couple of times a year.

I happened to catch the Ralph Steadman exhibition and I quite enjoyed the caricatures of renowned figures, and his work with Hunter S Thompson.

The owners of the museum were amiable and interested to know how visitors came across their museum. I hope the small entry fee goes towards acquiring more work from the turn-of-the-century, or even earlier, informing on cartoonery's role across the generations, and certainly beyond syndicated newspaper comic strips.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cartoon Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Cartoon Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing