We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Richard Ward”

Richard Ward Hair and Metrospa
Ranked #27 of 327 Spas & Wellness in London
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The SALON Richard’s uber-cool award-winning Sloane Square salon plays host to a team of over 90 expert staff, looking after the hair and beauty needs of over 1,200 clients per week. Past winner of Hair Magazine’s London Salon of the Year, the salon has been described as ‘leisurely and luxurious yet unpretentious’ and is home to over 170 innovative hair and beauty treatments; Metrospa, the salon’s unique brand of city day spa, is a state-of-the-art pampering zone featuring expert therapists and our exclusive CARITA range. Richard’s unique team has been dubbed by Vogue Magazine as ‘obsessional about that elusive personal touch’ in his ‘spectacularly sunny, cleverly sectioned space’, likening the salon’s floor manager Gavin to a maitre’d at The Ivy. Italian Vanity Fair describes Richard Ward Hair & Metrospa one of the most ‘ultra-glamour salons’ not only in Europe but world-wide.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Richard Ward”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I too felt I had to respond to the negative reviews. I would highly recommend this Salon the staff are polite and professional. If you have an issue /problem, Gavin is always around to discuss this with you. I have tried other salons but return to Richard Ward.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank trip07London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin H, Manager at Richard Ward Hair and Metrospa, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us such a favourable review, it's good to hear we are getting it right for you and yes I am always around if you need me.
Thank you
Gavin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    1
    1
    8
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I started using Richard Ward in 2001. The service was of a very high standard,the salon had a really friendly buzz but more importantly the hair amazing.
Recently ,I returned after living overseas for a while. David who always colored my hair was as fantastic as ever. However,there was absolutely no customer service once I was out of his hands. I endured a fifteen minute wait at the basin whilst a blow dry was slotted in ,then I was given a quick restyle ,cut and blow dry which took all of twenty five minutes.
I left the salon with a fabulous head of color but a terrible cut which does not suit my hair type. After paying the bill of £360 (without a thank you or goodbye),I am reluctant to return.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Rosie20London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gavin h, Manager at Richard Ward Hair and Metrospa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Rosie20london,
I am really sorry you have had such a negative experience during your visit with us. It is such a shame as you are obviously still very pleased with David's technical skills but we seem to have let you down with the rest of your visit.
Not knowing the circumstances and who actually cut your hair I cannot really comment except to say that we have a team of 24 hair stylists and all of them work at varying speed and pace, some stylist will always take an hour for a cut and blow dry while others are much quicker but either way this is still not an excuse for you being unhappy with the end result. If you would like to contact me directly I would be more than happy to have you come back in to the salon to have your cut tweaked or re-cut if that is what is needed to get your style to a place that you are happy with it.
I hope you will believe me when I say that bad service is not the norm for the team at salon, we pride ourselves of our high level of customer service so I can only apologise and hope you will give us the opportunity to prove this to you in the future.
Gavin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Kate Middleton hype but unfortunately mediocre!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have now given on Richard Ward habit because I am convinced they really aren't very good. Having asked to get my hair lightened (a reasonable request!) startiing in January 2012 in the space of 12 months I saw 4 different colourists who moved between highlights, lowlights and then a full tint. The effect after a year of treatments every month was a head of hair that resembled straw both in colour and texture. I finally gave up as I was paying around £150 an appointment in the hope that they would eventually sort out the colour - they didn't. In desperation I decided to go to another salon Daniel Galvin - who said my hair was so damaged that all they could only put an organic colour on it to take some of the yellow away until it grew out! This will take years as I have very hair!! I am now left with a mousey brown colour which has cost me 000's. It's a real shame that salons like Richard Ward simply get hyped up because a few 'celebs' go there - and that regular customers like me simply get a rush in rush out job! I live only a few streets away and was really hoping that this could be my local salon however they simply don't seen to have colouring skills! Perhaps their haircuts are better but I am not going to risk it!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank posh_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gavin h, Manager at Richard Ward Hair and Metrospa, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Posh Traveller, it is unfathomable to me that you have been such a loyal client to us yet it would appear in your review you have never been happy with the end result of your colour. The technical team pride themselves on their in-depth consultation skills and extra time is always allocated for new clients or if an existing client requests it, we use visual aids such as colour charts and are very happy to use the department expertise in tandem consults so I am at a loss as to why on four occasions the colour was still not to your liking and yet I have not been made aware of your dissatisfaction until your review. It is very easy for other hairdressing salons to try to discredit the work of their competitors as it's in their interest, I am saddened but not surprised by a rivals negative comments.
We value all clients at Richard Ward whether they be a celebrity, a city worker, a mum or indeed my Grandmother, an industry such as ours would not sustain if this was not the case. Our clients are our life blood of our business and all are extended the same level of time, professional-ism and customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I literally never leave reviews but felt compelled to as I was so confused at the rest of the reviews on here. I have genuinely gone to about ten different top hairdressers in london hunting for the perfect blonde that wasn't too expensive to upkeep. Richard ward has worked an absolute miracle on my hair and they will now be my regular hairdresser. The atmosphere and service is fantastic, the staff are so so friendly and I would highly recommend to any one xxxx

Helpful?
1 Thank Millieonair13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gavin h, Manager at Richard Ward Hair and Metrospa, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Millieonair,

Thank you for such positive feedback it is always good to hear.
Unfortunately many reviewers do not give us the opportunity to sort out issues or correct something we are doing wrong. All reviews can be constructive to our business as we are always looking as to how we can improve things but at the end of the day it is always lovely to hear when we are also getting it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Truly awful haircut”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I had the haircut in March this year as a birthday treat and only remembered now when I saw a bank statement. Paid over £90 for the worst haircut in my life. The stylist was Ashleigh and I can safely say based on the haircut she gave me that she knows nothing about how to choose the best haircut for the type of hair and shape of the face, or about how to actually cut the hair so it doesn't look like a messy, unkempt mop as soon as it's washed. I can't express how disappointed I was when I washed it the following day and saw the result. I really wished I hadn't done anything to it especially not before my 30th birthday weekend.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank Gemma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gavin h, Manager at Richard Ward Hair and Metrospa, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
I am so sorry to see that Gemma S left unhappy with her haircut, we pride ourselves at Richard Ward for our consultation skills and customer service. I would always encourage feed back either in person or via email, as some clients can find it hard to express they are unhappy face to face.
I wish Gemma had let me know at the time or over the following week when we would have had some options open to us. Not seeing the finished haircut it is hard to comment but as a manager I would always encourage a client to let me know if they are unhappy, give us the chance to correct or improve on what you felt was not a good end result.
I am sorry that Ashleigh appears to have got it so wrong on this occasion this is not the norm for her as a very loyal following could testify.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Richard Ward Hair and Metrospa also viewed

 

Been to Richard Ward Hair and Metrospa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing