We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What A Farce, Stay Away At All Cost”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Excelsior Hotel London
Ranked #374 of 566 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 24, 2007

I stayed at this hotel, all i can say is never again, booked to stay in the excelsior as shown on thier web site, ended up staying in another hotel owned by the same company,
tiny room with low ceiling, dirty carpet, tiny shower, and dirty as well, all there ever seem to be for staff was a night porter who was difficult, rude, and didnt seem to care for the customer.
you are given one towel, which is of poor quality and quite small in size.
i asked for a fresh one, finaly manged to obtain one 2 hours after i had asked for one, asked if i could have two, was refused because i was staying in a single room.
didnt feel safe leaving personal property in the room as the lock on the door was sub standard. when i made a complaint with regards to being given a different hotel to the one i had booked and seen on the internet, my response was a case of get what your given.
the bedding was clean, but the bed was very uncomftable.
if you want a cheap hotel for the night, my advice is stay away.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cheesecakechops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 458 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2007

We stayed in a quin room (15) at the Excelsior on a Friday night. We simply needed somewher to stay in London that would take all of us, as we were seeing a show and having dinner in the city. The Excelsior fitted the bill perfectly. It was clean, £150 for the night (between 5!) and in possibly the most convenient location in the world - right opposite Kings X. Staff were very pleasant. Having to check in 2 doors down was no problem - the walk really was very short. Breakfast is across the street, a little less convenient, and is fine just to fill up (on toast, or cereal) before heading back. Minor criticisms - the 5 polystyrene cups on the welcome tray were bizarre - just buy some cups! Also, no hand or hair towels, just the one for all purposes. Finally, you might need to sit sideways in the toilet if you're over five foot. However, this does not detract from what is a value for money, pleasant little place for a night or two.

Stayed: February 2007
2  Thank RPCandCJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2007

I have been their 2 times. I booked also with laterooms.com.
I have seen 3 different rooms and they all looked the same renovated style.
Last time we had a four bedroom one madress was really old the other one was fine. One light on the floor was damaged. The washbasin was to tiny to brush my teath. I had to use the bathtube.
All in all not as clean then the last time in Sept. 2005.
The price was really cheap less then a youthhostel.
I would recommend this hotel If you do not want pay to much and just need a passably clean room close to the underground. Breakfast is just a toast with jam and a cup of coffee or tea. Just sleep in and miss breakfast (:

Stayed: December 2006
2  Thank MaditaGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2006

BE VERY CAREFUL ABOUT BOOKING A ROOM! The hotel had a listing on Laterooms.com for a new one bedroom apartment they were renting for a really good rate. CALL THEM DIRECTLY IF YOU SEE THAT LISTING AND ASK SPECIFICALLY IF IT IS READY. I called them directly to confirm the booking (made in early October for a November stay and was told everything was ready - HAH) Since my family was staying in London for 9 days, I leapt at the chance for the kitchen and extra room. However, when I arrived, they told me the apartment was still being remodeled. THEY SHOULD HAVE SAID SOMETHING ABOUT THIS IN OCTOBER. Supposedly it would be ready in a day or two. 8 days later, no progress at all. I was offered the choice of two other rooms (like they knew I would need an alternate choice?) and I took a "quad" (ie an american double) for 10 pounds less a night than my original booking. It was newly remodeled and attractive, but NOT an apartment (it was a very very tight fit for three of us). The manager offered me access to the staff kitchen to make up for my "new" room, but when I went to use the kitchen to chill some leftovers from dinner, I found that there was NO refrigerator (that, I found out, was in the manager's office and locked at 10:00 pm).

So I was very frustrated in a variety of ways. When I left (making one final complaint), they said the apartment would not be ready until Jan or Feb - a bit of a difference than what they told me when I checked in! I understand construction delays, but they shouldn't book a room they don't have yet!

If you plan to stay at the Excelsior, room 16 seems to be the best: clean and quiet. It just wasn't the apartment I was promised.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nomoregoodnames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2006

I booked this hotel via Laterooms.com and it was rated 4 star (how I will never know) The room was fine - small, plain but very clean. Location was excellent (2 mins Kings Cross) but for breakfast you have to go to another hotel, down steep stairs and queue to get into a tiny canteen area with only 3 tables & chairs. This alone would prevent me from using this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheekytuckers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2006

Having Booked The hotel Via an internet website i then stumbled across Tripadvisor and read some of the worst reviews i've ever seen. The reviews were for both albion house and the excelsior hotel. All leading up to my stay i was worried sick about the horrible reviews i had read!
My patner and myself had booked a trip to london purely for shopping and didnt want a luxury hotel, we just wanted a clean, modern and central hotel which would allow us to easily access central London, and this is what we got.
We arrived at the Excelsior hotel about 9pm and checked in two hotels down at the 'sister' hotel, i was expecting this as we had read this is what to do on the internet! The man that checked us in want english but the language barrier didnt cause us any problems and I filled in a check in form and then the man showed us to our hotel. We were on the top floor and there were no lifts - this could cause problems for others but we were able to climb the stairs without trouble and i was pleasantly suprised when we entered our room!
The Room was just as it was on the picture on the internet. the towels and bedding were spotless and the tv in perfect working order (not at all like i had read in many reviews)!!
The bathroom was tiny, it was more like a wet room but for our 2 night stay it was perfectly fine and the following day the bed had been made and towels changed. The room was v.hot however but a fan was provided and this resolved the problem.
Our room overlooked a quiet square and was a 3 min walk to the tube/train station. Nearby were various different restaurants/take aways and one stop on the tube away was 'Angel' with even more restaurants and bars!!
Braekfast was basic, 2 slices of toast each, cereal and fruit, but I wasnt expecting much more and it was an adequat start to the day.
When we left the excelsior hotel to return to Yorkshire we actually missed our bus home and had to stay in 'victoria' in London, we checked into a B&B and it was the most disgusting and vile place i have ever stayed which put our nice stay at the excelsior into perspective, i would have done anything to have been staying there our extra night!
The Excelsior was overall a very pleasant place to stay and they were even v.understanding when i had problems making final payment because of my card being lost. They let me pay at a later date when i explained my situation.
I would not hesitate to stay at the Excelsior/Albion house again, in fact i think i will on our next trip to London!!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank auralay21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Marco F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Hotel Melville
Hotel Melville
#837 of 1,076 in London
444 reviews
Bloomsbury
Albion House Hotel
Albion House Hotel
#940 of 1,076 in London
292 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Meridiana
Hotel Meridiana
#83 of 566 in London
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#31 of 566 in London
232 reviews
Bloomsbury
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#98 of 566 in London
589 reviews
Bloomsbury
Macdonald Hotel
Macdonald Hotel
#44 of 566 in London
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Hotel London

Address: 41 &42 Argyle Square, London WC1H 8AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #374 of 566 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $79 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Excelsior Hotel London 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished B&B budget hotel located in Kings Cross about two minutes from St Pancras International and Kings Cross station.En suite rooms and free wifi offered in the bedroooms. We offer most importantly clean and affordable rooms in the heart of London. A truly Modern B & B hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Excelsior Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing