We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Excelsior Hotel London
Ranked #377 of 571 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I have stayed here many times and found it clean and comfortable (and affordable). However, this time was a farce. After moving three times because the TV didn't work, even then the remotes didn't work. No real pology for all the inconveniences and moves. Even then the room had faults. The keetle idn't ork and the knobs off the lights were missing. Smaller things perhaps, but a sign that they are missing the details and becoming somewaht compacent.
I will think twice before using them again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Excelsior Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Guest

I have since contacted you directly and offered you a free upgrade to one of our superior rooms next time you stay with us . Im sorry things weren't as up to our usual standard and this was your worst stay. You have stayed with us many times and have been happy with our hotel yet never once wrote a review of these positive stays with us …. - I suppose thats there nature of review sites.

We have since made all the improvements to the basic rooms - changed all broken kettles and replaced the Tvs that aren't working properly.

We hope to do better next time and hopefully you will find the time ti share this experience also.

Thanks again

Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (460)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 460 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2013

I cannot understand the negative comments. 6 of us stayed for nearly 3 weeks in the hotel and the apartments. The place is spotless (which cannot be said for many hotels in London) and the staff are friendly,polite, and are available 24hrs a day. The owner Patrick is the most hands on I have come across in London and will bend over backwards to help with any requests you may have. The Internet (free WIFI ) is very fast, so streaming music and video is no problem. Every room has a flat screen TV, Tea,Coffee and other essentials.Those that say about noise? , your in central London not the Cotswolds so you have to expect some, saying that we had no problem at all with noise. We had to go on nights in the final week and Patrick found us rooms at the base of the hotel where we heard no noise whatsoever. I would have no hesitation recommending any of the 3 hotels they have and I will be using them every time we go to London.

Room Tip: Tell Patrick your needs and he will help you out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cliff t t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Excelsior Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Sir

Thanks for your review !

Appreciate your feedback and candid comments ( not the Cotswolds ! )

Thanks again

Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here last year for two nights. We were greeted by a friendly gentleman in a nice reception area. Our room was small and tired looking, had a double bed, a small but working tv and internet. It had barely enough room to move around. We also had to share a bathroom with the other guests which I didn't mind. The bed was comfortable and the hotel was on a quiet street so we had a good night sleep. We did book breakfast but we didn't eat it so I can't comment on it. We were able to leave our luggage behind, which was nice.

Overall: excellent location but it's overpriced; I know it's London and everything's expensive!
We wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Jaelei17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Excelsior Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Guest

Thanks for your positive feedback and candid comments

our rooms are small and so is our price .. You have to remember you are in central London and space is very limited . All our room sizes are listed on our website . We want you to be well informed before you decide to book with us.

Thanks again

Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights at this hotel which is very close to St Pancras station and on a quiet street. The room was very small, bathroom very dated and our room was in the basement you could hear every movement on the floor above.

The shower had hardly any water pressure and bathroom was very cold.

We did get freeview and a safe which was useful. There was a kettle and a couple of tea bags but hardly any room to actually make tea...

Overall we managed because we were only there for two nights but it wasn't very comfortable with hardly room to even stand. I would avoid if you are looking for a hotel which you could relax in.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Gemini295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Excelsior Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Guest

Thanks for your review and time taken to give us feedback

As a result and after some consideration all rooms on the ground floor have now been carpeted and the laminate flooring removed. This has now stopped the noise coming down to the basement rooms .

We are listening and trying to improve all the time

Manager

Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

First of all, we had to pay to leave our bags since our room was not ready. The receptionist couldn't have been more rude. Then we were sent up to our room in which neither the blowdryer nor the fan worked. We then were woken up every morning by construction but once by the room service who came to clean at 8... seems a bit early. I would highly advise to spend a bit more money and go somewhere worth your while. It was an okay location but it was very pricey.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the street-very loud and a ton of construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KJB819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Excelsior Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Guest

Thanks for your review

We can certainly look into the issues that you have raised.

It seems a slight exaggeration on your behalf in that the cleaning team came to your room at 8 am. They don't arrive until 930 am every morning. They usually start cleaning the rooms at 10 am after setting up for their duties .

We do not charge for bag drop on arrival only £1 per bag on departure - once you are issued with a ticket/ receipt for your bag.

Our rates are well below the par for Central London - We charge on average around £30 per person net . All rates inclusive of 20 % VAT. We are very competitively priced.

If there is anything you need while you are please ask and we can provide it for you ; we have 24 hr staff on hand every day.

Thanks for your e mail

Manager
Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the "family apartment" which is basically a dodgy top floor flat across the road.
We arrived at the reception which looked very appealing so we were expecting to have a good night stay.
But when we were shown to the flat we were appalled to find out what we had spent our money one.
The apartment looks like a student bed-sit. The quality of the furniture is cheap and nasty and the decor looks like Stevie wonder decorated it....it not a good example of a hotel especially when items like bathroom taps look like they have never been cleaned (covered in lime scale)
If you are planning to stay at this hotel, make sure you find out in advanced what room you will be having, or just book a Travelodge and be done with it.

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank jh999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Excelsior Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Guest

We do appreciate your feedback and candid comments.

We pride ourselves on cleanliness and making sure every single room is spotless. We regular inspect our cleaning staff and make sure they are doing their jobs properly. If there is anything not up to standard please tell us straight away and keep can put it right or offer you an alternative or possible upgrade.

We spend a lot of time and care in preparing and maintaining our rooms .

Thanks again for your review

Manager

Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Just needed a bed in London for the night, booked the cheapest available, and was pleasantly surprised..eventually, after I found the hotel which is actually in the adjacent street to the address!
The doorman took me 'next door' to the GF room at the back with a view into the courtyard. The room had 2 double beds and a tiny shower and WC but was very well decorated and was a very pleasant surprise. Beds comfortable, clean and tidy, I wasn't expecting quite so much for the money!

Room Tip: Couldn't fault the GF courtyard room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 29Lilymead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Excelsior Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Guest

Thanks for your review and positive comments.

We try to always offer competitive rates and clean accommodation.

We hope to see you again in the future

Manager

Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Albion House Hotel
Albion House Hotel
#949 of 1,077 in London
293 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Melville
Hotel Melville
#851 of 1,077 in London
449 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Meridiana
Hotel Meridiana
#78 of 571 in London
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
St. Athans Hotel
St. Athans Hotel
#36 of 571 in London
624 reviews
Bloomsbury
Macdonald Hotel
Macdonald Hotel
#47 of 571 in London
765 reviews
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#32 of 571 in London
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Hotel London

Address: 41 &42 Argyle Square, London WC1H 8AP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #377 of 571 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $77 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Excelsior Hotel London 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished B&B budget hotel located in Kings Cross about two minutes from St Pancras International and Kings Cross station.En suite rooms and free wifi offered in the bedroooms. We offer most importantly clean and affordable rooms in the heart of London. A truly Modern B & B hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Excelsior Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing