We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apartment, just what we needed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Excelsior Hotel London
Ranked #380 of 579 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Hi this was very handy being situated at Kings Cross, only 5-10 min to tube and train station which was ideal for the sight seeing we intended on doing. We stayed in a 6 Person Apartment it was on the top floor so a few stairs but it burned off the calories!!!

Enough space for what we needed although once the sofa bed was pulled out in the living room it was a very tight squeeze, but for how long we were in the apartment it didn't matter too much. Room was very clean and reception were very helpful even cariied luggage up to the apartment, which was across the road in a different building, they were always on hand with for any help, would defo stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor room, lots of stairs but a nicer apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joibiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Excelsior Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Guest

Thanks for your review

We appreciate your positive feedback

Many thanks

Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (479)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 479 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

This hotel was in a great location near Kings Cross and St Pancras Station. The room was clean and functional. Breakfast was okay and the staff were polite.
Not a bad stay, wouldn't rave about it, but for one night it was fine.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Excelsior Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your review and your positive feedback

We are always looking for ways to improve and are always listening to our customers

Manager

Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in a flat of Excelsior Hotel.

We are a family with 2 children 8 and 10, and we wanted to have the possibility to have breakfast and dinner in the flat.
Unfortunatley when we arrived there were no chairs at all in the apartment and only a very low coffee table !
Further to our request we get 2 chairs. But still not confortable at all to have dinner !

Bedrooms are small but OK if you are fine with carpet not so new...
The windows have conserved their traditional but old wood structure that let wind enters freely in the flat !
We could hear and know very well what was going on in the street, two floors below....

Another surprise : we need to pay 2% extra fee for payment by Credit Card !
This was not mentionned in the reservation confirmation.
All payment have been asked beforehand.

We have only appreciated the location nearby King's cross Station.

The price paid is too high for the quality.
But this seems to be common in London....

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Machin92140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Excelsior Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Guest

Thanks for your review

We were able to get you 2 extra chairs for the apartment - which meant you had 4 chairs for 4 people - which would be sufficient. There is also a couch so there is possibility of sitting there and there is also a coffee table. This may not be ideal however it is a solution. Then flat is not extremely large bit it is ideal for a small family wanting to be in Central London and having your own privacy instead of being in the hotel building itself. It is supposed to be a base for a few nights.

The streets below can be noisy on a Saturday night for a few hours - but this can happen in the center of a big city. We can not double glaze the windows as they are a conservation issue. We have to keep the original structure.

All confirmations from our website and prior to booing have the information about credit card fees - please read this carefully

We will look into these issues and try to fix any of the problems that we can

Manager

Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

On arrival this hotel looked lovely, the staff were helpful & friendly if not a little bit forgetful ( as we asked for extra pillows but they forgot.) we were showed to our room which was a room for 5 people, it was nice & spacious & had a well equipped bathroom that was clean, (the shower worked well which is always a bonus) the room itself could have just done with a little bit of TLC, the beds were not very comfy but the sheets were clean but well used. You hear a fair bit of noise from outside & other rooms. Overall experience average as we only used the room to sleep in, probably wouldn't stay again but not too bad for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mizzle12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Excelsior Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Guest

Thanks for your review

We thank you for you positive comments - We really make an effort to be as helpful as possible.

You also mentioned that the room was spacious and clean .

Many thanks for this-

Our sheets are delivered fresh every day from our professional laundry company . If you are not happy with anything please let us know and we will put it right immediately

We actually left the extra pillows in the cupboard for you ! Perhaps on the bed would have better in hindsight...

Many thanks

Manager

Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 1 night and found it good value for money in a very convenient area.. Although the rooms were compact unless you plan on staying in we found them adequate with lovely clean bedding and thick fluffy white towels. The staff were very helpful and an absolute credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Excelsior Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Guest

We thank you for your review and really positive comments.

We are really happy that your experience was a good one ; we will keep working hard and hope to see you again in the future.

Many thanks

Manager

Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We were booked to stay one night at the Albion House hotel, one of the Excelsior's nearby sister hotels. When we arrived, we were informed that our en-suite room in the Albion House was unavailable due to a flood, and that we would need to be moved to another room that did not have an en-suite bathroom, which turned out to be in the Excelsior Hotel. We were immediately refunded 20 pounds to match the decreased room rate.

Although we understood the situation, we were a bit disappointed with the room we did get. The room was tiny, which was not surprising (we chose the hotel more for the location near St Pancras rather than luxuriousness) but there was also not much else appealing about it - stuffy, no decor, uncomfortable mattress, etc. and of course the bathroom and shower were across the hall. This contributed to us feeling somewhat let down about our experience. We understand the realities of staying in a budget hotel in downtown London but didn't feel like we received the best customer service.

When we tried to discuss this with the manager the next morning, he immediately became very defensive and rather argumentative, which was surprising and unfortunate. Perhaps he thought we were claiming ignorance of what he had explained to us the previous day, but in fact we just wanted to talk about the expectations we had about our stay vs. what we actually received. It may be that the manager must routinely deal with a lot of irate customers & may have thought we were more of the same, but we just didn't sense any hospitality or apology for our inconvenience.

These issues aside, the location was great and a decent breakfast was provided. The accommodations were basic and it was okay for one night; it was more a matter of customer service that ultimately made our experience an unfortunate one.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I booked a room at the Excelsior through booking.com for a last minute break. It cost us £120 for two nights, which considering the location (5 minutes walk from St Pancras Station) was a snip. We were quite positive on arrival. You check in at one of the sister hotels a few doors down, which has a swanky lounge with very friendly staff, who give you the keys to your own hotel. Our room was a double with shared "bathroom". I use the term bathroom lightly, as in actual fact it is a essentially a cupboard with a shower in, and the same for the toilet. Our room had a tv and freeview, great ! Except the only way you could plug the freeview in was to have the wire go right across the door (fire hazard, hellooooo !) so we didn't utilise this much, which isn't too bad I hear you saying, as we didn't go to London to watch TV.

My main issue with the place was the heat, good grief was it hot. We were on the top floor with only one window for ventilation (which had no curtain, and a curtain rail which wasn't even attached to the wall anymore on one side; which not only meant being woken up super early by the sun, but we had to keep the window open just to avoid melting. This meant that come night time, you could hear every drunken slur/brawl/rejected affection in the street/surrounding hotel rooms.

The stairs leading up to our room weren't the safest, we both had a few accidents climbing up them as towards the end they seem to slant and aren't even in the slightest? We are used to staying in basic hotels/hostels and are happy to accept that you get what you pay for, but I would much rather pay a little extra and not feel like my own safety is at risk again (and be able to sleep past 6am in a sheltered room!)

Also: Wifi in the rooms is terrible!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurenamyxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Hotel Melville
Hotel Melville
#842 of 1,081 in London
460 reviews
Bloomsbury
Albion House Hotel
Albion House Hotel
#947 of 1,081 in London
300 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#309 of 1,081 in London
1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Hostel Strand Continental
Hostel Strand Continental
#341 of 579 in London
296 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Meridiana
Hotel Meridiana
#69 of 579 in London
831 reviews
Bloomsbury
St. Athans Hotel
St. Athans Hotel
#29 of 579 in London
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Hotel London

Address: 41 &42 Argyle Square, London WC1H 8AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #380 of 579 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $66 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Excelsior Hotel London 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished B&B budget hotel located in Kings Cross about two minutes from St Pancras International and Kings Cross station.En suite rooms and free wifi offered in the bedroooms. We offer most importantly clean and affordable rooms in the heart of London. A truly Modern B & B hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Excelsior Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing