We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff lie”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Excelsior Hotel London
Ranked #374 of 555 London B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Staff lie”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Arrived fine shown to room which was ok.
Came back to relax with our children tv didn't work was told noththing could b done and would get refund of £50. Thought great no probs went back to get it was told no and that it was only said as other customers were around got acused if being cinfrontaional and that we were welcome to leave??? :-/
Phoned police who advised us to contact trading standard which will be doing. A free breakie would gave been enough but as a refund was promised then not followed appalling!!! Please choose somwhere else plenty of budget hotels even on same road hope this helps

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kias112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Excelsior Hotel London, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest

Thanks for your review and time taken to write about us

We are listening to all ourn guests and trying to improve in all aspects

I am really sorry you did not get a TV signal in the eveing ; I dont know why it was not working that night but it is now. Both the TVs in the appartment are working fine with all the freeview channels you would get at home.

A free breakfast and a 20 % discount would have been acceptable and a fair solution and something i would be more than happy to sanction. If you contact me I can do this for you.

Apologies for any misunderstadings here and if you need anything further please contact me directly

Manager
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    106
    108
    66
    98
See reviews for
77
164
37
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I’ve spent literally hundreds of nights in this hotel so I feel very qualified to review! I stayed here over a period of three years while on business in London. The first thing to note is that space costs a lot of money in London so cheaper hotels will have rooms smaller than many people are used to. However, this hotel is well-designed to cope with that. A constant regime of decorating goes on here and because I stayed over such a long period I could see how much care goes into the hotel upkeep. The rooms are decorated really nicely – nice warm tones - and artwork adorns the walls. It was possible to leave luggage in a storage area. This was not locked or always monitored. However, I never once had anything stolen. The proximity to London St Pancras and Kings Cross makes getting anywhere in London really easy and location is a major plus of staying here.

I did experience problems sometimes but it is important to point out that almost all stays went really smoothly and these problems occurred over many hundreds of nights: sometimes I arrived to find my booking was not in place, though I was always given a room, sometimes in other associated hotels of similar quality nearby, such as Melville. Breakfast was bland for our tastes and in a different building a few minutes away. In some rooms the wardrobe space is very limited and awkward because the rail runs front-to-back so clothes are all behind one another.

The manager, Patrick, was always very responsive and grateful for repairs being pointed out so that something could be done. Emails were always replied to promptly.
Anyone who likes walking can walk from here to Covent Garden, down to the Thames, Big Ben, Houses of Parliament, and all the tourist attractions around that part of town, or get a reasonably priced tube ticket. My partner and I even walked down to the ‘Gherkin’ building from here. We have fond memories of staying at this hotel, the staff, and London generally. We’re quite picky people and we were kept happy for three years. We have also spent the last 8 months travelling the world and we now have hundreds of hotels to compare it to. We can highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We preferred rooms at the back and high up as there was less street noise (though this wasn't no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awholeworldoutthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Excelsior Hotel London, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest

Many thanks foir your review

We are thankful for your review and hope that you continue to stay with us .

Good to know we are getting things right !

Regards

Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2012

First impressions werent great. Informed to ensure front door was locked properly so that people didnt sleep/squat in the hallway. Stairs to the room were narrow and windy, not ideal with lots of luggage. Small uncomfortable bed that leant to one side. Not big enough for 2 adults. Thin duvet in the middle of winter resulting in a cold night. Small room no space to even walk around bed. Noisey could hear everything in surronding rooms and facilities. Shared facilities small but clean. Good location just up the road from kings cross station.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KERNOWCOUPLE27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Excelsior Hotel London, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your review

We are listening to our customers and trying to improive where necessary

We have only a handful of rooms with shared bathrooms. These are our "super economy " rooms ideal for students and people with very limited resources . Only really recomended for a certain type of traveller. These rooms are very well priced at £50 per night for 2 people .

If you want a better room please try to book our en suite rooms and larger family rooms .

Many thanks for your review

Patrick
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suresnes, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We chose this hotel because of price and location. It takes about 1-2 mins to walk to King's Cross station. Check in is not until around 1pm, but our train arrived from Paris around 11am and the gentleman at the desk allowed us to check in early after a short wait (5-10 mins). Very nice first impression. Neighborhood is nice and quiet. Definitely recommend a room with a window, as it gets quite stuffy once you've been out all day. The room itself is quite small as is the bathroom, but considering the low price and the fact that we just needed somewhere to sleep, both were sufficient. You should know that there is no lift and the stairs are quite narrow, which could be an issue if you have large or heavy bags. Breakfast was included all 3 nights we stayed and consisted of warm croissant, toast, hard boiled eggs, juice, milk, cereal, and tea or coffee. Not exactly a wide selection, but it was warm every day and great for the price. I would recommend to any couple staying in London on a budget, especially if you want near a central station.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lpgrimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Excelsior Hotel London, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your review

We are happy you were pleased with your stay and hope to see you again soon

We are thankful that you took the time to write about us

Manager
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

I definitely would recommend this hotel as:
1 - good location: just 1 min walk from the station, plenty of cafes and bars around
2 - the rooms are clean, well furnished, everything is working
3 - people who works there are very friendly and ready to help at any time
Really enjoyed my week of living there at the end of October 2012!! :)

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Darya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

This is only an annex. There are 3 hotels: one has the reception, one has the breakfast room and one just has rooms. For breakfast you have to cross the square in all weathers! Breakfast was cornflakes, muesli, cold boiled egg, cheap cooked ham, tinned fruit salad, juice, tea, coffee & toast. Tables were wiped over with a cloth that had a drop of hot water from the urn. I am not sure how they have passes a hygiene certificate. There are 16 places for breakfast so there is usually a queue and when getting food you cannot avoid disturbing guests sitting near it. Tables look like the local 'greasy Joe's cafe'. Dreadful value at £50 pp per night! The room was tiny with a midget sized shower room. Bed was not much bigger than a single bed. There was only one way in and one way out, no fire exit. A bit worrying when you are on the 4th floor attic! Don't bother with this place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Excelsior Hotel London, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest

Thanks for your review ; we are listening to our guests and trying to improve things .

We are a chain of small hotels all located in Argyle Square. Each hotel is no more than a few doors away from the next . Most of the buildings in the square are small hotels with a few private houses in between. We have a main reception which is open 24 hrs and we also have a guest lounge there too.

There is an adequate choice for breakfast as described and we only charge £4 per person per day for breakfast ( customers booking directly with our website are given a complementery breakfast )

The buildings are all Georgian Grade 2 listed townhouses converted into small hotels . You can see this from all the websites and this information has been described on all our literature.

We have the highest hygiene rating of 4 stars from Camden Council and you can see this on their website. (camden.gov )

£50 per person per night including 20 % VAT for a double room en suite; with breakfast; clean Linen and towels provided , Free Wifi, Bathroom amenities , inroom safes , Flat screen TVs with freeview , Kettles with free tea and coffee, rooms cleaned daily .....And all located directly opposite Kings Cross train station and St Pancras International....Is good value considering what we provide and our unique location.

We are currently building a new dining room which will be modern ans spacious and can seat 50 people at a any time.

Thanks for your review
Manager
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Four of us (2adults & 2 children) stayed for one night on BB. The room was beautifully furnished,.
very clean, comfortable beds and much better than expected. Yes the room is compact (small) but for the price we paid it was excellent value. The location is perfect for the train and tube.
The only downside was the location of the breakfast room. It is situated in another hotel just a few mins walk away, you will be shown there by a member of staff . It is down narrow steps into a basement room which is small and hot, we all found the experience challenging as guests vied for space to get their buffet breakfast. On the plus side the breakfast was very good, we had plenty to eat, there was an adeqaute choice and it suited us. I would recommend the Excelsior for visitors looking for nice accommodation in a great location and really good value for money.

Room Tip: Just remember the rooms are small but for a few days they are fine and nicely furnished. Just one th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gretagarbo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Hotel Melville
Hotel Melville
#788 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Bloomsbury
Albion House Hotel
Albion House Hotel
#939 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Meridiana
Hotel Meridiana
#70 of 555 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#93 of 555 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Bloomsbury
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#79 of 555 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Bloomsbury
Angus Hotel
Angus Hotel
#47 of 555 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Hotel London

Property: Excelsior Hotel London
Address: 41 &42 Argyle Square, London WC1H 8AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #374 of 555 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Excelsior Hotel London 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished B&B budget hotel located in Kings Cross about two minutes from St Pancras International and Kings Cross station.En suite rooms and free wifi offered in the bedroooms. We offer most importantly clean and affordable rooms in the heart of London. A truly Modern B & B hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Excelsior Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing