We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hunterian Museum - CLOSED
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (856)
Filter reviews
688 results
Traveler rating
481
182
24
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
481
182
24
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews royal college of surgeons body parts human body john hunter irish giant animal specimens medical students lincoln inn fields weak stomach on display vast collection interesting exhibits anatomy skeleton gruesome development organ
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 688 reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2018 via mobile

As a nurse I really wanted to visit this museum. It is s little out of the way but easily assessed by public transport and lovely old buildings to look at on the short walk from the tube. This museum is packed with loads of interesting medical memorabilia. It’s really well worth the visit. Pram and child friendly. Helpful staff and a small gift shop.

2  Thank sungiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2017 via mobile

If you’re into medicine particularly if an MD check it out. The gift shop has some of the most creative stuff.

1  Thank HonestMcHonest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2017 via mobile

Good if you like anatomy and the human body. There's a few gruesome specimens so you might not like it of you're squeamish.

Thank ElmoAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2017

this is not just a museum for the young premeds, although my daughter does want to pursue a medical career the museum is filled with specimens of animals which my other daughter who hates the sight of blood was truly fascinated by the different animals that were dissected and on display. a truely unique place that does not take more than 1.5 hrs to tour. my daughters claimed it was their favorite museum, and we saw all of London. highly recommend.

1  Thank dktrdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2017

Dropped in here one day, as it was directly across the park from Sir John Soane's museum. The museum has a lot of interesting material on the history of surgery and a vast collection of almost every specimen imaginable. Thankfully, I have some medical training and was able to appreciate what this museum had to offer. I found the upstairs portion particularly fascinating, especially where the displays were on skin grafts and the first open heart surgeries. This is a fantastic little museum, but visitors should be fully aware of the exhibits offered before choosing to visit, as some might find the displays disturbing.

1  Thank ErikaM411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2017

Visited here in May 2017 on one of the late night openings before it closes for several years for a refurbishment.

When we arrived, it wasn't too busy and so were able to walk straight in, however as the evening went on, it got more crowded in the museum.

There are LOTS of things to see, all crammed into glass cabinets and they were all clearly labelled which was very useful. The only downside was that it was very difficult to see the artefacts in the lower cabinets as it required almost getting on your hands and knees(!) which wasn't easy with quite a few people around also trying to look at at the same exhibit as well.

A word of warning - I like to think that I have quite a strong stomach, and don't have any qualms with blood or operations (or even horror films) but there were quite a few exhibits in this museum which made me feel a bit queasy... foetuses at various stages of development and amputated limbs (including those of children) etc, and I did struggle when looking at some of them, so be warned!

Overall, a great museum with an array of interesting exhibits - but not for anyone with a weak stomach!

2  Thank Gemma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2017

Visited this museum on the last day that it was open before they closing it for 3 (!) years.
Glad we did ! It's a very fascinating exhibition about the early days of anatomy and surgeries, NOT for the faint hearted !
I think it's especially important for medical students to visit this museum.

1  Thank eMBieAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2017

Now closed until Autumn 2020 (alas), the Hunterian Museum stands at the far side of Lincoln Inn Fields (within the Royal College of Surgeons - it can be easy to miss as there is very little external signage to denote its presence).

Set over two floors and dedicated to the work of surgeon John Hunter, this is a treasure trove of the macabre and the development of surgical procedures. Not for the squeamish (e.g. there are lots of specimen jars containing the likes of tape worms, embryos and even a tumour weighing 4KGs), much of the history is brought to life by the tour guides (I was amazed by the story of dentists in the 1800s who would buy and remove healthy teeth from the poor (paying just enough so they could get a meal, and then insert them into the mouths of London's rich later that same day!). Weird AND wonderful.

1  Thank neilhassall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2017

I visited this the day before it closed for major renovations of the building it sits in and not planned to reopen until 2020. It was interesting, and free, but a few things were frustrating with this museum that will hopefully be improved within the new one. There was quite a lot in each cabinet & meant that many people were crowded around making it difficult read the information and see what was in there. For some reason you weren't allowed to take photos, even without a flash. This however wasn't enforced by anyone and I saw several people taking pics.

The collection contains both humans and animal specimens, and each cabinet is labeled as being a certain part of the body- hearts, lungs, ovaries etc. Some displays contained both animal and human though, making it a little difficult to follow. Within the actual case, the specimen didn't always correlate to the location of the information card, so your eyes were darting around the case trying to find the number relating to the specimen. There were also displays at foot level, so to actually see them, you needed to squat down. I personally would have liked more information on who the specimen came from, did they survive etc.

Hopefully the newer museum will be better laid out with the information easier to match to the specimen.

2  Thank dalton1skiing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2017

We went and had a good hour or so taking in the exhibits at this free museum, which included Charles Babbage's brain and the skeleton of a chap who was known as The Irish Giant.
We were lucky as it closing for refurbishment, which I believe will take around 3 years.

Thank max b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews