We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good free attraction but not for the squeamish”
Review of Hunterian Museum - CLOSED

Hunterian Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Preston
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A good free attraction but not for the squeamish”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The museum is situated on the first floor of the Royal College of Surgeons building on Lincolns Inn Fields but is not open on a Monday. You just get a visitors badge at the reception desk on the ground floor.
The exhibits feature preserved anatomical features of both humans and animals, some with specific medical defects. They are well lit and labelled. There are also various pieces of medical equipment on show including saws etc. used for amputations. There are details of laparoscopic procedures too as well as a skeleton showing all replacement prostheses. A film is shown of a brain surgery technique too. In one area there are a few portraits of people with some form of disability e.g. dwarfism.
There is a small shop too.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mccPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

854 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    573
    246
    32
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

If you have an interest in all thing medical or if you like things a little weird this is a worthwhile hour or so to spend.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank rupert72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Unique history in a modern setting”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I try only to review attractions that offer something that you can't get anywhere else, and this certainly fits that criteria. Before visiting I had the impression that this would be dusty Victorian rooms of bizarre body parts. The first part was certainly wrong. It is modern, well lit, beautifully displayed collection of bizarre body parts. Every body part from a wide range of species. We had a very interesting free tour with the curator (Wed lunchtimes). She nicely set the context for the collection from grave robbing to developments in surgical techniques. After an hour I was tired as there was so much to look at, but I could easily go back several more times. If you're interested in what's inside the body, how it works and how it sometimes goes wrong, you'll be fascinated.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mcreader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Interesting in pleasant surroundings”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Took my family to Huntarian in half term, purely because we've been to all the large museums in London and know how busy they get. First of all the location is lovely. We got off at Holborn and meandered through the back streets (past a nice old traditional pub that we popped into on the way back to tube!). I've since discovered the Sir John Soames Museum was opposite, which would've been interesting to see. The Huntarian Museum itself was fascinating. My 6 year old loved it and especially the shop. My 13 year old, who is a bit squeamish, not so much. I went to a similar museum in St Petersburg and had high hopes. The Huntarian is very different, it's a lot more sanitised for a start. Nevertheless the exhibit upstairs has a very thought provoking display on war surgery. Definitely recommend for an hour's visit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SLEWIS1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Incredible”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

If your interested in science and the anatomy of the natural world, this is the place for you. There are so many weird and wonderful objects on display that will take your breath away.
If possible, attend when the tour guide is available for some interesting history. I don't think I've ever visited a museum like this before! If your other half isn't into this then go alone, it's worth it!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Buddhistcamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunterian Museum also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing