We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice change to usual Sunday roast” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mussel Men - CLOSED

Mussel Men
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $62
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Docked at 584 Kingsland Road - Mussel Men is on a seafaring mission to bring you the best Mussels and freshest Seafood in town. Serving delicious prosecco and cocktails on the deck with a side of thumb - wars challenging the infamous Captain Bob, Mussel Men is a haven for sailors and land lubbers alike!
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice change to usual Sunday roast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

We booked a table for two on Sunday and arrived on time at 13:30 to an empty restaurant, but the waitress was welcoming and friendly and soon other customers began to pop up. My wife doesn't eat shellfish and I had checked the online menu which has Fish Pie on it which I thought would be suitable for her but unfortunately this was not available on the day so we had the Sunday roast for 2 which was one of 3 menu choices offered to us. The platter was enticing and looked great when it arrived: Langoustines - well cooked and fresh, soft shell crab - in delicate crispy batter, yum, razor clams - tasty, oysters - cooked in butter - yum yum, and quite a lot of mussels which were delicious. My wife had no option but to eat the vegetables while watching me attack the platter. Only thing I'd mention is that because of the style of presentation the mussels became cold rather quicker than I could eat them. To be fair, although the menu was limited the food served was fresh and cooked very well. I may well try this pop-up again when they move to the next venue as I love good seafood!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tangoT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    22
    8
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

A fantastic Sunday afternoon trip to Mussel Men - one of the better decisions we made that weekend! £10 for a big box of mussels (which were enormous and tasty, the size of meatballs!) and fries in a delicious mariniere sauce. The lobster looked amazing, too. Can’t really go wrong, very reasonable for the quality. Prosecco was delicious and well-priced: neither cheap nor expensive. Staff were DELIGHTFUL, funny, friendly and super-attentive. There was a tiny mistake on the bill and they couldn’t have sorted it out quick enough or been more effusive in their apology. Free yummy sugary shot to all those dressed in sailor stripes. A brilliant, fun, laid back, hipster-y but totally unpretentious meal out. Would go again and again, if only it weren’t a pop-up. First class.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hartleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“E8 meets east coast seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Mussels, scallops, soft shell crab all delicious - Brewdog IPA good as always. Staff are friendly and vibe is good. Sharing tables with hyper (enhanced?) clientele annoying. Would definitely return - think Littleneck in East London!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gr-E5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“£10 for three scallops”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Overpriced. Food was OK but portions were way too small.
There were not many choices on the menu. There are many other restaurants around the area where you can have something better for the same price.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pdropl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“No mussels”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Disorganised! Under cooked lobster. Ran out of most options on the menu, namely mussels. A restaurant called mussel men with no mussels. Don't bother.

Helpful?
Thank angelmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mussel Men also viewed

 
Stratford City, London
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing