We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight stay after NFL at Wembley” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn London - Elstree

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Inn London - Elstree
Ranked #608 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Overnight stay after NFL at Wembley”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Myself, my wife and son chose to stay here as it was close enough for me to reach Wembley. We arrived prior to check-in at 2pm, the chap on reception seemed quite flustered, despite the fact we were the only people at reception at this time and wasn't very helpful either! Usually at any Holiday Inn we stay at I am offered a morning paper, to purchase of course upon check-out but when I asked about this he just pointed to the papers on the stand opposite reception. Maybe this is down to this being a franchised Holiday Inn instead of the usual type? Upon arriving at the room, there was no travel cot for our son, despite emailing the hotel to ask for this.

My wife and son enjoyed using the pool and there was an excellent choice of breakfast. On the whole, a very nice hotel but receptionist could have been more helpful!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uk2010_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager065, Resident Manager at Holiday Inn London - Elstree, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn London-Elstree following your recent stay with us whilst visiting Wembley for the NFL.
I have noted all of the points you have raised and I will ensure they are shared with the hotel team in order that any necessary improvements can be made. We always use constructive comments as a way of improving the service we offer to all of our guests.
If you would like to discuss your review with me directly in more detail or if I may be of further assistance to you then I can be contacted via the hotel switchboard on 0208 214 9988.
Yours sincerely
Shae Walmsley
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    135
    113
    46
    31
See reviews for
65
84
23
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night as we were attending a party in High Barnet which is only a few minutes away. We chose this hotel not only for its proximity to Barnet but also because it is close to the M25 so perfect for an easy get away in the morning.

The room was clean and had everything you would expect for the price - I would have liked free wifi but at £69 I got what I expected. The room was very hot, and we only realised there was aircon in the morning as it was a bit too discreet. The communal areas were also a bit too hot but we didn't have control of the aircon there. The view was overlooking a lower level roof (from 137) but we didn't chose a hotel just off the motorway for the scenary.
The bathroom was clean and a good size, conditioner would have been a nice extra but there was a note saying toiletries would be provided complimentary if we contacted reception.
We, along with friends arrived back to the hotel late, 1.30ish, the bar was quiet but the guy on reception informed us that we could stay as long as we liked and he would serve us once the barman finished - we didn't need him to stay too long!
Breakfast was an extra £10, and £15 if not paid in advance but it was very nice, hot and a good choice of a full English, fruit, cereals or pastries - or all of the above as it was self service. We stayed on a Saturday and breakfast was available until 11am which was a bonus after a late one. They shut up shop fairly promptly at 11 though.
We didn't have time to try out the spa unfortunately so I haven't rated that.
Check out was at 12 - another bonus, so time for a short lie down after breakfast before the journey home.
All in all a very pleasant experience and I would be happy to recommend this hotel to anyone heading to London.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank runtmc2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager065, Resident Manager at Holiday Inn London - Elstree, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comprehensive and constructive review of the Holiday Inn London-Elstree following your recent stay with us.
I will ensure that your review is shared with our hotel team members as appropriate, they work hard to ensure every guest has an enjoyable stay and they are always delighted to learn when they get things right.
We always use reviews of our hotel to work towards improving the service and product we offer to all of our guests.
I hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future. In the meantime if there is any way I can be of assistance then please do not hesitate to let me know.
Yours sincerely
Shae Walmsley
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

oh dear. Things haven't improved. Despite being a Platinum Priority club member and phoning ahead this morning to request a quiet room I'm still in a room that is noisier than a cross channel ferry!

As I've said previously on here.... the premier inn half a mile up the road is a much better option if you truly want a quiet night.


Holiday Inn, Elstree, ..... it's a joke

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank caroljan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager065, Resident Manager at Holiday Inn London - Elstree, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest
I have noted the review that you have posted onto the Trip Advisor website whilst staying in our hotel this week.
I am sorry that you did not feel able to bring to our attention as soon as you realised that you were disappointed with your accommodation. I am confident that we could have found an alternative for you before it spoilt your enjoyment of your stay.
Our location is close to the main road which is great for transport links but as you have noted can this lead to passing traffic being audible in some parts of the building despite the presence of extra glazing and air conditioning.
If you would like to discuss your review in more detail I can be contacted via the hotel switchboard on 0208 214 9988.
Yours sincerely
Shae Walmsley
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Local to my office, I stay here from time to time. On the face of it, it's got that large foyer / plenty of large windows in Reception / lots of wooden panels - look about it which suggests slightly up-market. Nice attention to detail with the choice of pictures on the walls. Bedrooms are fine - unremarkable but clean.

The eating experience is weird. It has the feel of a Sports Bar and the bar staff seem to be drawn from various parts of the hotel as necessary. That's not to say that the service is poor - it's not.

Suffice it to say that you'll get a good night's sleep, a decent but unexciting buffet breakfast - but expect to pay for wifi............why or why ?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager065, Resident Manager at Holiday Inn London - Elstree, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn London-Elstree on the Trip Advisor website.

I have noted all of the feedback you have provided and will act on it as appropriate. We do talk about all of our reviews within the team and look upon all information given as an opportunity to improve the service we offer to all of our guests.

Regarding our Wifi charge, it is currently something that is beyond our control at hotel level. However, since July 2013 we have offered free wifi to all Gold and above statused IHG Reward club members and in 2014 this will extend to all IHG Rewards members.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn London-Elstree in the very near future. In the meantime if there is any other way we may be of assistance then do not hesitate to let us know.

Yours sincerely
Shae Walmsley
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice now, its a average hotel for a reasonable price. However the staff in all areas are extremly friendly and very helpful, this makes the hotel a very worthwhile place to stay. It's got very good transport links to the motorways being situated just next to the A1. Rooms are clean and have all you need. Breakfast is excellent all tastes are catered for. Evening meals not so good as with allot of hotels the food is far better for breakfast. Give the pizzas a miss, ceasar salad worth a try. Ask for a room at the the rear of the hotel so the noise of the road does not disturb you. Note to hotel move your smoking area, its not nice walking through the smokers to get in the hotel! Why would it be ok?

Room Tip: Get a room at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager065, Resident Manager at Holiday Inn London - Elstree, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn London-Elstree on the Trip Advisor website.
I have noted all of the comments you made and I am especially glad that you feel so positively about our Team Members. I will ensure that they are made aware of your praise as I know they will be delighted.
We do have a smoking area away from the front doors but unfortunately due to planning regulations we are unable to provide a shelter so in inclement weather smokers do tend to congegate around the canopy porch which I agree is not ideal.
We hope to be able to continue to welcome you backk to the hotel in the future. If there is any other way that I may be of assistance then please do not hesitate to let me know.
Yours sincerely
Shae Walmsley
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stop at this hotel while working away with work. On arrival hotel staff always remember me and offer me free points or free drink voucher as they know I am a IHG rewards gold member. The staff are very helpful and friendly, especially Asil and Wendy. I often turn up very early in the morning after working a night shift and they make sure I get some food and a pint, which I have not had at some other hotels. Also when I leave for work very early in the morning, the staff will make me a takeaway breakfast bag that I collect on the way out with a coffee. Overall a very good experience

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matt l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager065, Resident Manager at Holiday Inn London - Elstree, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of the Holiday Inn London-Elstree. We appreciate your loyalty and hope to be able to continue to welcome you back in the future.
I have noted your specific praise for Wendy and Asil and I will ensure that they are thanked and recognised appropriately. I am glad that we have managed to provide those small things that make staying away from home a more enjoyable experience.
If there is any way that we can be of further assistance to you then please do not hesitate to let us know.
Yours sincerely
Shae Walmsley
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Excellent hotel,great facilities ,bar and restaurant staff all great apart from a female adolf hitler style lady with glasses ,overall a good hotel within easy reach of london.also not far from elstree and borehamwood centre,weatherspoons down there plus a few decent restaurants/takeaways.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattydavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager065, Resident Manager at Holiday Inn London - Elstree, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your positive review of the Holiday Inn London-Elstree followingyour recent stay with us.
I have noted all of your comments and I will ensure that they are shared with the Hotel team as appropriate.
If there is any further way I can be of assistance then please do not hesitate to let me know.
Yours sincerely
Shae Walmsley
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
Premier Inn London Sidcup
#288 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Palm Hotel
#485 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Ramada London Finchley
#651 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Pelican London Hotel and Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Elstree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Elstree

Property: Holiday Inn London - Elstree
Address: Barnet By Pass, London WD6 5PU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#103 Best Value Hotel in London
#355 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Elstree 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn-London Elstree is situated just off the A1, close to both the M25 & M1 motorways and is only 8 miles from the newly rebuilt Wembley Stadium. Elstree and Borehamwood Railway Station is just 2 miles from the hotel making us the ideal base for both the business and leisure traveller, with London Heathrow and London Luton airportswithin just 30 miles of the hotel. The onsite leisure club boasts a range of facilities including an indoor pool, equipped gym, steam room, spa and luxury beauty treatments. All 135 air-conditioned bedrooms at Holiday Inn Elstree provide television with in-house movies, tea and coffee-making facilities, private dial out telephones, laptop safe, trouser press and hairdryer. The meeting facilities are second to none with reliable support services and conference rooms designed for your comfort with 13 meeting and conference rooms with the flexibility to hold either social or business meetings for 2 to 400 persons. All meeting rooms at Holiday Inn Elstree have natural daylight.O'Sullivans Restaurant is an outstanding place to dine, with a variety of tasty dishes to suit all. Alternatively you can chill out in the bar and lounge area. The car park at Holiday Inn London-Elstree has space for up to 300 cars with specialist disabled facilities. In compliance with English Law smoking is only permitted in designated smoking bedrooms in this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Elstree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Elstree Hotel London
Holiday Inn Borehamwood
Borehamwood Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn London - Elstree England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing