We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Customer Focus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge London City Airport Hotel
Ranked #468 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Although everything about this Travelodge is the same standard as all your usual expectations with travelodge, i.e. clean tidy rooms with all you need. this particular one does rate higher due to the level of customer focus. Upon arrival the receptionist dealt with us quickly and efficiently, chatting to us in a friendly manner, giving us all the travel requirements to get to out destination to see 'We Will Rock You' in Tottenham Court Road. Explaining how we need to use the DLR, connecting to the London Cable Car connecting to the Thames Clipper, all indefinably beyond the call of duty, a service you usually would only expect from a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank malcolmasanai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (962)
There are newer reviews for Travelodge London City Airport Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

843 - 849 of 962 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

I visited the hotel at February for business reasons. It's good for the amount of money they ask. There wasn't refridgerator inside the room and no shampoo. Bring your own. Also their breakfast is very typical. The location of the hotel is very good especially for those who want to visit Excel exhibition centre.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank EvanDimitrakopoulos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Pros:
1. it is literally a 15 minute walk from the ExCel conference centre. You can see the conference center from the hotel and vice versa
2. they serve a HOT breakfast, which is not the norm. Usually you get basic continental. Eggs, ham, sausage, beans, toast, muffins, croissants, coffee/tea/juice. All you can eat and it came included with the room price.
3. staff are uniformly very friendly and very helpful. A shout out to Aisha and James. Thanks guys.
4. The DLR train is about 2 blocks away. Very convenient to ride into town and sight see. A day pass is 8.90 pounds
5. free coffee/tea/kettle in the room
6. wifi is only 10 pounds/day or 20 pounds per week
7. I paid 42 pounds/night. Very affordable for a conference hotel, which usually run 200-350 pounds/night


Cons:
1. it is not luxurious. It is basically a room (with a 60's looking psychedelic color scheme), 2 chairs, a TV the size of a computer monitor and NO PHONE. But there was a pretty snazzy bottle opener screwed on to the side of the wall...
2. the bathroom has no toiletries. Bring some shampoo and soap. Towels double for sandpaper. Well, so did the toilet paper.
3. the food for breakfast is OK, but not particularly delicious. However free food is free food.
4. toilet needs some sort of magic touch to make it flush. No fan in the bathroom - gets quite steamy with showers.
5. it is 2 hours 15 minutes by metro/tube to get from Heathrow airport to the hotel. No bus.
6. There is absolutely NOTHING interesting to see in the Docklands area. You really have to leave on the DLR to see anything of interest or to eat out at a good restaurant.
7. No hotel amenities. ie. no gym. Just a vending machine and a restaurant.

Tips:
1. make sure you take the correct path to get to the conference center, You need to go UP OVER THE ROAD AND TAKE CONNOUGHT BRIDGE. I took a different path, which I thought they mentioned and took a loooooonnngg way around, by the tram. It was a nice walk, but took 45 minutes and some directions.
2. this hotel is next to the LONDON CITY AIRPORT - this is not Heathrow airport, which is 2h15min away by tube. If possible, when booking a flight, make sure you select this airport and you will fly in and out - then it would be extremely convenient. Tubing back and forth to the airport was like watching paint dry.

Room Tip: I agree. Pick a room at the front of the hotel to avoid noise from the DLR train.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pw0867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

the staff at this hotel were brilliant especially Steve and Aisha. we were 4 weary welsh ladies when we arrived but were soon put at ease .The food was good rooms clean an fresh and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. I would recommend this travel lodge to anyone

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Came for marathon weekend with our 13 year old son. Hotel staff very welcoming & helpful. Fabulous room, clean & as good as some of the more 'up market' hotels we've stayed in in London before. Good location for trains. Definitely will use again!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank RunnersMrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

First room - toilet would not flush. Despite being shown the trick to make it work I opted to change rooms. The food (at dinner) was disgusting and I believe a serious threat to health if you ate it!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from Customer Services at Travelodge London City Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you for your review Stephen C. We are very sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We would expect all items and facilities, such as the bed, to be well maintained at fit for purpose. We require our staff to inspect each room regularly to ensure this. Additionally, the food we offer in our bar cafes is also standardised across all our hotels and our staff are trained in how to prepare and present it so it is regrettable to learn that the food did not meet with your expectations. We are sorry for the experience you had with us and would like to investigate the concerns that you have raised. Please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to tell us more and when doing so please indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

hotel clean tidy ,but noise from coach loads of french and or german students constant door slamming , running up and down hallways until after 2 am. really doesnt make this an ideal place. weve stayed here many times but wont consider it again

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge London City Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

We are truly sorry to learn you were disturbed by other guests during your stay Graham H. We do ask all of our customers to be mindful of their noise levels and we ensure that larger groups are allocated rooms together away from other guests. We also require our staff to regularly patrol the hotel so that they can be aware of any disturbances. We’d like to be able to contact you to find a resolution so please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to tell us more and when doing so please indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Hotel ibis budget London City Airport
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Travelodge London Excel Hotel
Travelodge London Excel Hotel
#396 of 1,072 in London
800 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Holiday Inn Express London - ExCeL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Hampton by Hilton London Docklands
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis Styles London Excel
Ibis Styles London Excel
#567 of 1,072 in London
1,497 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
MOXY London Excel
MOXY London Excel
#570 of 1,072 in London
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London City Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London City Airport Hotel

Address: 1 Connaught Road | Silvertown, London E16 2FA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Best Value Hotel in London
Price Range: $70 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge London City Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 247
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge London City Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London City Airport Hotel England
London Travel Lodge
London Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing