We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No daylight in London...”
Review of Hotel 82

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel 82
Ranked #769 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed July 25, 2013

As London is one of my favorite places I’ve been there several times. I know quite well the level of the hotels and did not expect too much for a “three-star” hotel...
My starting point was good location, breakfast included and clean, smokeless and quiet room. First one was quite okay (but I have had better locations at the same price) and yes - it was not allowed to smoke in this hotel. Quiet – well, they did not succeed in this one as my room was located quite near an air conditioning or similar equipment and there was a continuous hubbub in the room. This might not have bothered a person who is a sound sleeper but as I particularly asked for a quiet room (both when making the reservation and when arriving at the hotel) I was not happy with the noise, but… this could have been forgiven if only other circumstances had been more pleasant.
The most annoying, almost depressing matter was that there was no daylight in the room. Both small windows were towards an indoor service stairs. This meant that the room was very stuffy and unpleasant to stay. I complained to the staff – they were friendly – but could not do anything. To my mind this kind of thing should have been mentioned when booking a room because at least in my case I wouldn’t ever have chosen a place like this. This hotel has probably better rooms with real windows and I suggest that if you are interested in booking room at Hotel 82 London, do ask if there is going to be daylight in your room or is it more like a cupboard. For me this was “once in the lifetime experience” and I did learn something new of the hotels in London: remember to ask if the room is having an outer window. I do love London though.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SaturdayBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
There are newer reviews for Hotel 82
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 284 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is exactly what you can expect considering its price and location: small but clean rooms and fair breakfast. Not a great hotel but has got all you need if you are looking for an economic stay in London.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at Hotel 82 in early June and we were perfectly happy our stay. Yes the hotel is not The Ritz - but what it lacks in comparison to Ritz (or other of that superior standard) it perfectly compensates for in location, hospitality and service.
The rooms are small but not as small as can be seen in London but well maintained and most importanly: Clean. The only negative thing that can be said of the room is the shower: The level of watersupply is not that good - very difficult to wash your hair etc. This must be corrected.
Our room was at the back of the hotel and we slept with our windows open - no noise to interupt our sleep what so ever. Not normal in a big city like London.
The breakfast was ok - not great but sufficient for a long days touring of the city. The buffet was filled all the time ans the staff was polite and nice.
The overall service of the hotel was great - we were always met with smiles and hellos and everyday the cleaning had made a new arrangement of the towels.
But the thing that hit the nail on the head is the location.
Like any other house/hotel the location tells it all and Hotel 82 is close to nearly everything: Oxford Street, the tube, buses and a small walk from Baker Street/Madame Tussauds - really great.
All in all we can and will recommend Hotel 82 - a good, decent midrange hotel with a perfect location at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bastian87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night to attend a business meeting in the area. Found the hotel was dirty and of a lower standard than indicated. This may be fine for tourists but would not recommend for business stays and I do not plan to stay there again myself. Had booked this due to its location which was good and allowed me to walk to various places I had to attend comfortably. The site indicated a recent refurbishment and whilst that may have provided improvements to the general structure it was clearly not being supported by the day to day cleaning processes.

Room Tip: Room position was not an issue.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The venue could not be faulted for us, we were arriving in Paddington and wanting to go to Wembley Stadium for a concert. The tube connections were extremely easy for both. The hotel is clean, comfortable, the room was a decent size and there are good showers. Although the road was quite noisy, we did sleep well. Breakfast was adequate although the breakfast room would have been too small if everyone had chosen to eat breakfast at the same time.

The price was good for Central London and we would use this as a base for a night again, if the occasion arose.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chantillylace_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The location is fantastic. The hotel has all the facilities in place but on a micro level. The rooms are well maintained and the upkeep is good. Very conveniently located near the Baker Street Tube station and walking distance from Oxford Street. If only the toilets were more spacious every thing would be perfect. The breakfast served is adequate. all in all a got place to stay in central London.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gautam1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Clean, comfortable room with all we wanted for a one-night visit to London. Location chosen for proximity to the places we wanted to visit. Good access to public transport with places to eat nearby. Friendly staff. Breakfast room very small so we had to wait 15 minutes for a free table. Would use again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Geoffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Z at Gloucester Place
Z at Gloucester Place
#202 of 1,072 in London
218 reviews
Marylebone
Blandford Hotel
Blandford Hotel
#433 of 1,072 in London
678 reviews
Marylebone
St George Hotel
St George Hotel
#668 of 1,072 in London
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Marylebone Inn Hotel
Marylebone Inn Hotel
#583 of 1,072 in London
241 reviews
Marylebone
Nottingham Place Hotel London
Nottingham Place Hotel London
#597 of 1,072 in London
294 reviews
Marylebone
Travelodge London Central Marylebone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 82? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 82

Address: 82 Gloucester Place | Baker Street, London W1U 6HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone , Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #769 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: $103 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 82 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel 82 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
82 Hotel London
Hotel 82 London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing