We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous modern hotel, amazing location”
Review of Hotel Cafe Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Cafe Royal
Ranked #48 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Gorgeous modern hotel, amazing location”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We have chosen this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews and boy it did exceed our expectations. We booked two nights at a junior suite (Mansard style).. The moments we walked in we were welcomed by everyone. Ahmad at the reception was wonderful he gave us a tour of the hotel and showed us the different types of rooms they have. The lobby is breathtaking combining both classic and modern styles in a creative way. The elevators are replicas of the originals and they are so unique. Hallways are covered with wood panels which added to the warmth and beauty of the hotel. The room was roomy and beautiful with all the wood panels and the high tech gadgets (Bang & Olufsen) all around. The bathroom is huge and stunning covered with carrera marble.. The room is spotless clean. The location is fantastic; close to everything.. It's in the middle if Piccadilly street with all the shopping you could ever ask for. All the landmarks are within walking distance. We enjoyed our stay at this hotel and we will definitely return back whenever we're in London. Thank you Cafe Royal for making our stay a more enjoyable one.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Delo100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for sharing such a positive review on Café Royal hotel, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I am pleased to hear your appreciation of the renovation of the hotel, designed for the 21st century traveller. David Chipperfield Architects was the lead architect in the hotel restoration, where modern elegance has been carefully paired with historical style and glamour. I am very happy to read your enjoyment of the guestrooms including the Mansard Junior Suite and all the in-room amenities. I hope to welcome you back to Café Royal hotel in the very near future.

With warmest wishes
Anthony Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    949
    160
    52
    23
    9
See reviews for
265
441
53
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at cafe royal for valentines weekend...and it was just amazing! The rooms were of the highest standard, the staff were extremely attentive and welcoming and the spa was the best I've ever visited. Really great location! Would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yellowbear213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your recent stay at Café Royal hotel. I was delighted that your time with us was so enjoyable. I am very pleased to read of your appreciation of our central London location and of the Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Centre. Thank you also for your kind comments about the team and service received and I will be sure to pass on your special thanks to all. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future.

With warmest wishes
Anthony Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2014

My four night stay at the Cafe Royal was an excellent experience. Staff made for a warm welcome and efficient check-in, and the Portland Deluxe room was superb. Not only was it spacious, but the room came with brilliant facilities and amenities: Floris bath products, a B&O TV, a TV in the bathroom mirror, a Nespresso machine, a heated bathroom floor, and more. Turndown service was a treat, as was the selection of TV channels (Sky F1 was a favourite!)

The room service was excellent, and I enjoyed my breakfast each morning. I also tried the Akasha Spa, which I found to be very good – worth a swim and sauna break. Concierge was very helpful in securing hard to get dinner reservations.

The location was top-notch: walking distance to shopping, theatres, attractions, and there's an underground station just outside, as well as many well-serviced bus routes nearby.

Maintenance issues with my bathtub plug and the room's window were literally solved in 5min. Very impressive.

The bar probably isn't worth a visit, but with everything else being to the standard it was, I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belherm86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for sharing such a positive review on Café Royal hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. I am heartened to read how enthused you were over the hotel and the special extra touches we include in our guestrooms; I hope this added to the comfort of your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With warmest wishes
Anthony Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lechlade
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

My wife and I stayed for a couple of nights last weekend in a Portland room.
Brilliant :-)
Big, airy and spacious with a mega-comfy bed.
All the gizmos worked and the whole in-room experience was first class.
The hotel bars and dining areas are beautiful... a bit pricey but not stupidly so.
The reception, check-in / out was simple and the doorman was most pleasant.
The location in Piccadilly is perfect for strolling anywhere you want to go around the West End.

All-in-all we had a great weekend and The Cafe Royal was the star of the show.... Thank you !!

Room Tip: We stayed in the most basic room and it had everything... No idea what else can possibly be extra in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandGLechlade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for sharing such a positive review on Café Royal hotel, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Our guestrooms are some of the largest in London and we take pride that each feels almost like a suite or private apartment. David Chipperfield Architects was the lead architect in the hotel restoration, where modern elegance has been carefully paired with historical style and glamour. I will pass on your kind words to the rest of the team and I hope to welcome yo back to Café Royal hotel in the very near future.

With warmest wishes
Anthony Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I stayed at the Cafe Royal Hotel for 2 nights and it was great. It's in the best location for seeing everything in London. It has great staff and the hotel room itself is very spacious. I stayed In a Portland Deluxe Hotel room and it was huge. The only small thing was the switch for house keeping and the lights were close together I got accidentally turned the knob to service my room.... And got quite a fright when I woke up to house keeping coming into my room. Also when I checked In at 3.30pm my room still wasn't ready.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Many thanks for penning your kind words following your recent stay at Café Royal hotel. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your time with us and that you our spacious rooms and our very central London location was well received. I can only extend my sincere apologies that your room was not immediately available when you first checked-in, but hope this did not spoil your stay. I very much look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to the capital.

With warmest wishes
Anthony Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salcombe
Level Contributor
149 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Great location for buzz of city life Piccadilly end of Regent Street, no problems with parking as helpful doorman whisked car away and brought back promptly when required. More golden key concierge than I have seen in a long while, all impressively efficient and very personable. Remember if you are visiting this year, it has been a mamouth project to redevelop this difficult site and bear with it, from what I here much is planned and it will be very special. There is a distinct style about it and with such choices there will always be an element of marmite, some will love while others wont appreciate it. Far better than the bland of a chain. Anthony Lee who affectionate's will know from The Connaught's hey day and The Mayfair's renaissance is now at the helm and the future is bright

Room Tip: The Green Bar for an intimate haunt
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith Makepeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for penning your review about your recent stay at Café Royal hotel. I am very pleased to read of your appreciation of the renovation. Led by David Chipperfield Architects, Café Royal has been sensitively restored, maintaining historic detail but now combined with a modern and contemporary elegance. I am also happy to note your kind comments regarding our Concierge team. I do hope the team and I will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future.

With warmest wishes
Anthony Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Have just returned from a weekend theatre break (1night - 1/2 March) in London with my wife and son. This is truly an exceptional hotel. Staff are friendly attentive and the surroundings are beautiful. We booked the weekend indulgence package and on arrival were upgraded to a beautiful Portland Deluxe room. Room wasn't quite ready when we arrived and we were treated to tea and home made biscuits in the Ten Room. We arrived in our room which beautiful with B and O TV, all the gadgets but very user friendly and a massive and extremely comfy bed. But enough about the surroundings and not to mention the location, cannot be beaten for theatre - land!! What sets Cafe Royal Hotel apart is its food, just brilliant. We had the most amazing pre-theatre meal of tuna tartare (with radish and chilli), beef carpaccio (with truffle - exceptional) and then chicken and wild sea bass. Truly some of the best food we have had in London. Breakfast was equally good, beautiful pastries, exceptional bacon and sausage and perfectly cooked eggs, again with excellent service. Particular mention goes to the brilliant restaurant manager (the guy with the glasses) who served us on Saturday pre theatre dinner, he made our and our sons evening. We will definitely be back! Amazing experience....

Room Tip: Book your table for breakfast as it gets busy and even though there is a lot of restaurant choice in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ansteytraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Café Royal hotel during your stay with us. I would firstly like to apologise for the delay in your room not initially being available. I am very pleased to read of your appreciation for the Portland Deluxe Guestroom and the amenities we provide. I have passed on your kind thanks to executive head chef Andrew Turner and his culinary team, who join me in thanking you for your patronage. We look forward to welcoming you back to Café Royal hotel soon.

With warmest wishes
Anthony Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
Ham Yard Hotel
Ham Yard Hotel
#34 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#97 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#9 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#31 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,118 reviews
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#22 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cafe Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cafe Royal

Property: Hotel Cafe Royal
Address: 68 Regent Street, London W1B 5RL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in London
#21 Spa Hotel in London
#22 Family Hotel in London
#34 Business Hotel in London
#47 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Cafe Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining architectural heritage with contemporary design, Cafe Royal has been reincarnated as a luxury hotel in the heart of London's West End with the elegance of Mayfair to the west and the creativity of Soho to the east. Grand historic areas have been sensitively restored while 160 guestrooms, including 49 suites and six signature suites have been created in a contemporary yet refined style. Our guestrooms start from approximately 35 sq m / 377 sq ft to 212 sq m / 2,281sq ft with every room presenting itself as a suite. Continuing its celebrated legacy, Hotel Cafe Royal offers a selection of restaurants and bars for guests to enjoy. At the heart of the hotel, the Ten Room offers British informal dining all-day, while the Green Bar is the perfect place to relax and unwind with a cocktail. Restored to revive the ornate Louis XVI decor and detailing, the iconic Oscar Wilde Bar (formerly the legendary Grill Room, originally established in 1865), is now the place to enjoy Champagne, cocktails and a light menu of British dishes and live entertainment on select evenings. The Cafe, on Regent Street, revives the European tradition of cafe culture. To complete the experience, the Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Centre is an urban retreat in the centre of the capital spanning over 1,200 sq m / 13,000 sq ft featuring a large lap pool, sauna and Hammam/steam room and offering a range of signature treatments. Reflecting a core vision to harmoniously unite the four natural elements of nature, Akasha features four corresponding spaces; lounge/earth, spa/water, gym/fire, yoga/air. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TravelUp, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Cafe Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cafe Royal Hotel London
Hotel Cafe Royal London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing