We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing !!”
Review of Hotel Cafe Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Cafe Royal
Ranked #47 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
miami
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing !!”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

this is one Hot Hotel , located right in the middle of everything , service was first class , and the hotel was magnificant , they spared nothing when re buiding this one , modern and luxurius , great romantic hotel ,

Room Tip: cant go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank E40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSchoeffer, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your review of Café Royal hotel and your kind words regarding the service and design of the hotel, I am very pleased to read that these met your expectations. Thank you for your comments and I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards
Francois-Xavier Schoeffer
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    964
    162
    53
    23
    9
See reviews for
268
449
55
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I only got to stay one night in a junior suite at the café royal but it was everything I could have wished for and more. My friends and I upgraded to the junior suite, it was spacious, comfortable and had all mod cons, including a flat screen tv built into the mirror in the bathroom. We also had our own butler, who catered to our every need. The hotel is in the centre of London so we were close to everything. The rooms are very modern and up to date, Breakfast was delicious.
The spa and pool area look fantastaic but unfortunately we didn't get time to use the facilities. I would definitely stay here again when I come back to London

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSchoeffer, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Café Royal hotel and I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you also for your kind comments regarding the suite and I am happy to learn of your appreciation for the design and added touches; I hope these enhanced the comfort of your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future so you can experience the Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Centre.

Kind regards
Francois-Xavier Schoeffer
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed at the new Cafe Royal Hotel in September, unfortunately only for one night. Certainly a revelation in London - very spacious rooms, extremely well appointed. What really impressed me was the design: A beautiful old building mixed with fantastic modern elements. Add very friendly staff and you have a perfect city centre hotel. I'll certainly go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwh_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSchoeffer, Director of Operations at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review of Café Royal hotel, I am delighted you enjoyed the experience and appreciated the luxury of the guestrooms. David Chipperfield Architects led the hotels restoration and have achieved a clever combination of modern elegance and historical style. I look forward to welcoming you back to Café Royal hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Francois-Xavier Schoeffer
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We left a concert at Earls Court and were staying in Soho so went and had a drink the bar on the way home. When the bar closed we were then taken to the amazing Grill Room. The service was great and the drinks delicious. I would love to stay at this hotel and would definitely go to the Grill Room again, absolutely beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank juliatki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSchoeffer, Director of Operations at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience in the Grill Room and The Bar at Café Royal hotel, I am heartened to read your kind words and will pass these on to members of the team. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to welcome you back in the near future to experience a stay at the hotel.

Warm Regards,
Francois-Xavier Schoeffer
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new delhi
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

It has taken the Cafe Royal four years of renovation to open its door to the public or should I say the esteemed few. From the moment your taxi arrives at the entrance, you can let go of your bags, Thank God, and indulge in the luxury.

The lobby has been kept unintentionally unobtrusive except for a large bloom of flowers that welcomes you. The lifts which are highlights of the hotel - have been renovated - are actually old lifts with double doors. The key features have still been maintained.

The bar is bedecked with antique chandeliers and ornate red and gold furniture. There is a simpler cafe for all those who would prefer a simple cup of coffee and a muffin. Their confectionery is very well priced and is visited by locals from all over London.

Once in the residential quarters, you encounter the modern decor. Minimalistic and simple, the bedrooms open with the touch of your key card. The amenities alcove house a state of the art Nespresso machine.

The whole room is automated on your remote. We were rather enamored with the Banf & Olofsen large television in our room and the in mirror TV in the bathrooms. The beds are large king - not the usual 6 feet but yes 7 feet wide. This is the feature of the standard rooms too.

The breakfast is sit down - no buffet. You can order worth a luxurious GBP 32 per person. One cannot eat that much worth however hungry you maybe.

The light shaft that flows from the top of the building to the first level is a great Green Policy as it in filters natural light into the hallways. The ingenuous architect had to combine 3 buildings to design the hotel from a Bank and 2 office buildings. So the hotel is actually A shaped and I been very impressed with his design.

The Suite Balcony doors have triple glazing so that while you see the hustle bustle of Regent Street, you cannot hear the noise outside. The Carrera marble mines had been commissioned to supply marble only the Cafe Royal for 3 months. No delivery elsewhere. Each bathtub, each washbasin counter is hand carved from a single block of marble. Can you imagine that?

I was lucky to view their Dome Suite - some pictures of the views from the suite are attached. Even if you are a Londoner or just visiting London and need to entertain, this is the place that you would like to hire. You will clinch that million dollar deal.

The hotel is located on Piccadilly Circus tube station - adjacent to Leicester Square, Soho, on Regent Street and a 5 minute walk to Oxford Street, opposite the new Burberry store.

I would never think of staying elsewhere again. Cafe Royal is the place to be.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ynottravelnewdelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSchoeffer, Director of Operations at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share such a detailed review about your stay at Café Royal hotel. I am very pleased to read of your appreciation for the renovation. Led my David Chipperfield Architects, Café Royal has been sensitively restored, maintaining historic detail but now combined with a modern and contemporary elegance. I am also happy to read that you enjoyed the special extra touches we include in our guestrooms and I hope this added to the comfort of your stay. Thank you also for your kind comments about the restaurants and bars in the hotel, I am delighted that these were to your liking. I do hope the team and I will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future.

Best Regards,
Francois-Xavier Schoeffer
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a weekend break with friends. From the moment we stepped out of the taxi to the minute we left, we were just blown away by the excellent service, magnificence of the hotel. The staff are extremely friendly, inviting, and accommodating for anything you need. We upgraded to the Westminster Suite with just a small upgrade fee but it was worth every penny.Fresh milk was brought to our room on request. The suite was hugh, both bedroom and living room had nice view of regent street. The suite had 2 bathrooms with beautiful marble fittings. The suite was contemporary and high tech but this may put others off and cold feel a bit cold and lifeless if one is used to a more decadent lifestyle.
The breakfast was good,along with the service but lacked value also the ten room can be a bit dark and dismal to start ones day off. The bar staffs were excellent, we asked for a drink that was not on the menu, but it was not a problem. They happily supplied the drink.
All in all we had lovely time there and only wish we had time to try the spa and swimming pool.

Room Tip: room 429, ask for a upgrade, regent street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miscdazc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSchoeffer, Director of Operations at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience at Café Royal hotel. I am very happy to read that you received excellent service and I will pass on these kind words to members of the team. Café Royal has some of the largest suites in London and I’m particularly pleased to learn of your appreciation for the special touches included in your luxurious Westminster Suite. The Ten Room is soon to be enhanced and I will ensure that your comments are addressed. I hope to have the chance to welcome you back once these changes have been made later in the year, especially as you are yet to enjoy the wonderful Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Centre.

Warm Regards,
Francois-Xavier Schoeffer
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2013

It was my fourth stay at Cafe Royal since it open last year and I have to say, I have never been so impressed by the quality and the personalization of the service in a hotel than the four last night i had there. You truly feel like at home and people in every public space are efficient and incredibly kind.
Location is just incredible and you can love or not the design but it's modern, new and it has everything you will expect from a 5 stars hotel.(not the case of every 5 stars in London)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSchoeffer, Director of Operations at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive review on Café Royal hotel, I am pleased that you continue to stay with us and that you enjoyed your fourth stay. I am very happy to hear your kind words regarding the service you received and I will be sure to pass on your comments to the team. I hope we will continue to have the pleasure of hosting you and that we can welcome you back for your fifth stay in the very near future.

Warm Regards,

Francois-Xavier Schoeffer
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
Ham Yard Hotel
Ham Yard Hotel
#35 of 1,067 in London
848 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,067 in London
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#98 of 1,067 in London
836 reviews
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#21 of 1,067 in London
1,449 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#25 of 1,067 in London
3,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cafe Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cafe Royal

Property: Hotel Cafe Royal
Address: 68 Regent Street, London W1B 5RL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in London
#21 Spa Hotel in London
#22 Family Hotel in London
#34 Business Hotel in London
#46 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Cafe Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining architectural heritage with contemporary design, Cafe Royal has been reincarnated as a luxury hotel in the heart of London's West End with the elegance of Mayfair to the west and the creativity of Soho to the east. Grand historic areas have been sensitively restored while 160 guestrooms, including 49 suites and six signature suites have been created in a contemporary yet refined style. Our guestrooms start from approximately 35 sq m / 377 sq ft to 212 sq m / 2,281sq ft with every room presenting itself as a suite. Continuing its celebrated legacy, Hotel Cafe Royal offers a selection of restaurants and bars for guests to enjoy. At the heart of the hotel, the Ten Room offers British informal dining all-day, while the Green Bar is the perfect place to relax and unwind with a cocktail. Restored to revive the ornate Louis XVI decor and detailing, the iconic Oscar Wilde Bar (formerly the legendary Grill Room, originally established in 1865), is now the place to enjoy Champagne, cocktails and a light menu of British dishes and live entertainment on select evenings. The Cafe, on Regent Street, revives the European tradition of cafe culture. To complete the experience, the Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Centre is an urban retreat in the centre of the capital spanning over 1,200 sq m / 13,000 sq ft featuring a large lap pool, sauna and Hammam/steam room and offering a range of signature treatments. Reflecting a core vision to harmoniously unite the four natural elements of nature, Akasha features four corresponding spaces; lounge/earth, spa/water, gym/fire, yoga/air. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Cafe Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cafe Royal Hotel London
Hotel Cafe Royal London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing