We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection Personified”
Review of Hotel Cafe Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Cafe Royal
Ranked #41 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Perfection Personified”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

With limited options I chose to book into this recently renovated London hotel. From the moment I walked in to the moment I left I was enthralled. The service was unparalleled, the location (get to shopping streets and museums on foot and the tube in 2 minutes away for a quick trip to St Paul's Cathedral for example) ideal, the room had all the latest design and technology but was still warm and welcoming. The chic bar is a real gem and the afternoon tea was nice. If this fits your budget you will be overjoyed.

Room Tip: Just refurbished, you will enjoy any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChinaJoe889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouisSailer, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you so very much for your kind words regarding your stay at Café Royal hotel, especially the service you received from my team. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and that our central London location was to your liking. I am also very pleased to read your enjoyed our guestrooms and took advantage of the modern technology they offer.

Please do come and stay again in the near future.

With kindest regards

Louis Sailer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    983
    164
    52
    23
    10
See reviews for
272
458
56
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Asia
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Cafe Royal Hotel in London is unbeatable by its peers in terms of location,service,food quality and room comfort. The hotel is on Regent Street and only two steps from Picadilly Circus tube station. The rooms are quiet however, due to their triple glazing glass. The staff are professional and yet homey, friendly and knowledgeable. The newly renovated rooms are designed with customer comfort and pleasure in mind. We had two junior suites in two reservations and both time we couldn't have been happier with our rooms. Everything works well. We especially appreciate separate areas for shower, sinks (ours comes with two sinks) and toilets. This is a must in any good hotels when everyone needs to be ready in a short time in the morrnings.
We ate at their Cafe several times and was always pleased with both service and the food. Morning baked goods are first class as they are famous for pastry and coffee.
This is our choice hotel when we visit London fome now.

Room Tip: All rooms are big by London standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EELSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouisSailer, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you very much for leaving such a warm review after your recent stay at Café Royal hotel. I was so happy to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and that our central London location and Junior Suite accommodation was so much to your liking. I was so pleased to read you enjoyed all the little touches we provide to make our guests stay just that extra bit special.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Please do come and stay with us again in the near future so we can again meet your expectations or even exceed them.

My kindest regards

Louis Sailer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I stayed here with the wife on a weekend recently during a short stopover from Paris. The location is great as it is close to Regent Street, West End, Chinatown, Oxford Street, Mayfair, Soho etc. But we were absolutely blown away by the interior and service of the hotel. From the minute we stepped into the hotel, we were warmly greeted by staff at the restaurant, concierge, front desk etc. We stayed on the 5th floor in a Mansard Deluxe Guestroom. It seems if you get the adjacent guestroom the 2 rooms can be combined together with a main door. The bathroom marble is excellent and the bathroom mirror comes with a built in TV! It's fantastic for watching TV from the elegant marble bath tub. The room and decor of wood finishing is fantastic, beds are cosy and the B&O stand tv is cool and chic. It swivels also via the remote control so you can watch it from various angles. However the in-house tv system is not fantastic and slow in changing channels, could do with a software upgrade to make it run smoother. Bedside lamps are touch activated. Complimentary Nespresso machine is provided along with complimentary GLASS bottles of water, still and sparkling. The evening service supplements this with another mini glass bottle of water. The bar is ok and the grill is greatly decorated. Food is excellent and you can hop outside to Regent street to have pastries at the hotel's cafe. Everything is elegantly and stylishly done. The staff is excellent and especially the doormen in trying to help us get a cab on such a busy area, they crossed over Regent Street to get one with full confidence and aplomb. I am definitely coming back here when the spa, pool etc is fully up and running, I just hope the prices stay the same because you really get fantastic value for this first year promotion rate! Grab it while you can, you won't regret it!

Room Tip: Select rooms on higher floors, there isn't much of a view but you can open the windows can the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benbecks23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouisSailer, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review of Café Royal hotel. I was delighted to read your first stay with us was so enjoyable and that our contemporary luxurious guestrooms were so well received. I was so pleased to read you enjoyed all the little extras we provide.

I have passed on your very kind comments to the team about the service you received. I was delighted your stay met with your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With warmest regards

Louis Sailer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airtrainandplane
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Just had a four night stay in the Westminster suite. Great view, great size and extremely comfortable. We liked the decor, it gave the room an airy feel and added to the pleasure. Fantastically quiet and good blackout curtains. B&O tv didn't impress me too much, I've often thought of buying one! The Cafe Royal has saved me a lump of cash!
The housekeeping staff are excellent, often they do not get the praise they deserve as they are rarely seen but I am shouting Well Done to the girls. A clean room is more important than a perfectly poached egg!
Talking of eggs, the breakfast is as you would expect from a hotel looking to compete with London,s top hotels. It's fresh, tasty and made to order, none of the lukewarm buffet rubbish.
Breakfast staff are on the ball, polite, chatty and a great start to the day.
Location is ideal, right smack dab in the middle of the action. We never used a taxi, bus or tube in the four days. Some great pubs and restaurants within a brief walk and chemists and convenience stores all close by.
If the price remains competitive and they have vacancies this will be my first choice next time we go to London. London prices for suites are typically £800 plus per night so getting a deal or an upgrade always decides where I stay, let's hope the Cafe Royal gets my business.
A big thank you to all concerned.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxthewax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouisSailer, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and your kind review of Café Royal hotel. We are delighted to know that you experienced one of our Westminster Suites and enjoyed the beautiful views of London and the décor. We also appreciate your recognition of our housekeeping team, which will be our pleasure to share with them.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Café Royal hotel in the not too distant future when our beautiful Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Centre is open.

With kindest regards

Louis Sailer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Wonderful! Wonderful! experience!
From entering this 6* experience we were swept off our feet into absolute out-of-this-world service/food/entertainment.
From the magnificent entrance to the delicious delights of the superb Ten Room http://www.hotelcaferoyal.com/restaurants-and-bars/ten-room/ and cocktails in the S-T-U-N-N-I-N-G Grill Room http://www.hotelcaferoyal.com/restaurants-and-bars/the-grill-room/ ....we have NEVER experienced hospitality like it . This amazing evening was completed with the beautiful dulcet voice of a beautiful amazing female vocalist and pianist...... I think her name was Charlie.. WHAT a voice !!!! WHAT an incredible experience.... and for a Wednesday ! xx THANK YOU !!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank verasview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouisSailer, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your glowing review of Café Royal hotel. I am delighted your time with us was so enjoyable and that you especially liked the cuisine in the Ten Room and entertainment programme in The Grill Room.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

My kindest regards
Louis Sailer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Book here now because as soon as that spa opens and they finish the construction, I assume the price will jump considerably. We had a Jr Suite for 5 nights...really lovely room and the bathroom was awesome. All marble, huge space with separate toilet and shower. Excellently decorated. Automatic lighting, curtains. The lighting is a little tricky and there isn't exactly enough overhead. There is a nespresso machine in the room with complimentary coffee. Yum. Mini bar, safe, plenty of closet and drawer space. Three phones, door bell, privacy setting. Cozy bed with all Frette linens, towels, bathmats. And the staff is great. They simply couldn't be more helpful and friendly. Location is great with tons to do within walking distance including shopping, hundreds of restaurants and a Whole Foods right behind the hotel so we bought a few things and put them in the mini bar. Really - this was absolutely one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at...right up there with the best of the best.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j9lulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouisSailer, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for very much for your detailed review of Café Royal hotel. It is a pleasure to read your first stay with us was so enjoyable and that our Junior Suites were to your liking. The Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Centre will open late summer and will feature a 62ft (18 m) long lap pool, a Watsu pool, public and private hammam as well as a state of the art gym offering personal trainers and aerobic classes. I am sure you will be equally delighted with our offering on your next trip.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With warmest regards
Louis Sailer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Where can I start? My friend and I were down from Edinburgh for the weekend and unfortunately were not staying at this hotel. We were looking for a nice wine bar and chanced upon the Cafe Royal Hotel as we walked past. The surrounding streets were very busy, and we couldn't find anywhere to just sit and relax. From the moment we were welcomed into this hotel, It was like stepping into another world where we were treated like royalty. The grill room is AMAZING, however the real highlight of this fabulous place are the staff as the customer service is exemplar. We had asked for some more nuts as we hadn't eaten dinner that evening, and the waiter said "I can do better than that" proceeding to bring us some delicious amuse bouche. After a lovely couple of hours, we decided to make our way back to our hotel in Knightsbridge and asked if they could call us a taxi - 2 ladies alone in unfamiliar London at 1am. The charming concierge asked us to wait, and off he went on his mission. He was truly upset to return without said taxi as due to a parade that day, London was hooching (Scottish phrase for extremely busy) but said he would accompany us to a nearby street where he felt we would get one. He insisted on escorting us down the road to a safe place to get a taxi. Our enchanted evening came to an abrupt end when we actually jumped onto a number 14 bus and were waved off by our knight in shining armour from the Cafe Royal. We were so fortunate to have happened upon this most amazing place, and this will definitely feature on our bucket list of places to stay in future.

Room Tip: Didn't stay so can't comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cassie7Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouisSailer, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Café Royal hotel \with us. I am heartened by your kind comments on our staff and am pleased that we were able to demonstrate how important customer service is to us. I have passed on your feedback to the colleagues in our team, who join me in thanking you for your patronage.

We hope to welcome you back to the Grill Room, or a stay at Café Royal hotel in the not too distant future

With kindest regards

Louis Sailer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
Ham Yard Hotel
Ham Yard Hotel
#42 of 1,069 in London
870 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#9 of 1,069 in London
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#98 of 1,069 in London
854 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#24 of 1,069 in London
3,966 reviews
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#20 of 1,069 in London
1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cafe Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cafe Royal

Property: Hotel Cafe Royal
Address: 68 Regent Street, London W1B 5RL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in London
#18 Romantic Hotel in London
#22 Family Hotel in London
#34 Business Hotel in London
#41 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Cafe Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining architectural heritage with contemporary design, Cafe Royal has been reincarnated as a luxury hotel in the heart of London's West End with the elegance of Mayfair to the west and the creativity of Soho to the east. Grand historic areas have been sensitively restored while 160 guestrooms, including 49 suites and six signature suites have been created in a contemporary yet refined style. Our guestrooms start from approximately 35 sq m / 377 sq ft to 212 sq m / 2,281sq ft with every room presenting itself as a suite. Continuing its celebrated legacy, Hotel Cafe Royal offers a selection of restaurants and bars for guests to enjoy. At the heart of the hotel, the Ten Room offers British informal dining all-day, while the Green Bar is the perfect place to relax and unwind with a cocktail. Restored to revive the ornate Louis XVI decor and detailing, the iconic Oscar Wilde Bar (formerly the legendary Grill Room, originally established in 1865), is now the place to enjoy Champagne, cocktails and a light menu of British dishes and live entertainment on select evenings. The Cafe, on Regent Street, revives the European tradition of cafe culture. To complete the experience, the Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Centre is an urban retreat in the centre of the capital spanning over 1,200 sq m / 13,000 sq ft featuring a large lap pool, sauna and Hammam/steam room and offering a range of signature treatments. Reflecting a core vision to harmoniously unite the four natural elements of nature, Akasha features four corresponding spaces; lounge/earth, spa/water, gym/fire, yoga/air. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cafe Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cafe Royal Hotel London
Hotel Cafe Royal London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing