We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a boring area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton London Canary Wharf
Ranked #73 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Indiana
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a boring area”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Canary Wharf is a ghost town on the weekend. Fortunately, it means that the Hilton Canary Wharf becomes very cheap and there are plenty of good rooms to be had. I managed to snag a Junior Suite for my stay on a Saturday night in April for an unspeakably low price. Getting to the hotel was a breeze, an easy walk from South Quay DLR without any crazy obstructions, hills or other hindrances. You could easily do it with luggage if you wanted to. The hotel is located in quite a nice area of Canary Wharf with some restaurants and nice viewpoints of the docklands.

My room itself was excellent. Not only for the price paid but for a business hotel in general. I generally prefer my rooms to be spacious, thoughtfully arranged and functional and this room fit the bill perfectly. I felt the room defined "junior suite" perfectly, with a divider separating the sleeping area from the sitting area. There were two TVs, one in each area, both flat-screen and adequately sized. All of the furniture was quite new and there was plenty of lighting. The bathroom wasn't quite as spacious as the rest of the room but it was adequate and the decor was quite good there as well. I have no complaints about the room at all, it was the best Hilton room I've ever stayed in. (and I've been to a lot of Hiltons...) I used to be a big fan of the Hilton Tower Bridge but if I need to be near Canary Wharf next time I'm in London my loyalties will surely be tested.

The only food I ate in the hotel was breakfast in the executive lounge, which was good. It was nothing special, just the typical full breakfast you can find at other Hiltons in London. The staff were all great, I always had a positive impression of all the staff I encountered there. I'd strongly recommend this hotel for anyone who has business in Canary Wharf but also for anyone who wants a nice hotel to stay in on a weekend trip to London. The neighbourhood isn't exciting to begin with on a weekday and it totally dies on a weekend but the DLR is less than 5 minutes away and you can go anywhere from there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PersonalEnsign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliverStockland, Manager at Hilton London Canary Wharf, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
I am really delighted to read your comments and that you enjoyed your stay especially the location and the rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,067
    981
    206
    55
    21
See reviews for
600
1,431
142
719
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed overnight for business clean and modern. Positives are room size, hanging space, tv, desk area and bed ring very comfortable. Also service was quick to bring toothpaste when I ran out. The rooms are very large compared to competitors so the bed is strangely small in the room. The bathroom is tiny and steams up instantly, fine if you could apply make up in the room - unfortunately the lights are so dim you would require night vision goggles! Im stunned you still have to pay for wifi, competitors do a better job by making it free. Overall it's fine for work. I wouldn't stay on a leisure visit.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slmorris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliverStockland, Manager at Hilton London Canary Wharf, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your comments about hotel and for sharing your experience, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I booked the Hilton for my boyfriend's birthday and was pleasantly surprised to hear about their birthday packages. My boyfriend absolutely loved the surprise package which included ballons, a personalised card, wine and incredibly rich chocolate cake:-) It was a lovely moment opening the hotel room door and seeing that. We were given an excecutive room with a great view of the London eye and tower bridge, it was just perfect! We have stayed here quite a number of times now as its great value for money, convenient and the breakfast is just the best! However, this visit was the most memorable so far and we will definitely be considering upgrading to an executive room next time. Special thanks to Jaime for organising it all for me and Kevin for the warm welcome at check-in. The staff at Hilton are all so professional and friendly and really make the stay that much better. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abi85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliverStockland, Manager at Hilton London Canary Wharf, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
It was a pleasure to read you and your partner enjoyed your stay at the hotel and breakfast. I was most pleased to read that the team especially Jaime and Kevin made this stay a memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2012

staff were polite and helpful, rooms were clean and to me the location was perfect for relaxing, seeing around as well as shopping.
Restaurant food is good but there are many other restaurants around if you choose to eat out.
Add a bit of extra money to access the executive lounge by booking an executive room if you want to pamper yourself.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonFrancois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliverStockland, Manager at Hilton London Canary Wharf, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you very much for sharing your comments and that you had a good stay and found the location to be perfect for you and the staff polite and helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I've stayed here on too many occassions to count - certainly over 100 nights in the past few years. Consistently I find the place good with efficient staff, and for me a good executive lounge with nice views and decent range of food/beverages. My only criticism might be one of sterility - the rooms are slightly bland, and in some rooms I've noticed an increasing noise from the DLR but that is a very very minor point!

Would thoroughly recommend the place - and also suggest you take the time to walk around a bit on the other side of the street (ie away from Canary Wharf) - there are one or two interesting bars (eg North Pole) and if you venture a bit further a few oriental food places. By no means much, but I find it's refreshing to see another part of town.

Room Tip: I'd go for rooms facing west - and higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard_Smelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliverStockland, Manager at Hilton London Canary Wharf, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you very much for sharing your comments with other travellers. We are glad to read that you enjoy staying with us and that you consistently find the service to be good and the team members to be efficient.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancsashire England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Huge room, bed could have been bigger, the dining room is the star loads of space, fantastic service and the most beautifully presented breakfast. Just round the corner from the amazing Hazez resturant, love staying on the Canary Wharf.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Razormond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliverStockland, Manager at Hilton London Canary Wharf, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for the lovely review, we were pleased to read your compliments of our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This Hilton at Canary Wharf was excellent, our executive room was very spacious and perfectly clean. Although the DLR ran below our room the soundproofing meant that we hardly heard it at all. Riccardo and the reception staff couldn't have been more welcoming and kindly sent up hand made chocolates and a card to celebrate our Ruby wedding anniversary. They had also arranged for rose petals on our bed - a lovely and romantic touch. Breakfast is second to none, there is something for everyone. Easy access to Underground and DLR, also water taxis up the Thames, which is a lovely way to travel during the warmer months. Will definitely stay again and would recommend to anyone wanting a top quality, comfortable, clean, modern hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floor overlooking the Thames
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charmol15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliverStockland, Manager at Hilton London Canary Wharf, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us at the hotel and it’s a pleasure to read that Riccardo added a special touch to your Ruby wedding anniversary celebrations – congratulations. It is particularly rewarding for us to receive such positive feedback and I will certainly share your comments with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London Canary Wharf
Novotel London Canary Wharf
#104 of 1,067 in London
172 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
London Marriott Hotel West India Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich
InterContinental London - The O2
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Docklands Riverside
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#52 of 1,067 in London
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Canary Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Canary Wharf

Property: Hilton London Canary Wharf
Address: South Quay, Marsh Wall, London E14 9SH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in London
#68 Luxury Hotel in London
#77 Romantic Hotel in London
#164 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Canary Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated conveniently in the heart of London’s business district, Hilton London Canary Wharf is an obvious and popular choice for business visitors. As one of our guests you will have access to a high-speed internet connection, spacious desks to work from, a 24-hour business center and many other comforts. Rooms are fitted with a widescreen TV and an alarm clock that lets you plug in your MP3 player, meaning you can wake up to your favourite music.When you’re not busy working, make the most of the sauna, steam room or work out in the well-equipped fitness center. Or sip on a well-earned cocktail in the very popular Canary Wharf restaurant, Cinnamon. Hilton London Canary Wharf is very close to the O2 Arena and Westfield shopping complex in Stratford. This hotel is a great choice for anyone wanting to be close to where business happens but not too far from all the tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton London Canary Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Canary Wharf Hotel London
Hilton International London
London Hilton
Hilton Canary Wharf
Canary Hilton Wharf
Hilton London Canary Wharf England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing