We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noiisy beware of the roos close to the DLR”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton London Canary Wharf
Ranked #70 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Noiisy beware of the roos close to the DLR”
Reviewed April 19, 2012 via mobile

Service is A's expected, breakfast is fine. A straith forward Hilton Hotel. But paying for a superior room and the train runs lets than 5 meters from your window is not really what you want. Well I thought it was a mistanke the first time so I forgave but twice thats just not good enough for me. WHO watts to stat in a Hilton Hotel at thise prices with a train in the livingroom.

Stayed August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Torben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliverStockland, Manager at Hilton London Canary Wharf, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Thank you for your feedback which certainly helps us to monitor and improve our services. With regards to your comment on your room location, on your next booking to the hotel please do not hesitate to request a room on a higher floor with a river view and subject to availability we will do our utmost to accommodate you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,165
    1,004
    211
    56
    23
See reviews for
626
1,481
145
756
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birminham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

It was my first (and probably last) time at the Hilton chain, as I usually choose Novotel.
First the positives: everything you expect from a business hotel is there, such as spacious and clean rooms, modern facilities, nice bar and restaurant.
The main issue with my stay was as I got the room and as I checked out. First, I was given a disabled room and, since I'm not disabled, I found it extremely unconfortable with a very low facilities in the bathroom. The room was on the 3rd floor, just by the railway, which meant that I couldnt sleep until trains stopped around 12:30am (and wake up again around 6am when they started running again). I guess the tip is to ask not to stay on any room facing the railway from the 2nd to the 5th floor.

Customer service was polite but extremely cold. Having worked myself on the frontline as a customer service representative for many years, I know that cold customer service is always a reflection on the employer not looking after their staff. This is probably the least friendly 4-star hotel I have stayed ever.

The other main issue was with the minibar. I am not a drinker, so I am never interested in this kind of service, however, on check out I got a bill for minibar services. I told the receptionist that I didn't even opened the minibar and s/he insisted that it was computerised and that I had used it. When I asked them to check my room, s/he was actually rude enough to say that he trusted me but that I had probably moved some of the items inside the minibar but that I couldn't remember doing it!!! Was this part of a scam to overcharge customers or just a way to upset them? After check out, while I waited in the foyer I overheard two more guests complaining about the same thing, as they had been overcharged for drinks from the minibar...

All in all, a very average stay and, if in doubt, choose another 4-star hotel unless you get a good deal.

Room Tip: Ask not to face the railway or request a room on high levels. If you're not disabled, remind the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dylan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliverStockland, Manager at Hilton London Canary Wharf, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thank you for your feedback which certainly helps us to monitor and improve our services. I am sorry to read that the service received did not match up with your expectations. This is not indicative of the usual feedback we receive from Tripadvisor reviewers.

I am also sorry you experienced issues with regards to the minibar charges. The system is very sensitive and can from time to time lead to erroneous charges which, we are in most cases happy to allow off with minimum fuss. If you wish to discuss this matter further, please do not hesitate to contact me. Your feedback has been shared with the team at the hotel and they join me in apologising for any shortcomings in service delivery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

This was our fourth visit to this hotel which is our first choice in London. Last time we couldn't get booked and stayed at a nearby hotel but were very pleased to be able to get Hilton booked up for our weekend. Got an Executive Room at standby rate which was well worth it - nice to be back at the hotel early in the evening and enjoy a snack and a drink. The room was spotlessly clean, as was the rest of the hotel. So easy to get into central London - Jubilee line can be closed at weekends but no problem this time. All staff very pleasant and the hotel feels very secure which is important to me. Looking forward to our next trip.

Room Tip: Try for an Executive room. Higher floors won't have the DLR noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GirlsAboutTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliverStockland, Manager at Hilton London Canary Wharf, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
We are delighted that you enjoy your time with us at the hotel and it is particularly rewarding for us to receive such positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We have just returned from a 4 day break to London.
The hotel is located 3 mins walk. from South Quay Docklands Light Railway Station and 5 mins. walk to the Underground Station at Canary Wharf.
The hotel is very modern. Our room was a good size, twin beds, flat screen tv, writing desk, lounge chair and stool, even had an iron and ironing board. The Bathroom was a good size.
The breakfast we had at this hotel is about the best we've had anywhere. The cooked food was lovely and hot, loads of choice and well presented. Orange juice, tea/coffee was served at the table and topped up as and when required.
The staff are excellent, polite and attentive.
The hotel is immacuately clean .
One word of warning, The DLR Docklands Light Railway runs next door to the hotel. Our room was on the seventh floor and directly above the DLR but the noise was not intrusive (just a low rumble) If this may be a problem ask for a room away from the DLR.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone. It may not be the most central but still one of the best.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the DLR
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XLU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliverStockland, Manager at Hilton London Canary Wharf, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and found the room to be of a good size, the breakfast to be excellent and the team were polite and attentive. I will certainly share your comments with the team. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Can't fault this hotel at all. Everyone was so polite and helpful, the hotel clean and rooms huge. Room Service fish & chips were delicious. Taxi ride to London Eye is approximately £24, but from there so much is walkable (we being nervous country bumpkins, not wanting to use the underground!). O2 arena very close and there's a wealth of restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayandcompany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliverStockland, Manager at Hilton London Canary Wharf, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback it was great to read that you had an enjoyable stay at the hotel and you found the team to be polite and helpful and the fish and chips from room service was delicious. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

What can I say other than the staff at this hotel made our trip truly wonderful. From Robin the concierge who arranged tickets for attractions and gave us fantastic advice to Anton the chef who came out of the kitchen and went through the menu personally with my wife who is Coeliac and advised her that he would make whatever she wanted Coeliac friendly. My own thanks go to Riccardo the Guest Relations Manager who arranged the wonderful welcome for us and a fantastic room. It made our anniversary and my wifes birthday so so special.The hotel itself is so well situated for quick and easy trips into the city and the jubilee line will take you direct into the heart of London. We felt very safe in Canary Wharf and the security guys at Jubilee Plaza and Canary Wharf stations presence was very comforting.
The hotel is beautiful inside, the rooms are lovely, but it is the staff that make this a hotel that we shall definately visit again. Thank you again to all at the Hilton Canary Wharf.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views and the sound of the DLR is less intrusive
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Speedfreaks50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliverStockland, Manager at Hilton London Canary Wharf, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, I was pleased to read you enjoyed your first stay with us, in particular the service you received from Robin, Anton and Riccardo who made your anniversary and your wife’s birthday a special one. I will certainly share your comments with them and I do hope we will have the pleasure of you returning to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Everything about our stay here was excellent. Our room was upgraded & was huge, all of the staff we met couldn't have been nicer or more helpful & breakfast was fab! The location is perfect for easy access to the Underground or DLR & we much prefer being a little way outside the centre of London where it's quieter with less traffic & less hassle. The Jubilee line gets you to Westminster in minutes. From now on I would make this hotel my first choice when planning a visit & hopefully will return in September.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mofitzp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliverStockland, Manager at Hilton London Canary Wharf, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you for posting your kind comments regarding the Hilton London Canary Wharf, we are genuinely pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the location of the hotel to be perfect, the breakfast fab and the team were very helpful. It is also good to know that you will make the Canary Wharf hotel your first choice when planning a visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London Canary Wharf
Novotel London Canary Wharf
#103 of 1,069 in London
272 reviews
Greenwich
InterContinental London - The O2
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
London Marriott Hotel West India Quay
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Docklands Riverside
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Point A Hotel, London Canary Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Canary Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Canary Wharf

Property: Hilton London Canary Wharf
Address: South Quay, Marsh Wall, London E14 9SH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in London
#67 Luxury Hotel in London
#77 Romantic Hotel in London
#164 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Canary Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated conveniently in the heart of London’s business district, Hilton London Canary Wharf is an obvious and popular choice for business visitors. As one of our guests you will have access to a high-speed internet connection, spacious desks to work from, a 24-hour business center and many other comforts. Rooms are fitted with a widescreen TV and an alarm clock that lets you plug in your MP3 player, meaning you can wake up to your favourite music.When you’re not busy working, make the most of the sauna, steam room or work out in the well-equipped fitness center. Or sip on a well-earned cocktail in the very popular Canary Wharf restaurant, Cinnamon. Hilton London Canary Wharf is very close to the O2 Arena and Westfield shopping complex in Stratford. This hotel is a great choice for anyone wanting to be close to where business happens but not too far from all the tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton London Canary Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Canary Wharf Hotel London
Hilton International London
London Hilton
Hilton Canary Wharf
Canary Hilton Wharf
Hilton London Canary Wharf England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing