We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not what I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kensington Court Hotel Notting Hill
Ranked #422 of 573 London B&B and Inns
Cahersiveen, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“not what I expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We arrived at 1pm but had to wait for our room and with no facility to store our bags we had to continue to bring them with us around London.
we returned at 4 and still had to wait until 6pm for a room.
The room was very small even though we booked a large room so the children could stay comfortably and this was not addressed when we brought it to their attention.
the breakfast was basic and finished early. we had to checkout by 11.
all in all a very bad experience.
dont stay here if you visit London unless you like waiting around, small rooms and early breakfasts and checkout.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 663Alma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    47
    58
    43
    101
See reviews for
90
68
13
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grimstad, Norge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Spent five days here in July. First impression was not very good. The reception desk was located in a narrow hallway and it was difficult to pass other guests when leaving or entering the hotel. The first room we got (number 21) looked more like a flea market than a hotel room. It was small, dark, had "flea market furniture" and the ensuite bathroom was a shower placed in the corner with only a curtain separating the water in the shower from the carpet in the actual hotel room. To access the room we had to walk down some stairs and pass a lot of (private?) stuff on the way down. Luckily the hotel was not fully booked, so we we were able to get another room. This room was also very small and of poor quality, but better than the first room. However, the bathroom was extremely narrow (no chance for two people to pass each other), furtniture was falling apart, the floor in the bathroom looked dirty, in general maintenance was lacking.
The walls were wafer-thin, so it was difficult to rest and sleep. The bed was bad, you could feel the metal from the frame in your back. Breakfast consisted of juice, yogurt and pastries. Not very healthy...
In addition: problems with TV- signals and internet Access.
Only positive thing - realatively friendly staff and good location, Close to Hyde Park and Notting Hill.
We PRE-paid 575 pounds for five nights, which in my opinion, is robbery! Definitely not worth it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sigrunn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We booked the Kensington Court Hotel in Notting Hill for 5 days; we thought it was a hotel as it claims. Clearly, it is not, but an apartment or "flat" as they call it in the UK. We booked a 2 bedroom, 2 bath, fully equipped kitchen, with sitting area and wifi. What we did get was a 2 bd, 1 bath with a shower only, 1 water closet (toilet and sink), kitchen with some utensils, but no soap, paper towels, sink sponge or soap for either kitchen and bath - which deterred us from preparing any meals in the "kitchen".

Really important.....There is no elevator or "lift" as the UK calls it. Our "hotel room" or flat was on the "fourth floor".... 77 stairs up. I am not complaining about the stairs, because I did welcome the climb several times each day; it took the place of my daily workouts at they gym from home. :) This would be a challenge for elderly, or those who do not climb stairs regularly. Please be aware of this.

The staff of Kensington Court Hotel are sweet, but limited in their ability. We chalked it up to being in the UK. When I asked for basic soap for the bathroom to wash our hands, they simply shrugged their shoulders and said, "we do not have". When I approached the management, they provided upon my request. Blow dryer is not standard as I thought, and I did not bring mine. The only one they had was checked out for the first 4 days we were there. Luckily, it was available the last day!

Know that every day you will need to get a new code for wifi access, for each device you have. We had 5 devices between the 3 of us staying for the 5 days. It is an inconvenience, but after day 1 you get used to asking before you climb.

The location is in an excellent neighborhood, quiet and family oriented. A great pub is on the corner, Prince Edward.

Beds were great! Close to Bayswater Underground and Kensington Gardens, where I was able to jog/walk.

A few sacrifices if you are flexible make this a good place to stay for a family.

Room Tip: Higher floors have no elevator access....you will have to carry everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrspbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Please note there are 2 Kensington Court Hotels in different locations. Nice location - lots of restaurants, 2-3 block walk to tube. Nice, very helpful staff at front desk. We had an ensuite room which was fine. We had to transfer rooms after one night though - was glad we did though as the first room had bathroom challenges (shower drain was plugged and the shower handle fell off) and it was a noisier location next to the street. The next room in the back was much better and quieter with a somewhat nicer bathroom. No hand towels or bathmat were provided. 2 out of the 4 nights coffee & creamer was not provided in room. The carpet and drapes seemed dusty and not as clean as I would have preferred. Wasn't sure if the sheets had been changed either. Continental breakfast was included although the yogurt and cheese seemed warm vs fresh tasting and 2 of the 4 days we were out before breakfast started. No elevator and lots of stairs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 13AnnD13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Our week long stay at this well situated hotel had it's ups and downs. The location was fantastic, the 2 bedroom apartment spacious enough for 4 adults, the breakfast plentiful if not delicious, great Wi-fi service and the staff were very friendly and helpful. However, there were a succession of minor irritations which were easily remedied and would have made all the difference. Firstly, no overhead lights in the living room or main bedroom; the problem was half fixed with the arrival of an electrician 48 hours later. Still no ceiling light in the bedroom; hooray for e-readers! Fresh towels were spasmodic and not always 4 of them. No soap or hand towel provided, no bath mat for the last couple of days and no tea towel or dish cloth at all. The last straw was running out of toilet paper on the last morning! Is it that difficult to leave a spare roll?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbie5067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

A last minute booking. I had checked it out on the web but it didn't bear much relation to the actual place. I was asked for a deposit of £20 due to cover any breakages - but I could only have made it better!! No towel in room until I asked, and no remote for TV. No fire escape and I was in the basement in a very strange location behind a strange door, windows were sealed up by dodgy paint work. No extractor for shower, but at least it was clean. Continental breakfast was very basic - cheap pastries and jars of cheap stuff for the toast, and kettles standing on the worktop. A lot to be desired for the price. But I have to say that the staff were friendly enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scarletcatrufus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

1- very cramped, only room to squeeze around the bed. Bathroom worse - a narrow passage as long as the room with no room for knees when using the toilet.
2- it gets worse. 'newly refurbished' means paint spots all over floor. No plug in sink. Radiator burning hot even though it's a hot summer night. Can't prop window open. 'bed' hasn't ever heard of springs.
3- breakfast - good selection and nice staff, but table held to wall with dirty screws and brackets, and benches (yes benches) falling apart.
Nice receptionist apologised for all of this. Mind out, it isn't even cheap! Go elsewhere

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington Court Hotel
Kensington Court Hotel
#730 of 1,088 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Notting Hill
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#599 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#358 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Kensington Gardens Hotel
Kensington Gardens Hotel
#445 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Notting Hill
The Abbey Court Notting Hill
The Abbey Court Notting Hill
#600 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Notting Hill
MStay Hyde Park Hotel
MStay Hyde Park Hotel
#521 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington Court Hotel Notting Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Court Hotel Notting Hill

Property: Kensington Court Hotel Notting Hill
Address: 4 Princes Square, London W2 4NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #422 of 573 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kensington Court Hotel Notting Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Refurbished! - Less than a 5-minute walk from Notting Hill Gate, Bayswater and Queensway London Underground stations, Kensington Court Hotel Notting Hill is a Grade II heritage-listedtownhouse across from private gardens and features Free Wi-Fi in all rooms and public places. All bedrooms will have flat screen 26 inch TVs installed by 14th July 2012.Most bedrooms have an en suite bathroom and others share bathroom facilities. Rooms have a contemporary style, with a neutral decor, light wood fittings, and tea/coffee making facilities. A continental breakfast buffet is available daily, including Croissants, French pastries, cereals and juices.With a 24 hour reception, Kensington Court Hotel Notting Hill is just a 5-minute walk from Hyde park, Whitley's Shopping Centre and Portobello Road Market - and only 15 minutes walk from Oxford Street and Westfield shopping Centre. The hotel provides a convenient base for visits to London's famous shops, theatres, museums and historic buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Kensington Court Hotel Notting Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Court Hotel Notting Hill London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing