We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice area, ok hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kensington Court Hotel Notting Hill
Ranked #402 of 557 London B&B and Inns
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice area, ok hotel”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Please note there are 2 Kensington Court Hotels in different locations. Nice location - lots of restaurants, 2-3 block walk to tube. Nice, very helpful staff at front desk. We had an ensuite room which was fine. We had to transfer rooms after one night though - was glad we did though as the first room had bathroom challenges (shower drain was plugged and the shower handle fell off) and it was a noisier location next to the street. The next room in the back was much better and quieter with a somewhat nicer bathroom. No hand towels or bathmat were provided. 2 out of the 4 nights coffee & creamer was not provided in room. The carpet and drapes seemed dusty and not as clean as I would have preferred. Wasn't sure if the sheets had been changed either. Continental breakfast was included although the yogurt and cheese seemed warm vs fresh tasting and 2 of the 4 days we were out before breakfast started. No elevator and lots of stairs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 13AnnD13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    47
    59
    43
    104
See reviews for
91
70
13
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Our week long stay at this well situated hotel had it's ups and downs. The location was fantastic, the 2 bedroom apartment spacious enough for 4 adults, the breakfast plentiful if not delicious, great Wi-fi service and the staff were very friendly and helpful. However, there were a succession of minor irritations which were easily remedied and would have made all the difference. Firstly, no overhead lights in the living room or main bedroom; the problem was half fixed with the arrival of an electrician 48 hours later. Still no ceiling light in the bedroom; hooray for e-readers! Fresh towels were spasmodic and not always 4 of them. No soap or hand towel provided, no bath mat for the last couple of days and no tea towel or dish cloth at all. The last straw was running out of toilet paper on the last morning! Is it that difficult to leave a spare roll?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbie5067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

A last minute booking. I had checked it out on the web but it didn't bear much relation to the actual place. I was asked for a deposit of £20 due to cover any breakages - but I could only have made it better!! No towel in room until I asked, and no remote for TV. No fire escape and I was in the basement in a very strange location behind a strange door, windows were sealed up by dodgy paint work. No extractor for shower, but at least it was clean. Continental breakfast was very basic - cheap pastries and jars of cheap stuff for the toast, and kettles standing on the worktop. A lot to be desired for the price. But I have to say that the staff were friendly enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scarletcatrufus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Level Contributor
74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

1- very cramped, only room to squeeze around the bed. Bathroom worse - a narrow passage as long as the room with no room for knees when using the toilet.
2- it gets worse. 'newly refurbished' means paint spots all over floor. No plug in sink. Radiator burning hot even though it's a hot summer night. Can't prop window open. 'bed' hasn't ever heard of springs.
3- breakfast - good selection and nice staff, but table held to wall with dirty screws and brackets, and benches (yes benches) falling apart.
Nice receptionist apologised for all of this. Mind out, it isn't even cheap! Go elsewhere

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I could go on and on and on about how terrible this 'hotel' is but in short here are my negatives: I requested quiet room as we were visiting London with our two small girls, my request was obviously ignored as the nights sleep was disturbed by the other occupants due to paper thin walls, doors slamming, rickety creaking floors, landing lights on all night, lorries unloading outside with the engines running all night long, the room was so small for a family of four and incredibly hot, my daughters bed was not even flat, so she kept feeling like she was falling out, no key for us so the lady had to let us in when we left the room! Breakfast was an absolute joke, they do state continental, but this was something else, unbelievably poor, tiny room with instant coffee and so on, please don't stay at this hostel, although they call it a hotel, pay a little more for comfort and a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jooolzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Do not stay if you expect to get a clean room. Three of us stayed here (thinking we had booked into the other Kensington Court hotel in London – do not get mixed up like we did)
We had ordered a triple room – with three beds through booking.com – what we got was a double bed and a single. Not too major a problem, but still. When we walked in – we were told that the key machine was broken – so could we go up to the room and collect our key in the morning. We said that was fine. While the two receptionists were talking to us the male was telling them to ask us for £20 – which I can only assume was some sort of deposit. The girl said no to him – but were standing there feeling very awkward as we could hear the whole conversation.
Carpets were covered in white stains – one of the beds has stains on the sheets. The curtain was crusty and didn’t even come the whole way down the window. The towels had dried up plaster caked into them. The shower had pubic hair in it. The water in the sink tap gave you an electric shock (no joke – we all felt it). The water didn’t go down the shower drain – so you were standing in a pool of water by the end of it. Shower head was not on a proper fixture so we had to hold the hose while washing. The cups for the tea were even dirty. If somebody in the next room walked around – the floorboards in our room squeeked. You could literally hear everything. The headboards, wardrobes – everything was dirty – if you ran your finger along it was black. The wardrobe was about 100 years old and shabby – the dressing table was old – with stuff written on the inside of it.
When we complained – we were shown another room – this was actually worse than the original room. The night porter said that he could do no more for us until the receptionist came in the next morning. We asked if he could help us find another hotel – he basically said no – everywhere is booked (without even checking).
The next day we wanted to speak to the receptionist about the state of our room. There was another party in front of us complaining too – so we were standing there waiting for 20 mins before we got seen. We were told that it was very unusual for the room to be dirty. I had to laugh – even the hall was dirty. She also tried to make excuses saying that their cleaner had come from some other fancy hotel – so that meant she was very good. I wasn’t impressed how she just dismissed us – so I told her to go up and look at the room. She then said they could move us – but we would have to hang around until after 11 when somebody checked out and they cleaned another room. We said we were only there for the weekend and did not have time to hang around. We asked if there was somewhere to store luggage (surprise surprise there was not – she wanted us to leave them in the hallway! ) She said we could wait around til breakfast was over and out them in that room – but that they still would not take responsibility for it) We finally got a key to our room (one to share between us)
Later that evening when we came back we went to our room – key not working- had to go back downstairs and stand for ten minutes because the girl was on the phone chatting to somebody (she was on first name basis and said “ok – I have to go I have guests” so I assume it was not a customer)
Breakfast was included – but we just walked into the room and then turned around and walked straight back out. Smell, food everything was awful.
The only good thing was the location – beside a lot of places to eat, shops, tube etc. Thank god we were touring and didn’t have to spend any length of time in the hotel. Hotel is actually a totally wrong name – it was a hostel and a really bad one at that. I would def not stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay in a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyluckytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2013

What a dump and if you have any type of Health problems stay away as a room on the 5th floor will put you in hospital, shared toilets and showers which is not made very clear in the booking process. Only good point is it's location otherwise stay away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington Court Hotel
Kensington Court Hotel
#770 of 1,067 in London
409 reviews
Notting Hill
Reem Hotel
Reem Hotel
#573 of 1,067 in London
690 reviews
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#350 of 1,067 in London
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
New Linden Hotel
New Linden Hotel
#598 of 1,067 in London
727 reviews
Notting Hill
Portobello Gold
Portobello Gold
#99 of 557 in London
326 reviews
Notting Hill
6 Portobello Road
6 Portobello Road
#360 of 557 in London
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington Court Hotel Notting Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Court Hotel Notting Hill

Property: Kensington Court Hotel Notting Hill
Address: 4 Princes Square, London W2 4NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #402 of 557 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kensington Court Hotel Notting Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Refurbished! - Less than a 5-minute walk from Notting Hill Gate, Bayswater and Queensway London Underground stations, Kensington Court Hotel Notting Hill is a Grade II heritage-listedtownhouse across from private gardens and features Free Wi-Fi in all rooms and public places. All bedrooms will have flat screen 26 inch TVs installed by 14th July 2012.Most bedrooms have an en suite bathroom and others share bathroom facilities. Rooms have a contemporary style, with a neutral decor, light wood fittings, and tea/coffee making facilities. A continental breakfast buffet is available daily, including Croissants, French pastries, cereals and juices.With a 24 hour reception, Kensington Court Hotel Notting Hill is just a 5-minute walk from Hyde park, Whitley's Shopping Centre and Portobello Road Market - and only 15 minutes walk from Oxford Street and Westfield shopping Centre. The hotel provides a convenient base for visits to London's famous shops, theatres, museums and historic buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Kensington Court Hotel Notting Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Court Hotel Notting Hill London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing