We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
London Shelton Hotel
Ranked #1,020 of 1,069 Hotels in London
cork
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awful hotel”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a week and made the grave mistake of booking a non refundable booking . After reading the reviews here I was not looking forward to my stay and had tried to cancel it but to no avail.
I arrived around 7pm in the evening to find that my room was not ready and was told that i would have to wait half an hour to check in .At this stage I was tired and not in the mood to wait but agreed to come back . The manager was not at all friendly, he tried to show me into the empty restaurant and was insistent i waited there but i refused . When i returned , the room still wasn't ready and there was no sign of anybody , again i was shown to the restaurant and told to wait . Eventually i was given the key to my room and set off to find it . Thankfully my suitcase had already been put in the room as I had pointed out , I was not dragging it around with me while I waited .
The room was at the tool of several stairs and I can safely say it was not worth the wait .It was extremely small and shabby . I went to sit on the bed and noticed several hairs and stains all over the sheet A bit much as I had already had to wait while they supposedly cleaned it . At this point i was fairly irate so I went and spoke to the manager who was neither friendly or apologetic and more or less waved me away , telling me to go back to the room and wait for it to be cleaned .
The service overall is appalling The rooms are filthy and noisy . The management are rude and extremely unprofessional I would not stay here again under any circumstances , in fact if the booking hadn't been prepaid , I wouldn't have stayed at all Absolutely awful !1 Do not go near it

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saraconse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    22
    25
    107
See reviews for
18
56
18
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds England
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Room dirty. Shower filthy. No towels. Window would not close, so traffic and railway noise all night. Insisted on cash payment although web site says cards accepted - manager kindly told me where to get cash. Parking was a joke - on pavement.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else - Victoria coach park must be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tayen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I have been there for one night and i will definitelly not go again.The bed looked like it wasn't changed.Bed sheet stained and with hairs.Walls stained,bathroom disgusting.
Helpful stuff,as they changed the bedding straight away.
However,if you are looking for a clean place,avoid this hotel,as it is far from this.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This hotel is not 5 Star.

My room was many stairs up to the second floor and there was no lift. I had to skip breakfast as it was fried eggs and toast; no boiled eggs. I could smell cooking oil in the mornings, and there were stains of it one of the towels provided, which also smelled generally of cooking oil. It was noisy on some nights. It was my first experience of having to hand in my key at the reception every time I left for the day and then collect it back upon my return. I shared my room with some kind of insect or fly each day. Not the cleanest en-suite. The shower curtain and bathroom walls were dirty.

However, there is a daily supply of sachets of Eden Shampoo & Conditioner, and Soap. The men are okay who take the payment (in cash, as the card payment machine is not working). The food eating hall is spacious. The bed is comfortable, clean and made every day. The towel was changed on the third or fourth day and it was cleaner than the first ones. There is a TV in the room although not all channels are available. The hotel is not vey expensive. Buses (29, 341, 141, etc) are readily accessible about 6 minutes walk to Endymion Road that lead to towns such as Manor House, Finsbury Park, Angel, Waterloo, and other desirable towns. Market stalls, supermarkets and bigger superstores (such as, Sainsbury's, Argos, Poundland, Boots) are within easy reach.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqueline O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

This hotel should be struck off STA travels preferred list, my 70 year old mother was recommended to stay here. The rooms were horrible the safety ( doesn't exist) and the rooms a HOVEL! DO NOT STAY here!

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
6 Thank estell78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

All these bad reviews are exaggerating just a lil bit lol Me and my GF stayed here about 2 weeks ago and I actually read the reviews on the train just before we arrived and prepped my gf to 'expect the worst'. Realistically though it wasn't that bad. Yeh it could probs do with a clean, yeh there was a pest control trap under the bed (was only a bit of sticky paper hardly a huge mouse trap), Yeh the shower head was broken but the bed was clean, the staff were nice enough and location wise it was awesome! Literally 20 secs walk to the train station and took us like 15mins to get from camden on a night bus! Love it! If you are paying this kind of money for a room then don't expect luxury. It's pretty much like staying at a uni students place. Basic but it does the job. We are on our way to london again today and was gonna stay here again but was booked up. If you literally just need a place to crash on a budget and are not expecting 5 star luxury then it's not a bad choice. Obviously there is way better but its not as bad the as reviews below say.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed for one night and the place was filthy, the rooms weren't ready when we arrived (2.5 hours after check in), the walls were filthy and there were large vermin traps under the bed, the shower was broken off the wall and the TV didn't work. The "full english breakfast" provided was two slices of toast, 2 fried eggs and a spoonful of beans. One of the guys I was with had kids drawings and writing on the walls in his room whereas a guy I spoke to in the dining hall found blood on his walls and questionable white stains down the side of his bed.

The guy in reception was adamant I hadn't paid the £70 for the room already until I showed him my credit card statement on my phone. After that he said the triple room I had booked wasn't available so he'd have to give me a single and a double, which was more expensive, but he "had to do it" as if he was doing me a favour.

I was only in London for a gig so needed somewhere I could crash out afterwards and this did the trick as far as that was concerned, but very little else.

Train station very close by as is a decent pub and some good food places/takeaways.

Room Tip: Don't book here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kyl3thund3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.7 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#398 of 1,069 in London
213 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge London Finsbury Park hotel
0.8 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#662 of 1,069 in London
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Venture Hostels
Venture Hostels
#713 of 1,069 in London
137 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western London Highbury
Best Western London Highbury
#529 of 1,069 in London
497 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ramada London Finchley
Ramada London Finchley
#646 of 1,069 in London
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Shelton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Shelton Hotel

Property: London Shelton Hotel
Address: 60-62 Wightman Rd | Finsbury, London N4 1RU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,020 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — London Shelton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The london shelton hotel is a basic bed & breakfast hotel which is situated just outside harringay station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your London Shelton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Shelton Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing