We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, roomy apartments”
Review of Plaza on the River

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Plaza on the River
Ranked #246 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the plaza. Overall is was a great stay. We had requested an early check in which was not possible. Which I totally understand but when we got into our room at 2 the linen still had to be changed, which was also fine we were just glad to be able to settle in after travelling for 35 hours. The confusion that followed I can only say the right hand obviously does not talk to the left hand.
We were contacted 2 weeks prior to arriving and offered an upgrade for £20 per night for a balcony room with a view. When we checked in we were told we had a river view with no balcony. I had to produce the email from the plaza to prove we had upgraded and was told we would not be charged the extra because of the confusion.
We had asked for our luggage to be brought to our room, after 1 hour we contacted them and it was then brought to our room. After about 1/2 hour our linen was changed so we were all settled.
Then after 2 hours we got a phone call asking would we like our luggage and our linen changed.
We advised that this had already been done. The next morning as we were in an apartment with washing up facilities I asked for a tea towel to wipe the dishes and also we had a hair dryer but no PowerPoint anywhere near a mirror. A room attendant and said there would be a PowerPoint somewhere near a mirror but could not find one. Then they brought me an extension cord. I also got the tea towel. About an hour later we got a phone call asking if we would like an extension cord and a tea towel.
When we checked out we had been charged for the upgrade but also totally mucked up the bill. We actually had a credit when we should have owed £52. It was eventually sorted out.
We actually loved the location of this hotel, walked to vauxhall station, ate at the Italian restaurant under the station which was excellent. The rooms were very nice. The problems were all communication between front office staff and also between housekeeping.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MontiNb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2017

Dear MontiNb,

Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry to heat the fall outs of your stay.

Please note that we do follow up calls after guests requests to ensure it has been done to our guests expectations. This may have been confusing.

I trust we will be able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,524)
There are newer reviews for Plaza on the River
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

845 - 851 of 1,526 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

We recently stayed here for two weeks. I was on business and my partner was on holiday. We had a one bedroom suite with limited river view. As always the room was fabulous. Sufficient space for us to spread out and good services including: A kitchenette with fridge (separate from the Mini bar) for any food or drink you want to purchase at a local supermarket. A dishwasher and washing machine/dryer (which made the longer stay easier for laundry). The bed was a very large king size bed, very comfortable (not too soft) and the room had wireless internet. They have changed the arrangements for internet since I last stayed here and the free option is not the fastest but sufficient for the basic business needs I had.
The really good thing about this place is that it has really good storage space in the wardrobe and a safe for your valuables (large enough to fit two camera's and our passport holders etc). Like most hotels, the only challenge is finding a place for the large suitcases. We decided to simply use the floor in the corners of the bedroom. Not ideal but sufficient space to still walk around the bed. The bathroom was large (including a shower, bath tub, toilet and basin). The space around the basin is large enough for one's major toiletries...although it did appear as if the housekeeper didn't quite like the idea of us leaving our gear there and a number of the bottles were routinely knocked over when we returned to the room later in the day. The other practice that I have seen in many other hotels is the tendency to pull out about 4 tissues from the tissue box, handle and rearrange them and pop them back into the box. Not at all nice. I would prefer to use tissues that have not been handled by someone.

Breakfast was included in our room rate and it was served in the downstairs restaurant. Service was reasonably good every morning (although on a number of days extra people from the other hotel were accommodated for breakfast here and this resulted is some delays and a queue on one day). The choice of food was considerable. Hot and cold choices covering everything you could ask for.

I had lunch in the bar on a number of the days and it was great. Service was superb and the choices were good for a quick lunch. We also had dinner one night at their restaurant Chino Latino and it was lovely.

Overall, a superb stay again, quiet nights and great sleep.

Room Tip: A room with partial river view is reasonably good value as it allows alot more natural light and isn...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SWGH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel, right on the River Thames.

It's split into Hotels on one side of the building, and apartments on the other side.

The apartments are one and two bedrooms - and have a lounge and kitchen.

If you can get an apartment overlooking the iver Thames, and facing the Houses of Parliament, you're set for a fabulous stay. Many of the rooms have balconies too - so if you're not heading out, you can sit in with a glass of wine and enjoy the views.

Breakfast isn't usually included in the price of a stay, but if you book it in advance, it's much cheaper than turning up at the restaurant for breakfast in the morning.

The main downside though is that the hotel is closest to Vauxhall Tube station - and this is a 10 minute walk away.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the River Thames
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelexpertdotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in mid April celebrating our wedding anniversary and as a late treat for my 30th birthday. The hotel is in a fantastic location on the Albert Embankment, situated between Vauxhall and Lambeth Bridges. Westminster and the Southbank are a 10 - 15 minute walkaway depending on your pace. The hotel is modern, clean and spacious with plenty of attentive staff on hand to offer advice and assistance. We stayed in one of the suites which we booked through our Club Carlson points. Our room was fantastic with panoramic views over the Thames and Westminster, we've stayed in London quite a few times and without a doubt this is the best view that we've had. The rooms were spacious, well kept and generously appointed with a balcony linked between the bedroom and lounge, a kitchenette, 2 flat screen TVs, a washing machine, coffee maker, kettle and walk in shower with a wide range of complimentary toiletries. As we had mentioned the special occassion at the time of booking the hotel gaves us a bottle of wine and a small box of chocolates as a gift which was a nice touch. On the day of our check out they also offered to securely store our luggage until we were ready which really helped as we had a busy day before leaving the city and would be passing the hotel on our way home.
If we had the oppurtunity we would have no hesistation in staying here again. We've stayed in a lot of hotels in both the UK and USA and this one is easily up there with the best.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisTUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

everything from the low key, very personal check in, to the large river Thames facing rooms is immaculate. My room had a huge lounge and diner, kitchenette with washing machine, coffee maker, two televisions, ipod dock and a walk in shower (with extra bath).

the fact that this room was free with club carlson points is just the icing on the cake. to stay in a 5 star hotel that offers every service possible with quiet efficiency for the same number of points as other, less impressive hotels is just a great thing.

If you're in the carlson programme and have points, try it, you won't be disappointed.

for a special trip to London, this is an amazing hotel

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

We travelled as a party of two adults and two children aged 4yrs and 10yrs and stayed on a Friday night during the Easter holidays. We arrived at the hotel an hour before check in and although our room wasn't ready we completed all the check in paperwork, discovered we had been upgraded to a river view suite (a nice bonus) left our luggage and headed back into London. Location wise it's about a 10-15 minute walk (our children slowed us down a little) from the London Eye out of the hotel turn right. The suite was fantastic with small kitchen including a dishwasher, washing machine, hob, nepresso coffee machine and sink. Dining table to seat 4, lounge area with sofa, flat screen TV,desk and floor to ceiling views of the river. The first bedroom was very spacious and had a king bed, wardrobe space, flat screen TV bath robes and slippers and floor to ceiling views of the river. The bathroom not actually ensuite as you walked out of bedroom door straight into it but close enough! It was huge with sink/vanity area, toilet, bath and separate walk in shower. The second bedroom was again a great size in a triangle shape made up as a twin with a flat screen TV, wardrobe space, bath robes and slippers and floor to ceiling views of the river. The ensuite bathroom again was a good size with sink/vanity area, toilet and shower. We received a voucher for a free drink so went down to the bar for a drink. Lovely modern bar area with sofas and comfy chairs. We were served at the table and the bar was quiet. The restaurant was an Asian/Chinese Fusion which didn't appeal to the children but we would of liked it! We went back up to the room and ordered room service. The menu was varied and not badly priced I have seen far more expensive room service menus! We ate at the dining table which the children loved! The food was very tasty and arrived in good time. Everyone had a great nights sleep very comfy and no noise. The showers were powerful and hot the robes and slippers a nice touch and worn by all of us! Breakfast in the restaurant was very good. Continental buffet and juices and as we had a bed & breakfast rate a film English breakfast cooked to order was included too! Tea, coffee and toast served to the table. The children enjoyed helping themselves to muffins, fresh fruits, cereals, juices and yoghurts. No one left hungry!! I would highly recommend this hotel especially if you are travelling with children. The space the apartment gives you means you aren't living on top of each other and the children really loved having their own bedroom to play and watch TV in. Plus we stayed up after they had gone to bed to watch TV in peace! We took a bottle of wine with us and popped it on the fridge to chill much cheaper than hotel bar prices. Would definitely stay again if we had another trip to London far less stressful than squeezing into one room with two excitable children!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 33_Rach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

From the moment I got here the level of service has been utterly fantastic. Firstly we got upgraded to a luxury apartment.....which was beautiful, from the comfortable beds to the magnificent and rather decadent bathroom. Throughout my stay I was dealt with by Aneta Brombosz and her team. I have to say, the level of service was out of this world, made my one night stay so easy and enjoyable, everything and anything I wanted was organised electrically fast. Will I be staying again........you bet ya!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NickBaldev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Park Plaza London Riverbank
#386 of 1,072 in London
5,352 reviews
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Southbank
London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Park Plaza London Waterloo
#164 of 1,072 in London
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza on the River

Address: 18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7TJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Business Hotel in London
#104 Family Hotel in London
#175 Romantic Hotel in London
#185 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $241 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Plaza on the River 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza On The River - Club And Residence Hotel London
Plaza On The River London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing