We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Plaza on the River
Nearby Hotels
$285
$202
Doubletree
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$196
$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Park International Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$248
$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$241
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$316
$285
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Strand Palace Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$326
Chesterfield
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,696)
Filter reviews
1,696 results
Traveler rating
1,143
314
124
68
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,143
314
124
68
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschino latinoriver viewbig benone bedroom suitelondon eyevauxhall stationpark plaza riverbankalbert embankmentwashing machinea small grocery storeroom servicefloor to ceiling windowsfull kitchenvictoria lineguest relationsstar hotelbuilding work
Filter
Updating list...
1,035 - 1,040 of 1,696 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Fantastic river view ,separate 1 bedroom apartment . Haven't slept so soundly for months. Superb ,cool , silky sheets , excellent bathroom facilities, space and tranquility. Great Chino Latino restaurant, atmospheric and delicious. Breakfast plentiful , but difficulty getting any toast on second morning despite asking 3 times ! Staff on the whole charming and helpful, one or two could do with a "tweek" Would thoroughly recommend this venue for a restful retreat to anyone who wanted to relax after a day in London .

Room Tip: River view are delightful.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ianpistoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear ianpistoff,

On behalf of the Plaza on the River Team Guest Relations Team I would like to wish you a Happy Birthday.
I was delighted to read your comments regarding the hotel and the staff. We always pride ourselves to provide high level of customer service and I am pleased to see that we have made your family's experience a memorable one.
I have taken the opportunity to share your feedback regarding breakfast to our Food & Beverage Manager who has assured me this one of incident will not happen again in the future

Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed in the apartments for our honeymoon at the start of January and were delighted with the quality of the room. We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment and the standard was fantastic. Well laid out with everything you could ask for and more. Very easy to get all around London as only a short walk to the tube station.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ash3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Ash3012,

Thank you for your wonderful comments with regards your recent stay at Plaza on the River Club and Residence.
We are proud to be your London hotel on such a special occasion.
To hear such positive feedback is a great start to our day and we are looking forward to your next visit, maybe for your first anniversary?

Feel free to contact myself directly if I can be of any assistance.

Kindest Regards
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had experienced many issues with the hotel before we got there in regards to them not carrying out checking of their advertising on other partner sites,

Although our view was lovely, if we had not got a river view i would have been very disappointed and rather just kept the curtains shut.

The rooms were far from the 5 star standard, the bath some of it was starting to come apart, the cream carpets had black marks all over it, no bin liners in the bins, the washing machine didn't work. Using the televisions was hard work since the actual remotes didn't work,

As for customer service it was extremely disappointing for the amount that was paid for our room, and to then get there and pay an extra 50 pound per night, surely just to pay for what is used would be more appropriate. No Sir or Madam was use or even Miss and Mr was just first names.....5 Star I think not. From the beginning this is lacking, managers stating they will ring back I'd been waiting over a month for 2 different managers call backs.

The way one part of our party were dealt with on check out was rather rude.

Overall we felt this hotel was all about this money....money this and money that, not about the individuals at all. For over 200 pound a night, what was we paying for, personally just the room which really wasn't worth that especially since you could tell someone had been there before us, not the customer service and definitely nothing inside since everything in the room was extra.

Personally after my and my parties experience, we feel you deserve to be stripped of your stars so this alerts people you are not as magnificent as you expect a 5 star to be and not to make the same mistake we did. Hopefully you will improve.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank YorkSteph2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear YorkSteph2013,

Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your experience at Plaza on the River – Club and Residence, London. Please be assured that I have personally investigated all of your comments with the relevant Heads of Departments, and relayed your feedback to them.

With regard to the pre-authorisation matter, your card was pre-authorised upon check-in on to cover any incidentals as mentioned. As per our standard procedures, all pre-authorisations are taken only after being fully explained to the guest upon check-in and I trust this was made clear to you. It is common practise in the hotel industry to take this action prior to giving access to their rooms. .

I was shocked to read that you were addressed by your first name as all staff is fully aware our policies and knows the standard greeting of our guests. I reiterated your comments to the team and I am sorry that this was not done.

Having discussed your comments about the standard of the room I have passed on your comments to our Housekeeping and Engineering Teams and the issues have been addressed internally.

Once again thank you for your comments, it is only when people such as yourself take the time and trouble to provide us with feedback that we are able to monitor and improve our performance and the service that we offer.

Yours Sincerely,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed in this hotel at the start of a six week trip around Europe - it certainly set the bar high!

The room was fantastic, nice and large with a kitchenette, a lounge and a very comfortable king bed. The bathroom was also excellent with a large shower with good water pressure. To be honest, we didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel because we were out seeing London, but when we were there we really enjoyed the place.

It was about a 5-10 minute walk to Vauxhall Tube stop, and probably about a 10-15 minute walk to the London Eye and the Westminster Abbey.

The most impressive thing about this hotel for us was as we were leaving. We had checked out in the morning and left our bags in the lobby to collect later. When we cam back from our day out in London, my wife's ankle was quite sore. When we collect our bags, I asked where the nearest pharmacy was so I could buy an ankle brace, but instead the concierge made it his mission to find a bandage for me. He walked around to several different places in the lobby until he found a bandage and then brought it back to us. Now, this bandage probably wasn't worth a fortune, but it shows a desire to go above and beyond the standard call of duty of a concierge - particularly as we had checked out and were leaving. Excellent service.

Thank you to all the staff of this wonderful hotel, if/when we return to London we will be staying here again. Well done.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank rjdeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had an excellent three night stay in an 11th floor, 2 bedroom apartment overlooking the Thames. We really loved the polished contemporary floor plan and the privacy of the spacious en-suite bedrooms. Having ample space and privacy was a real treat compared with the cramp quarters we had experienced at our previous hotel. We enjoyed dinner one night at Chino Latino and appreciated the attentiveness of the gracious restaurant and bar staff. Great river views, our lux accommodations, and a courteous hotel staff added to our Five-Star Experience at The Plaza On The River!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bontonkeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews