We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“was kicked out from the dorm as I have complained regarding the hostel”
Review of Bowden Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bowden Court
Ranked #794 of 1,069 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“was kicked out from the dorm as I have complained regarding the hostel”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Just avoid staying here, it's for you, if you'd wish to study then better to choose students accommodations, this is an hostel , students are friendly and helpful, yet people work there is less helpful , manager is hated by many students as she has a definite horrible character.

Room Tip: There is nothing good points, it's place is worst than ever before.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 130501Hydepark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    19
    10
    9
    16
See reviews for
1
3
36
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I was at Bowden for about 10 months.
I pretty much chose this place for the period because of the excellent location.
It is a few steps away from Notting Hill Gate which means everything you may need is on the doorstep: Portobello Road market, Kensington Park, Tube, Bus, shops, restaurants, supermarkets, fast foods etc.
Rates differ depending on the length of your stay. Bookings of 14 nights or more will get you a better deal.
I was in a single room for £194 a week. One sinle bed, one wardrobe, one tiny sink, one desk, one chair, one nightstand, one small fridge(laid on the floor!) and a small cable tv don't make it much of luxury residence for the price. The room is very small, toilets and showers are in the corridor.
Breakfast and dinner included during the week, breakfast and lunch at weekends.
Facilities in the basement, such as tv room, gym, dining hall, token laundry, study room, dining room and vending machines.

Good:
-The location is simply one of best in London. No wonder those who first get to Bowden and stay for a while decide to stick about when moving to a flat afterwards.
-Commitment. You only have to pay £150 deposit by credit card upon booking plus £20 more on check-in for room/main door keys. No bills=peace of mind.
You can leave whenever you want as long as you give one week's notice. If you fail to do so of course you lose your deposit.
-Social life. This is a tricky one. I mean, to me it was a good point for a reason: I speak Spanish.
In fact the place is a Spanish colony; say 60% of residents(most are long-tem residents), 80% of staff. The remaninder are French-Italian. Other minorities are negligible.
Get it straight: if you are a Spanigh speaker you will have a great time as the Spaniards are wonderful people. If you are not, you are kind of cut out as most Spanigh guys either do not speak a good English or they prefer to go native when they are with their compatriots.

Bad:
-The staff. The management is terrible. The manager and the assistant manager are incredibly crabby and impolite.
Most of the receptionists are friendly and helpful but if you have a problem you will have to deal with the above mentioned grumpy ladies.
The night porters are good at running the place at night but they leave the reception unattended very often and their level of English is very poor. Besides sometimes they are a bit rude.
The only guy with a very good English(also very friendly) was an Italian, but unfortunately he left time ago.
-Hygiene. Although the rooms are cleaned every day the cleaners are not very keen. Common areas are not squeaky clean.
-Meals. I am lost for words... They dare to call it 'food'. Stay away! That is my advice.
-Common areas. The tv room and library and the microwave room are as small as a mouse trap. The gym is simply ridicolous. Not even a pull-up bar or a proper bench. No barbells..
-Rent. Quite expensive for a low standard accomodation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Viaggi0Xpassi0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Was here for 3 nights during the Notting hill carnival. Location is ideal for this.

However, hostel world advised that my friend and I would have a shared room but on arrival the receptionist told us otherwise. This place has a lot of long term residents so apparently 2 people travelling together are rarely able to share a room. The receptionist was apologetic but no help with this, told me to take it up with hostel world as he had sent them an e-mail advising this.

Otherwise, the beds are uncomfy, the showers are damp, mouldy and seem rarely cleaned (the same broken cigarette in the same shower each day) and coming and goes seems akin to that in a concentration camp.

We even waited outside in the rain for 10 mins before we could check in as the door was locked and reception unattended (aprox 4pm.)

One male member of staff was very friendly and helpful (albeit after we had to wait to check and then be told our booking was messed up) however all other reception staff had an atitude problem.

Expect poor service and no luxuary at these prices.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EvaSteppin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notting hill
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2009

Hi,
I stayed at Bowden Ct (I still am here) for 3 months now. Where can I start.. hmm...
The room:
I stayed in a 3 bd room. The room is pretty small for 3 ppl. The furniture and beds are old. There were bed bugs which I had to report to the Front Desk, after that a Guy came and sprayed our room. The bed bugs where gone. The service is pretty annoying. A couple of times they came to vacuum the room at 9am when everybody was sleeping. Its pretty dirty, but for the price you can manage.
The hostel:
I hoped to meet a lot of new people here, but unfortunately 90% of the people living here are Spanish and they have a close closed group speaking Spanish, so if you don't speak their language don't count on finding a group of new friends...
The Toilets and Showers:
Toilets are a mess and on top of that they flush every 10th time, so don't be surprised to seeing not flushed toilets all the time. I personally think they are saving on water that way. Showers are OK, but not the cleanest ones you could find.
Food:
Breakfast: Cereal with milk and toast + cafe or tea
Dinner: Usually pretty crappy, but once a while they provide a pretty good dinner.
Overall food is pretty good for the price!
Other activities, Parties etc... :
NONE
Location:
Excellent. The location is the BEST you could find. Walking distance to SOHO and Oxford street. Night buses and 3 tube lines. Close to London Night Life!
Overall:
FOR THE MONEY IT ISN'T BAD. ESPECIALLY AFTER LOOKING FOR APARTMENTS FOR A SIMILAR PRICE I CAN'T FIND ANYTHING CLOSER THAN ZONE 3. IT'S A GOOD PLACE TO SPEND YOUR FIRST DAYS IN LONDON. IT'S CLOSE TO ALL THE SHOPS, BARS, TRANSPORT AND TO THE CENTRE. GOOD FOR A COUPLE OF MONTHS, BUT AFTER A WHILE YOU HAVE ENOUGH AND WANT TO FIND YOUR OWN PLACE. IF YOU ARE COUNTING ON FINDING NEW FRIENDS AND PEOPLE, BUT YOU AREN'T SPANISH IT WILL BE DIFFICULT HERE.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank johnnythc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NIGERIA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2009

Never knew there are still places that serve workhouse rate breakfast in the UK. Stayed in this place for a few days, tried breakfast once and decided to cut losses and ignore it on other days. I mean how do you call two slices of toast (you prepare it yourself) a cup of tea/coffee with cold milk, lard/jam and cereal (corn flakes/oatmeal) breakfast? I mean no egg, no sausage, no beans even if you can go luxurious? i did not bother with the dinner but my friend who went said it was corn, a piece of chicken and greens (lettuce or so) and they calim to give breakfast and dinner. Please someone needs to insist on what B&Bs can call a meal for guests.
This place is only suitable for 1 night and you should not bother with any meal!!!

Only thing to reccomend this place is the great location!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AFRICAN7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2009

i booked a single room and thought it was adequate, clean enough and did the job, although i heard some rooms wer not so clean. staff wer pretty friendly and helpful though. nvr had any probs with the shared separate bathroom/shower although wasnt the cleanest ever. had internet access, ironing/washing room/sommon room, never tried the meals there.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amiraLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bari
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2009

I was there for only 3 days to visit London. My friend is there looking for jobs. So it was cool. The room as very clean, no spiders or anything like that. The reception is young and friendly. The only thing i didn't like as much was the food...coz i'm Italian. Overall it was a positive experience!!
Call in advance for booking!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elyBari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Venture Hostels
#713 of 1,069 in London
137 reviews
Viking Hotel
#819 of 1,069 in London
671 reviews
Earls Court
Windsor House Hotel
Windsor House Hotel
#982 of 1,069 in London
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
CityStay Hotel
#961 of 1,069 in London
247 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Hotel ibis budget London City Airport
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#728 of 1,069 in London
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowden Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowden Court

Property: Bowden Court
Address: Bowden Court 24 Ladbroke Road | Notting Hill, London W11 3NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #794 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bowden Court hostel is centrally located in the vibrant Notting Hill area of West London. Fully refurbished in 2010 the Hostel is close to all the attractions of the area and just a short walk from the famous Portobello Road street market. It is also within easy walking distance of Kensington Gardens, Hyde Park, Bayswater and Holland Park. A good public transport service to all of Central London is available within a 2 minute walk from the hostel. All rooms have been refurbished in 2010 and are provided with new furniture, a flat screen TV, internet cable access. Facilities include a TV room with Free view, Gym, Study room, self-service laundry and vending machines. There is also a provided smoking area and garden. High Speed Wi-Fi (20mb speed each) available throughout building and TV free to every resident. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Bowden Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowden Court London, England
Bowden Court Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing