We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre”
Review of Pickwick Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pickwick Hall
Ranked #579 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
Reviewed July 14, 2008

Stayed there for a couple of months when studying in London...it's cheap and centrally located, but that's about it. The mattresses are terrible and will kill your back. There's usually about 20 random college kids just lurking around the kitchen. They advertise free breakfast, but it's just toast and jelly. There is an illusion of security, but that didn't stop my laptop from being stolen. Apparently Pickwick (unlike hostels in uber safe places like Greece and Italy) doesn't require a passport from transient guests, so your roommate/new best friend named Tom can really be some Hungarian hanging around waiting to steal your stuff, and once he's gone, there's no way to find out his real identity.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Tdub1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    67
    24
    8
    9
See reviews for
19
46
39
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2008

Pickwick Hall was our first stop on our big Euro trip. We arrived after being awake for 30hours and found it a fantastic place to chill out and catch up on some much needed rest. Definitely not a party place, the plumbing is terrible , bathrooms need a bit more of a clean and place is very dated BUT the linen is clean, the bed is comfy, a short walk to the Tube and Sainsbury's and the common areas were a great place to meet and chat with other travellers. We'd recommend it for somewhere quiet to rest up for a few days.

  • Liked — Location, friendly common areas
  • Disliked — Cleanliness of bathroom (or lack thereof)
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dantri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2008

My boyfriend and I took our first European trip together and stayed in Pickwick Hall in London for a week. I had studied previously in the Bloomsbury area and wanted to book something in that vicinity since I knew where the Tube stops, grocery stores, etc. were. We had a very nice room with a double bed and our own bathroom, so that was fantastic! We also had a fridge and microwave in our room so we did some grocery shopping and made it our little home for the week. The staff, especially Patrick was charming, and he was downstairs every morning with the complimentary breakfast asking if we'd like some tea. I found the setting to be very nice, quiet, pleasant, and safe. We've already recommended it to some friends and would definitely stay there in the future.

  • Liked — The location and the old English charm.
  • Disliked — Several students studying abroad reside there.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jackiebleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2007

I stayed at Pickwick Hall three times in as many months and became rather attached to this charming hostel. The Bloomsbury location is fantastic - safe and quiet, and a very short walk to the British Museum. Patrick was a somewhat reserved but delightful and helpful host. The rooms were very spacious and clean, if a little shabby, and one of the bathrooms had a vague smell of mould but this was a small quibble. The free internet (two terminals) was a bonus, and there is a washing machine in the basement. Breakfast was basic but good, and the kitchen very clean, with the welcome inclusion of a dishwasher. Excellent value for money by London standards. I would definitely return to Pickwick Hall.

  • Liked — location, spacious rooms, hospitality.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rojokaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2007

no clean sheets, no clean pots, unpleasant staff AND customers, poor breakfast and suspicious things on the floor, hair and socks!!! in the shower but useless microwave and fridge in the room. Please, for your sake, avoid this horrible hostel.
Anais and ingrid from france

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ananasEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2007

Needing a place to crash for a few days in London on my way to Istanbul, I decided to give Pickwick Hall a try and overall, way satisfied with my choice.
I received a friendly greeting for the owner, Patrick, upon my arrival and was quickly shown to a small but decent room.
The room was clean (except for the carpet, which needed a good scrub and the walls could have used a lick of paint) as were the shared bathrooms.
Granted, this is not the place for a romantic weekend, but idea for budget travellers.
Being a theatre fan, the location was great, with the theatre district a mere 20 minute walk away.
Restaurants and grocery stores were located nearby.
The breakfast was good and the internet free - big pluses in pricey London.
5 minute walk to Holborn Tube and Russell Square tube stations.
I would definitely return.

  • Liked — Price and location.
  • Disliked — Room needed a make-over.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Andrexxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maritimer abroad
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2006

My husband and I stayed here on the first night of our honeymoon and it was terrible. It was very dirty and they messed up our reservation. The girl running the place didn't speak English very well. I have stayed in other hostels in London over the years and this was, by far, the worst. Only good point was location.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't stay here
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank proudmummy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Venture Hostels
#700 of 1,068 in London
136 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
London Visitors Hotel
London Visitors Hotel
#468 of 1,068 in London
368 reviews
Southwark
LSE Bankside House
LSE Bankside House
#524 of 1,068 in London
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Caring Hotel
#515 of 1,068 in London
780 reviews
Whitechapel
Hotel ibis budget London Whitechapel - Brick Lane
East End / East London
Kip Hotel
Kip Hotel
#598 of 1,068 in London
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pickwick Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pickwick Hall

Property: Pickwick Hall
Address: 7 Bedford Place, London WC1B 5JE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Pickwick Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pickwick Hall London, England
Pickwick Hall Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing