We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sub-standard.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of LSE Rosebery Hall Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
LSE Rosebery Hall Residence
Ranked #665 of 1,087 Hotels in London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sub-standard.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are prison like. Simple bed, cupboard and table (with no chair) combo. The one we originated in had cut chair and holes in the walls.
Staff were standard. Friendly enough.
No real positives that make it willing to stay.
Standard canteen.
Wouldn't recommend for any travel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kyliroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    75
    33
    20
    12
See reviews for
18
31
57
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Woodham Ferrers
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Mattresses were a bit lumpy and the en suite ceiling was falling apart, other than that, it was ok for what we wanted, a central location for a stag night in London. Breakfast was good, plenty of choice, with other options if you didn't want a fry up!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie S, Manager at LSE Rosebery Hall Residence, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

You may be interested to know that Rosebery is undergoing a comprehensive redecoration programme, where eventually all our rooms will be improved and the furniture, fixtures and fittings replaced.

Overall, I am glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us at Rosebery Hall, which prides itself on offering great value for money bed and breakfast accommodation in a central London location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

As l was taking my 86 year old mother to Sadlers Wells, l had to find accomodation that was very.close by, this was it. Ideally located with very helpful staff. It is fairly basic but the beds were comfortable and.the breakfast plentiful. The bathrooms were not too bad but unfortunately the toilets were blocked the whole time we were there and we had to walk to the next floor. Not ideal for an old person. Worth a look if you visit the theatre.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona T, Manager at LSE Rosebery Hall Residence, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor. I am sorry you experienced problems with the toilets at the time of your stay. We are currently undertaking work on the pipes in the showers and bathrooms. Unfortunately this necessitates whole stacks of showers and toilets being taken out of service with guests sometimes having to use facilities on other floors. We have done our best to make people aware of this prior to their arrival with notices on our website and we do try wherever possible to allocate to rooms elsewhere in the building and avoid inconvenience to our guests, but this is not always possible. I am glad you found our beds comfortable and the breakfast plentiful and hope to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

In London, one often observes the price of hotels to be obscenely expensive. The LSE Rosebery Halls are basic, clean with a great location close to Islington and not far from Kings Cross/Euston. Come one come all!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flying_Norsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
95 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

when I got to the hotel I noticed that it is very clean and nice, I got a room with a private bathroom also was clean and nice, the service was attentive and helpful, a good point is the location close to the city center is not far away and the area quiet and pleasant to rest, I would recommend because of the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oleczek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

It all depends what you are looking for in your stay. I went with 3 mates and had a room each. We went for a lads weekend away and wanted somewhere to grab breakfast and just rest our heads after a bit of drinking. Comfy beds (although they were travel ones) and quiet enough to get some kip when needed. Breakfast was ok and hotel was close enough to tube stations. Great Greek restaurant down the road near the town hall (just cannot think of the name of it). Hotel was great value for what we used it for - only downsides were the shared toilets (Shared with rest of corridor - but clean enough) and the shared kitchen (The fridge has food that had been left and stunk the room out). Great to stay if your going to be out all day and all night !!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bazza102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
119 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

If you need a night's accommodation at bargain rate in London then this is a good choice. Admittedly it is student accommodation and a little spartan with a shared bathroom but was very comfortable and very good breakfast included 6 items off the menu and unlimited toast, tea and orange juice. Bus stops are right inside to get down to theatreland and West End easily.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 25ahowbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
LSE Bankside House
LSE Bankside House
#515 of 1,087 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
easyHotel Old St / Barbican
#645 of 1,087 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
Hotel 65
#799 of 1,087 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venture Hostels
#678 of 1,087 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Earls Court
Boka Hotel
Boka Hotel
#731 of 1,087 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LSE Rosebery Hall Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LSE Rosebery Hall Residence

Property: LSE Rosebery Hall Residence
Address: 90 Rosebery Avenue, London EC1R 4TY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Best Value Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — LSE Rosebery Hall Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosebery Hall provides great value bed and breakfast accommodation in central London’s Clerkenwell district, just north of the City of London.Rosebery is perfectly placed for Angel and the City and is located opposite Sadler’s Wells Theatre. It is also well located for the West End and many of central London’s most famous attractions.Rooms at Rosebery are available at Christmas and New Year, spring and summer, with low rates year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, LateRooms, Booking.com and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your LSE Rosebery Hall Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosebery Hall Residence Hotel London
Rosebery Hall Residence London
LSE Rosebery Hall Residence London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing