We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great valuem with improvements needed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
LSE Rosebery Hall Residence
Ranked #664 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great valuem with improvements needed”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is great value accommodation for London, and a solid two star establishment. Would stay again.
I will cover some of the areas that need improvement, and some of the design faults that are not easily improved.
The receptionist upon arrival was not engaging as she was too busy with personal phone calls, hence did not feel welcome at all.

The lifts do not always stop level with the floors, so watch your step.

Checked three floors of which none had a kettle, not rectified by the time we left even though reception was notified. The problem appears to have existed at least three months prior based on other guest feedback.

It took three days to have the dryers fixed; once again a reception problem I think.

In the ladies bathroom the hand basin tap wasn’t working.
In the gents bathroom there is nowhere to change, nor hang the clothes.
Water doesn’t drain away near the shower doors, so quite wet when entering.

Other guests assume a communal kitchen means communal food.

The carpets were quite unpleasant to walk barefoot on, and should probably have been replaced years ago.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AustraliaLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    76
    33
    20
    12
See reviews for
19
31
57
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I very much like staying there. The location is perfect, close to the East End as well as Holborn.
The breakfast is first class, the rooms clean and usually quiet. Bathrooms are shared, but I have not had a cue yet.

Room Tip: Top of the building is better, because of street noise especially at weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ottotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England
Level Contributor
111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed here on six separate one night occasions over the summer of 2012; ideal for business travellers wanting somewhere very inexpensive (if booked well in advance); very clean bedrooms ; directly on main bus routes into city centre (38); close to Angel High St for shops & restaurants; only down side is shared bathrooms and showers - but most very clean - and avoid rooms on lower floors (for outside noise)

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors avoid road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smilerkevin61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

If you're after somewhere to stay for the night and a breakfast in the morning this is for you. Nothing fancy but if you want that you'll pay double! Decent location within walking distance of Angel tube or there's buses from right outside. It's only a 15 - 20 min walk from the City & St Pauls.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed at Rosebery Hall in early September 2012. We didn't know what to expect and were pleasantly surprised! We rented a twin share with ensuite. The room was big, the bathroom sufficient, and everything was clean. The breakfast provided daily was good. You get a choice of 6 items, and if you take a yogurt and fruit, as two of your six items you have a snack for later in the day.

This is not 5 star accommodation, but it is completely adequate, comfortable, and close to all amenities. I would recommend saying here if you are looking for a clean place to lay down your head at the end of a day of touring the city.

Room Tip: There can be quite a bit of street noise, so I recommend ear plugs (if staying in warmer months when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ErinandAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is very modestly priced, basic accommodation. If you're simply looking for a bed and breakfast for a flying visit and/or don't have the £150+ for a room at a big-name hotel, this will do the job.

The rooms are very basic, some en-suite but most with shared facilities. The single room I was in was of a good size, with a desk, hanging space and a sink for teeth-brushing. The bathroom on my stay was shared with 11 other rooms. The accommodation is organised into all same-sex wings - which isn't clear when you book but I found reassuring. The showers were modern, clean and efficient but the toilets didn't flush properly with predictable results... The room was quite noisy, but rooms on higher levels would probably be quieter. Wireless doesn't work.

Don't expect any frills - there's no TV, hairdryer, toiletries etc. However, the towels and bedding were very clean and the room generally clean and tidy - no major maintenance issues.

I checked in at almost midnight, this being the result of a project implementation over-running and requiring me to stay over. This was one of the few places still to have rooms. The night receptionist was friendly and helpful.

Breakfast is served refectory-style. It was the highlight of the stay - varied, plentiful and good quality.

I probably wouldn't stay there again unless I was really strapped for choice, but can see that this option offers travellers on a restricted budget good value for money for the location. I paid £39 for bed and breakfast via Laterooms. I've paid £160 and more for a much worse experience at supposedly upmarket London hotels so this place is worth a shot.

One final comment: LSE has sister accommodation in other London locations. I subsequently stayed at the LSE Bankside residence (another unplanned overnighter) and can strongly advise against it (see previous review). LSE Rosebery is much cleaner.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor to reduce traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AntigoneG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed in a twin room with ensuite on the 6th floor. The rooms in LSE halls are basic, but then you expect that since it is student accommodation after all, but they are fine for our needs. The staff are very helpful and, when the heating did not work, they came up with extra duvets. Our room could have done with some touching-up and re-painting as it looked a bit tired after a year of use by students. The hall is just a few minutes from the Angel tube station and there are many bars, pubs, cafes and restaurants nearby in Islington or on Exmouth Market. The breakfast is not haute cuisine but OK and plentiful (we skipped lunch most days)! Overall excellent value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mherbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
LSE Bankside House
LSE Bankside House
#547 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Venture Hostels
#686 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
easyHotel Old St / Barbican
#681 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Boka Hotel
Boka Hotel
#730 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Whitechapel
Hotel ibis budget London Whitechapel - Brick Lane
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#732 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LSE Rosebery Hall Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LSE Rosebery Hall Residence

Property: LSE Rosebery Hall Residence
Address: 90 Rosebery Avenue, London EC1R 4TY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Best Value Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — LSE Rosebery Hall Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosebery Hall provides great value bed and breakfast accommodation in central London’s Clerkenwell district, just north of the City of London.Rosebery is perfectly placed for Angel and the City and is located opposite Sadler’s Wells Theatre. It is also well located for the West End and many of central London’s most famous attractions.Rooms at Rosebery are available at Christmas and New Year, spring and summer, with low rates year-round. *Starting in August 2016, male and female showers and toilets in the Rosebery Wing will be completely refurbished. Works will commence on the seventh floor and carry on downwards. During the works, alternative showers and toilets are available for use. During the Easter vacation, bathrooms on your floor might be out of service, if that’s the case, guests can use any available bathrooms on a higher or lower level.* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your LSE Rosebery Hall Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosebery Hall Residence Hotel London
Rosebery Hall Residence London
LSE Rosebery Hall Residence London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing