We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid like the plague: absolutely filthy”
Review of The W14 Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The W14 Kensington
Ranked #17 of 929 Specialty Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2013

The saying "You get what you pay for" has never been more true than with this pathetic excuse for a "hotel". First of all, it's a hostel not a hotel, and secondly, it's absolutely filthy. To be fair it was undergoing renovation at the time I stayed so perhaps when it doesn't resemble a building site it'll be nicer but I would strongly advise avoiding it until the reconstruction has been finished.

Me and my sister stayed here for one night when we were going to a gig in Shepherd's Bush and just wanted a cheap place to crash. The bedding (bunk beds) was clean(ish) but the room itself was very dirty; mouldy ceiling, stained and torn carpet, filthy skirting boards, dodgy furniture and a safe which didn't lock. The cupboards in the communal kitchen were hanging off and looked very unsafe. The communal bathroom was absolutely disgusting. Due to the vast number of people using it the floor was covered in dirty water by 9am, the bin was overflowing with sanitary waste, the shower attachment didn't connect to the wall, and there were dirty used towels everywhere.

On the upside, the staff were polite and it was only a 5 minute walk from the nearest tube station. For £22pp a night in central London I guess this is the standard but next time I'm definitely going to pay a bit more for something half decent.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janebee26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,604)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

913 - 919 of 1,604 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

I have stayed with W-14 on a few occasions. The people who run the hotel/hostel are very good folks. The hotel is being renovated at the time of this review and it is a little like staying in a construction zone. However, work doesn't begin until we are finished with breakfast and ends before we get home from shopping, so it isn't too bad. If you are looking for an inexpensive place to rest your head, this is an ideal spot near both West Kensington and Baron's Court Tubes. Also the 9 bus will take you to Trafalgar easily. Some good restaurants in the area, including a nice breakfast place on the corner, unless you are happy to have cereal provided by the hotel.

Room Tip: 312 is currently one of the only ensuite rooms, but the renovation is making more of them ensuites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank realcaruso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Really handy hostel, this was like a hotel from the outside well run and clean and tidy. I will Def use this when I return to London on our next wee trip away. Great how handy this is if you we're going to the Hammersmith for a concert, this is what we used it for. It's not in the city centre but really close to Barons court metro approx 200 metres. Breakfast is just toast but if your early to the table you can eat your fill lol. Don't sleep in either or they charge you £10 and hour after ten.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tac9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night as we were attending a concert in the very nearby Hammersmith Apollo ! This location was great for the concert, and was more like a hotel than a hostel. Breakfast was served in morning with selection of breads, cereals, tea and coffee. Friendly atmosphere and rooms were tidy. I would recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nats1198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

When booking this hotel the photos that were shown were of single beds. We got a room with 2 sets of bunk bed and a single bed in the corner every time the three of us came back to the room there was a new person. There was no type of air circulation. The whole floor shares one shower and a toilet which are udderably disgusting. Like I said the holiday inn express is right down the street go there!!!!

Room Tip: Don't go here PERIOD!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 105sharies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Geraldine R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Don't be fooled, this place doesn't qualify as a hotel. Basically it is a hostel. Rates were much cheaper than staying at a real hotel. Facilities were subpar but you can't expect a lot for the price you pay. I stayed in a quad room. Nothing in the room except for 4 beds (2 bunk beds) and lockers. The room was on the first floor and probably only 6 feet wide. No shower on the first floor, I had to climb the stairs to the 2nd floor. The shared bathroom and shower were heavily used in the morning. at least there were more showers on other floors and the other side of the building. The lockers in the room could hold basics (bring your own lock though). There was a TV room to relax and a game room if you wanted to play games. Breakfast was acceptable, toast, cereals, milk and juice. You can go to their web site to book rooms but I found much better rates on third party sites.

There isn't much in the area so make sure you buy your things before getting to the hostel. There is the baron's court underground station a few blocks away and the kensington and hammersmith underground stations a little farther away but the hostel is in a quiet residential neighborhood.

If you are looking for a quality stay....go elsewhere and pay much more to stay in a hotel. But if you have the "hostel" mentality and don't mind sharing your room with others and can overlook the deficiencies then this place is good to stay at.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hawaiitravellerinsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#268 of 1,078 in London
3,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
#293 of 1,078 in London
1,371 reviews
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Melia White House
Melia White House
#294 of 1,078 in London
7,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The W14 Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The W14 Kensington

Address: 16-22 Gunterstone Road | West Kensington, London W14 9BU, England (Formerly Ace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 929 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range: $99 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The W14 Kensington 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The W14 Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The w14 Hotel London
The W14 Kensington London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing