We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent facilities, great location, helpful staff.....”
Review of The W14 Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The W14 Kensington
Ranked #16 of 823 Specialty Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
“Decent facilities, great location, helpful staff.....”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

this is a great place to stay in central london. It offers great prices, various options in breakfast, its clean, easily accessible, kind and helpful staff. its value for money.... i would like to highly recommend it :D

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nandita n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    636
    166
    68
    94
See reviews for
340
391
143
261
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halden, Norway
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We are a family of 4. Two girls 11 and 13 years old + mun and dad. I was worried that the Hotel was going to be ugly and dirty, but I was pleased to see that it is a lovely Hotel with good standards. We were absolutely adored by the staff. Out in the back, the most private little garden was hidden away. Breakfast included, totally ok; toast, jam, cereal, juice, milk, coffee and tee.
If you like to have something hot in the evening, the Hotel have a nice bar with breweries and dinner. W14 are not far from London city, the tube are only 5 minutes walk from the hotel. There even are a 24/7 shop in the neighbourhood.
Me and my family will highly recommend a stay at W14. we are certainly coming back :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthFjellheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I spent nearly a month at W14 hotel, and I would definitely recommend it to anyone!
1. Location
It is easily linked with tube (West Kensington and Barons Court are both 5 minutes away) and bus (route n. 9-10 from Hammersmith directly to city centre).
In the surroundings there are many small shops and supermarkets,as well as plenty of fast food take-away.

2. Rooms
I stayed in a 4-bed dorm, and since I was there for a long time, I had to move from a room to another sometimes, but all of them were always absolutely clean.
Floors and basins cleaned everyday, bed sheets and towels always spotless, but most important, toilets!! There are plenty of them!!! So if you are in a hurry in the morning you can always find one that is not engaged!

3.Other services
There is free wifi in the lounge and you can also use some computers they have, but you'll have to pay for them.

Breakfast is basic continental, milk coffee orange juice toast butter jam, but it's always fresh! You can see waitresses bringing freshly toasted bread every 5 mins!

There's also a bar for drinks and some snacks, pool table and games machines, two big screens and comfy sofas you could easily fall asleep onto!

Laundry available, and also small kitchen so you can save money on restaurants and cook your own food!! I think it was so handy!!!

4. Staff
Everybody is always happy to help you with anything you may need, whether it is some hotel request or general travel advice or even more specific questions about life in London. They are always nice and friendly!

I would absolutely recommend it and if I had to book a room in London, I'd go for W14 blindfolded!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alessandraita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed for Notting Hill Carnival for which it was perfectly situated. Stayed in a 6-bed dorm, very clean, even providing towels which is quite rare.
Staff very helpful.
Breakfast is basic cereal, toast, coffee, juice etc. But toast is brought freshly to your table, so always hot and not soggy!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenCLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Came down to watch a wicked the musical (which was fantastic) however the place we stayed was definitely not.
There were two single beds merged together for a "double" bed and the pillows had such filthy foul stains on them I slept without a pillow. I was scared. I checked the linen and even checked the mattress! (paranoia!). The bed was horrific - as previous people have commented the floor would be much better.

The bathroom was adequate and the shower functioned correctly- least I was able to wash with hot water.

The room was directly below the main reception, my god do these people make such a noise! It was 4am before I fell asleep on the first night due to school kids running up and down the stairs and the person at the reception upstairs stopped shuffling about and it sounded like the person was reshuffling the entire room! So much noise!

The staff were quite rude and weren't very helpful.

The worst thing was the luggage. It is not secure.
We left our luggage there for 2 mins and thought that was enough of a gamble.
The main door is unlocked so any old riff raff can come off the streets walk in - pick up your luggage and walk off the property. It's just nt safe.

Moral of the story, spend an extra £30-40 and pay for quality and peace of mind.

Do not leave baggage here for storage. Hell, do not stay here full stop.

I shall not.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Hitozutsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This was our first time in London and because it was during the Olympics we struggled to find accomodation. I wish we would have taken up a friends offer to stay with them because we would have been more comfortable sleeping on the floor than in this place. The staff were incredibly rude and since we paid 150GBP per night (Olympics rates) you would have thought they could manage a smile or hello.

While we were watching the Olympics one staff member rudely shunted a guest off his seat only to take it away and move it into the computer room which they then closed off to sell as make shift Olympic accomodation! He didn't politely ask or apologise. They also turned the TV off in the bar when people were watching the Olympic coverage. We're talking 10 guests watching!

The shower was filthy and broken. I wish I had snapped a pic, but we were so jet lagged and I just wanted to get out of there.

I've read the 'good reviews' and they don't securely store your luggage so I'm thinking Tamar and Evan must be mistaken. DO NOT STAY HERE - YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Timtamable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Spotlessly clean, respectable hotel suitable for families. Very helpful and friendly staff. Cafe offers fresh, tasty food at budget prices. Our only criticism was breakfast - all starch, no protein, fruit or yogurt.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Tamar D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#58 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London West
Novotel London West
#409 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,590 reviews
Earls Court
K+K Hotel George
K+K Hotel George
#193 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,100 reviews
St Paul's Hotel
#59 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The W14 Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The W14 Kensington

Property: The W14 Kensington
Address: 16-22 Gunterstone Road | West Kensington, London W14 9BU, England (Formerly Ace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 823 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The W14 Kensington 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The W14 Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The w14 Hotel London
The W14 Kensington London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing