We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellant hotel base for North London and very friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Glenlyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glenlyn Hotel
Ranked #477 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An excellant hotel base for North London and very friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2010

Pros:

I had a very satisfactory stay at the Glenlyn and I would recommend this Hotel to my friends and relatives. We intend to book again at this hotel for our next visit to London.

The breakfasts were excellent, the rooms were clean, the staff was friendly, the location is close to the tube station, and best of all, there was always parking space.

Also good value for money.

Cons:

It seems that this place gets booked up early so take that into account when you plan your next trip.

Also, no sea view.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maurice999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    210
    47
    10
    4
See reviews for
123
221
33
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2010

I had breakfast at this hotel every day I stayed and had no problems finding something to eat :) The staff were very polite and courteous. There was one morning where there was not much hot water, but other than that, it was alright. Hotel is within feet of grocery store and restaurants are right around the corner. Nice location if you want to be a bit of a ways outside of the bustle of London and park for free. I was never disturbed out of my sleep--very quiet and staff cleaned/made beds frequently.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank londonner100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2010

Visited with American friends who were very impressed. Helpful and friendly staff, place very clean. Tube station 5 minutes away so handy for getting to Central London. There are plenty of good restaurents a few minutes walk from hotel.
we will certainly stay again when we next visit London

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roytonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

As advertised: 30 minute tube ride to central London. 7 minute walk to tube station. Spacious room compared to many with lots of room to walk about the beds. Clean, quiet, helpful staff. They kept our two large suit cases while we did side trips around England, the longest being 5 nights away Breakfast never varied but had a reasonable variety of hot and cold. Wi-Fi worked all the time. Only complaint is the inconsistency of hot water and water pressure.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdwardJHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

When we booked this place we did not take the time to really look into directions since their description says it is close to the city....mistake!! It is a 30 to 40 minute ride by metro to all main attractions and about an hour and a half from the airport.
It is a beautiful place, clean and with great service but to me it was a waste of time to have to travel for 80 minutes everyday when what we wanted to go is sightseeing.
If you are planning on just relaxing I highly recommend it but if it is your first time in London as ours was I wouldn't recommended just based on location.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LunaDew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

We stayed here in one of the apartments for over a week to visit London sights with our 3 children. It turned out to be a great home away from home allowing us to prepare our meals and lunches. The staff were very helpful and polite and the housekeeping was excellent.

It is about 5-10 min walk to the nearest Tube station and then about 35 mins to Central London on the Tube.

Good Points
- Large grocery store around the corner along with other stores/banks etc.
- Comfortable beds.
- Wonderful breakfast buffet.
- Washer and dryer in the apartment.

Things to take note of:
- Top apartment has several flights of stairs and would be difficult with really young children (which we don't have).
- More baking trays for dinner preparation.

We would highly recommend the apartments at the Glenlyn. Thank-you!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalgaryFamily73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulverde, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

Glenlyn Guest House is a good price performer vs many other choices in the London "area" ... it is a fairly lengthy tube ride into the city BUT you don't have to pay the price of the ones closer in. The tube station is a fair but manageable walk down the street. The breakfast is self serve but managed well by the staff. The WiFi works well and the parking is free. The rooms are really pretty small as is the en-suite bathroom BUT one doesn't stay her to stay in the room. The front desk staff was helpful and overall this was a good choice as a headquarters for our stay in London. There are several nearby places to eat including a McDonalds.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BadeMillsap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 mi away
Heatherbank Guesthouse
Heatherbank Guesthouse
#605 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada London Finchley
Ramada London Finchley
#642 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
8.2 mi away
London Guest House
London Guest House
#498 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#424 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hendon Hall Hotel
Hendon Hall Hotel
#434 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
9.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London - Ealing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenlyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenlyn Hotel

Property: Glenlyn Hotel
Address: 6 Woodside Park Road | North Finchley, London N12 8RP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Best Value Hotel in London
#154 Family Hotel in London
#268 Romantic Hotel in London
#321 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenlyn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes from Woodside Park Tube, the good-quality Glenlyn has good access to the Wembley Complex, Alexandra Palace and Central London, without the Central London prices. At Glenlyn there is free parking and free wireless internet. There is a high standard of comfort and service, and good links to the M25, M1 and A40. Glenlyn is outside the London Congestion Zone. The welcoming North London Hotel is family-run and offers modern yet cosy rooms. There is a private bar, a garden and a conservatory where good breakfasts are served. A new addition to the Glenlyn is our recently refurbished apartments, perfect for families and guests requiring the extra facilities and space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glenlyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenlyn Guest House Hotel London
Glenlyn Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing