We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Glenlyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glenlyn Hotel
Ranked #489 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed here for Eminem concert. Stayed in triple room, great room, really clean and spacious. Five minutes walk to Woodside Park station to get back into Central London, £8.00 top up on Oyster card allows you to travel all day on trains, buses, underground. £35 for cab back from Wembley. The conservatory and gardens are lovely, great breakfast. Would stay here again, great value compared to other London accommodation, recommend to others.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Me O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 541 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed at this guest house for 2 nights B&B during the 2014 London Marathon. We found the staff to be welcoming and friendly and there was a variety of choice for breakfast but the room we had was at the very top of the building, up about 4 flights of stairs, which was really small and uncomfortable and it was extra warm during the night despite leaving the window open.

The only saving grace was that the tube was only down the road so not far to travel and there are quite a few places to eat and drink round about, including a nice Italian, Costa and MacDonalds.

Not overly impressed with the venue considering the price however it was cheaper than others during the Marathon so can't complain. Would stay again but ask for a room lower down.

Room Tip: Avoid top floor - practically the loft just converted
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chezndale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night, it was ok for the price. Clean and not too run down at all. Some rooms a bit pokey with
no windows you could see out of but wouldn't see much anyway. Breakfast fine and staff good. I would stay there again if I needed to stay in the area again

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Nicholas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We've just returned from our third visit to Glenlyn - a family run hotel in North London. The staff are very friendly, helpful, cannot do enough to make your stay as good as it can be. There are the odd places where the decor could be touched up, but the place is spotless and ultra comfortable , with a bar available when you return from pounding the streets of the capital and need a little chilled glass of something. Breakfast excellent as always. Great place, great price

Room Tip: Just let the staff know your requirements, they will do their best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

My husband and I traveled to London for our anniversary. We wanted a place outside the city so we could have more of an experience. I found Glenlyn Guest House, and am so glad I did. Although the room was up a few flights of stairs and was a bit small, the overall atmosphere made up for it. Be prepared for a small bathroom, too. It's located in a neighborhood and close to several places to eat. The breakfast was a traditional buffet of food, such as eggs, sausage, beans, tomatoes and fruit. The dining are was very nice and had a view of their garden. There was also a bar for an evening drink after seeing the sights. It's located up a hill from the tube, which was no problem going down with luggage. Coming up would have been a trek. The staff was so friendly and allowed us to keep our luggage at the counter on our day of check-out while we did some last-minute visiting. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Violet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Why is there such a shortage of accommodation in Barnet? I guess you only notice if you have to go there. I was there on business. All places close by were booked up - so it was down to this place.

Ok - wifi - yes worked well. Iron, yes - provided. Poached eggs at breakfast - massive fail.

What was most disappointing was that this was a really good B&B for about £45 - £50. Unfortunately no where near the quality I would expect for what I actually paid. The room was tiny, bathroom an after - thought (and not very cleverly designed). Worn floors, no room for a desk to sit at to do any work. Overall, to say it was adequate is a fair summary - not a place I would recommend or return to. Unless there was nothing close by in Barnet!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank steven_wilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

First visit !
Very good indeed . Good room ( though up two flights of stairs ) I have a bad knee , only had to ask and the manager himself carried our cases up ( Many thanks )
Breakfast was excellent , as were the staff . When it's a little warmer a great garden is available .
Room clean , bed OK , pillows a little hard . However happy .
Good for parking , and very good for public transport links .
Reception very helpful , what more can you ask !
Will return without doubt .

Room Tip: Lower floors . As stairs can be a problem !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Normstormfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Heatherbank Guesthouse
#608 of 1,077 in London
90 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Prince Regent Hotel Excel London
White Lodge Hotel
#428 of 1,077 in London
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London Guest House
#514 of 1,077 in London
242 reviews
South Kensington
London Lodge Hotel
London Lodge Hotel
#323 of 1,077 in London
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenlyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenlyn Hotel

Address: 6 Woodside Park Road | North Finchley, London N12 8RP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#68 Best Value Hotel in London
#154 Family Hotel in London
#267 Romantic Hotel in London
#320 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $108 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenlyn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes from Woodside Park Tube, the good-quality Glenlyn has good access to the Wembley Complex, Alexandra Palace and Central London, without the Central London prices. At Glenlyn there is free parking and free wireless internet. There is a high standard of comfort and service, and good links to the M25, M1 and A40. Glenlyn is outside the London Congestion Zone. The welcoming North London Hotel is family-run and offers modern yet cosy rooms. There is a private bar, a garden and a conservatory where good breakfasts are served. A new addition to the Glenlyn is our recently refurbished apartments, perfect for families and guests requiring the extra facilities and space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Glenlyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenlyn Guest House Hotel London
Glenlyn Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing