We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable.....”
Review of Glenlyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Glenlyn Hotel
Ranked #494 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very comfortable.....”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

But hotel in need if refurbishing. Has steep stairs which should be mentioned in the description. Location is very good, staff friendly, room clean but as already mentioned the room we had needs modernising.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    212
    49
    10
    4
See reviews for
123
224
33
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I had a very enjoyable stay here. The staff were friendly, especially the breakfast staff; the room was very clean; bed was comfortable and the breakfast was really tasty. I was there on a difficult business trip and it was nice to come back to a comfortable, clean, welcoming place.

Room Tip: Choose one on the first floor unless you like stairs :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AllAboutTheFoodAls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bewdley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

My wife and I were looking for accommodation for a visit to see a gig at Alexandra Palace.

We wanted a place with free and convenient parking and nothing in central London fitted the bill. This place enabled us to park right outside the guest house !!! Fantastic.

Only an apartment was available - so we took that. On arrival we were directed to leave the reception and walk 2 doors down the street to the building that had 3 of their apartments. A little unusual but the building was lovely and the apartment exceeded all our expectations!

It had a large bedroom, fully fitted kitchen and large lounge - all decorated and furnished to a high spec.

The reception staff were very helpful in getting us a taxi to Ally Pally.

The breakfast was had in the main building......a 10s walk from the apartment. Self-service, the breakfast and room was lovely and the staff were very attentive and quick to serve.

If only all guest houses were built this way !!

The best recommendation I would give is that I would bring my family back here the next time we're in London.

Room Tip: Apartments are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank middlemarsh29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed at the hotel since family members live nearby. Its not downtown but about 40 min. From the river, Camden is closer. Station is five min. From the hotel. Rooms are small but sufficient. Breakfast is good, rooms equipped by coffee and tea things.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Udi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I've stayed in this hotel 3 times so far, every time just for one night. I enjoyed every each one of them. It's located in a very quiet area of London (which makes it a little far from the city center, but there's a tube station nearby). Beds are very comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dose_of_placebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed here- a medium sized guest house in Finchley, North London. Hotel is a five minute walk from the northern line tube station, v convenient. The room was a good size, needed a little tlc on some of the furniture but was spotlessly clean, as it was last time. Nice staff, decent breakfast and great night's sleep..for the price, I would recommend m

Room Tip: There are three floors so consider this is you have a disabled person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here last weekend Friday to Sunday. The room was very clean and there were tea and coffee facilities and also wash products in the bathroom to use. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of fresh fruit juices or water and tea and coffee and the choices of a cooked breakfast , toast , or muffins , quoisonts or even fruit or breakfast biscuits . The staff were friendly and helpful and even called a taxi for us on the friday evening. The only downside for us was that the tube station closed down that weekend so we had to get the bus into central london which was a bit of a journey away but this is not the hotels fault . Ideal palce to stay out of the hustle and bustle of Central London but I think next time we said we would stay a little closer into London.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 mi away
Heatherbank Guesthouse
Heatherbank Guesthouse
#600 of 1,067 in London
87 reviews
8.2 mi away
London Guest House
London Guest House
#492 of 1,067 in London
233 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada London Finchley
Ramada London Finchley
#657 of 1,067 in London
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#393 of 1,067 in London
207 reviews
9.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London - Ealing
2.4 mi away
Hendon Hall Hotel
Hendon Hall Hotel
#429 of 1,067 in London
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenlyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenlyn Hotel

Property: Glenlyn Hotel
Address: 6 Woodside Park Road | North Finchley, London N12 8RP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Best Value Hotel in London
#154 Family Hotel in London
#268 Romantic Hotel in London
#321 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenlyn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes from Woodside Park Tube, the good-quality Glenlyn has good access to the Wembley Complex, Alexandra Palace and Central London, without the Central London prices. At Glenlyn there is free parking and free wireless internet. There is a high standard of comfort and service, and good links to the M25, M1 and A40. Glenlyn is outside the London Congestion Zone. The welcoming North London Hotel is family-run and offers modern yet cosy rooms. There is a private bar, a garden and a conservatory where good breakfasts are served. A new addition to the Glenlyn is our recently refurbished apartments, perfect for families and guests requiring the extra facilities and space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Glenlyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenlyn Guest House Hotel London
Glenlyn Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing